We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed,warm and friendly-the place to stay in Bath.”
Review of Paradise House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise House B&B
Ranked #4 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Such a great place to stay-just a very short walk from all that Bath has to offer.Many city centre hotels are VERY noisy,street noises/seagull etc, but the Paradise is an oasis of calm. Lovely spacious rooms-very well appointed and a truly great breakfast. All the staff/owners make your stay a real pleasure. Lovely gardens too overlooking the city-great views. We have stayed many times and shall return again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucklandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

we have just returned after a night at this hotel.
when we arrived we were given a very warm welcome and offerd coffee and biscuits by the open fire. we were then shown to our room which was spottless and had nice views over bath looking towards the royal cresent. and gardens.
all the staff were very freindly and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysfourtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We booked this hotel as quite a last minute weekend away before Christmas. It was perfect. Easy to find, close to the City Centre with a small car park and street parking with permits. We received a warm welcome from Ryan, who brought us a tray of tea and mince pies in the Drawing Room before spending a good 15 minutes pointing out places of interest, good spots for eating and drinking. While we had our tea by the roaring fire, our luggage was taken up to our room for us.

The room was well appointed, king size bed, flat screen TV, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Our ensuite had a bubble corner bath, sink and loo, no separate shower, but a shower attachment over the bath was fine for hair washing.

Breakfast was excellent, more than we needed, but too nice to leave! Fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, a choice of full english or veggie or smoked salmon/scrambled eggs, plus toast, tea, coffee, juice and cava for anyone wanting an early sharpener!

The city centre was a 5 min walk down a steep hill, it snowed hard while we were there, so it was a bit slippy, but still very accessible.

Overall, we thought the service and attention to detail was outstanding, Ryan and Simona could not have been more welcoming if they had tried. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagpusstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

No personal confirmation of booking,parking a nightmare,bitterly cold and only just arrived but asked to fill out form,small bedroom next to the lounge so didn`t feel private,noisy being also next to the kitchen,TV in an awkward place to watch,many electric sockets not working,milk on complimentary tray had to be requested,staff walking past window(and looking in),outlook from bathroom window onto rubbish and bins,shower partition stained at the bottom,breakfast was quite average - whilst sitting on a wobbly chair was unpleasant!. The bed,decor and cleanliness was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARADISEHOUSE, General Manager at Paradise House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2010

We were most disappointed to read this review, as the guests did not make us aware of these issues during their stay.
We have recently started using an online booking system at Paradise House, which gives guests the option to book online if they wish. It is proving to be very popular with guests due to it`s ease of use and efficiency. Guests are emailed an instant booking confirmation once the booking has been made, which details their name, contact details, room details, directions and cancellation policy. However, guests are still able to telephone us to make their reservation and will also receive a booking confirmation. It was the choice of this guest to make an online booking as opposed to personally calling us, which is why they received an instant email confirmation.
Parking is provided for all guests either in our off-street parking area or in the permit zone. These guests were offered appropriate parking after which they were welcomed into our cosy drawing room to warm up by the fire, and asked to fill in a guest registration form which we believe is standard practice.
The room they reserved was our newly refurbished Four Poster room which has a stunning aspect across the garden towards the city. As it look outs across the garden then it is possible to see guests using the garden or staff walking past to their work area.
We were unaware of any electrical sockets not working. Since this review all sockets have been checked and all seem to be working correctly.
We offer a full range of refreshments on our hospitality tray and feel it is important to offer fresh milk as apposed to UHT - indeed it is a requirement of the AA hotel recognition scheme, of which we have been awarded a 5 star highly commended status. We place a little note on all trays kindly asking guests to call reception, so that we can bring milk to their rooms in a chilled thermos flask to keep the milk fresh and cold. We are rather puzzled as to why this has been taken as a negative action.
The newly refurbished bathroom offers a Spa bath and shower, under floor heating, heated mirrors and towel rails and a TV. The window in the bathroom is frosted so you can`t see out of it but it lets in lots of light. The area outside the window is adjacent to our recycling area which is shielded by a wooden panel.
Our breakfasts are always freshly cooked to order, offering a full compliment of hot options such as Full English breakfast or Full Vegetarian breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, Continental breakfast along with a cold buffet selection of cereals, fruit salad, yoghurts, muesli, fruit juices, bucks fizz. Toast and preserves and a full range of hot refreshments are a given. We receive many compliments about our breakfasts and always cater to any dietary requirements such as gluten or dairy free diets and any other special requests are always fulfilled. The breakfast room has many chairs and so we could have easily exchanged this guest’s wobbly chair if asked.
It is such a shame that we were not given the opportunity to make this guests stay more pleasurable, but are very confident by reading other guest reviews that we are still offering a 5 star product and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We returned to Paradise House in August having stayed there on previously because it is just so good. From the moment you arrive and are served with complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge while they check you in, the service is impeccable. The decor is fresh and beautifully done, the bedding is always crisp and spotless and the cooked breakfasts are excellent! We did have a minor issue with one of the appliances in our bathroom, but it was sorted out seamlessly by the staff and they then gave us a small discount in compensation for the inconvenience. The B&B is also located up quite a steep little hill as you walk from the town, which certainly clears the head after a nice meal in the town, but it's not difficult and the short distance is well worth the effort when you return to your room at the end of the evening. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay somewhere stylish and smart in bath without breaking the bank!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snafu_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in November.

Very friendly staff, Simona and Dale (recently arrived), showed us around. We booked late so had a room on the ground floor close to the hotel entrance which was just a little noisy, but the bed was comfy and we slept well. The room was a little tired but absolutely fine for a couple of days.

Easy parking on the road outside - they give you a parking permit.

Excellent breakfast, pleasant sitting room and lovely gardens.

5 minute walk downhill to the bus station or new shopping area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlespBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Me and my partner stayed at this lovely hotel for his 30th birthday back in oct.
We had a fab couple of days at this beautiful hotel.
When we arrived in the afternoon we were greated with a warm welcome and told about the sights of bath and how to get around the town.
Are room was fantastic. With amazing views from are window looking over the hotels garden and bath. Are bed was very comfortable and we had a spa bath and power shower in the bathroom with the bonus of a tv while I had a soak in the bath.
The breakfast was truely delightful. With a good selection of fruits and yogurts. And not forgetting the very tasty full English which my partner had every morning while I had the smoke salmon, which was beautifully cooked.
Overall I would recommend this little gem of a hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lentaigne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#11 of 159 in Bath
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.9 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 159 in Bath
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 159 in Bath
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise House B&B

Address: B&B 86-88 Holloway, Bath BA2 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £89 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradise House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian House, dating back to 1735, built of classic honey coloured Bath stone. The dignified exterior conceals more than half an acre of magnificent walled gardens with splendid views out over the city of Bath. Small and privately owned, our aim is to offer the best personal service with attention to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Paradise House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing