We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but disappointing accommodation”
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #42 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked The Windsor because of its location is in the heart of Bath, its has a "Five Star Silver" award but it had mixed reviews but we were hoping it was going to be a great stay.

When we first got to the b&b it was extremely busy with people checking in, this wasn't a problem and the receptionist did a great job and was very friendly. She ensured that we had a parking permit quickly as we were worried about getting a ticket, but it was no problem at all. There is plenty of parking on the street.
We were shown to our room, which was small but adequate enough with an ensuite bathroom. Unfortunately we were really disappointed with the cleanliness of the room, the dust was everywhere, but it was dirty dust and not fresh. We dropped something on the floor and In doing so then looked under the bed, to find it propped up by wooden blocks on 2 sides as the legs had broken off, there was a magnum wrapper and biscuit wrapper underneath and lots of clumps of dust.. Also in public areas the doors were dirty in the mouldings.
Breakfast was in the dining room which was also the reception area, which was not ideal for eating breakfast whilst the phone is ringing, and people are checking out.
This is an amazing building with lots of character and in a fantastic position for restaurants, shops, river cruise, roman baths. We had a great weekend in Bath but would recommend closer attention to cleaning at this b&b.
The staff were very friendly and this place could be a little gem if given the attention it needs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel261070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review, the comments from which I will address now.
Firstly, I am pleased you found the staff helpful and the parking easy, this is normal.
Regarding the bed in your room I must argue that the bed is not propped up on wooden blocks but rather, 2 of the 4 original legs have been reinforced to ensure maximum strength and stability. I am sorry you found a wrapper under the bed while you were down there looking at the bed legs, occasionally a small detail can be overlooked by the chambermaid, I am sorry if this upset you. I have had a strong word with the person who serviced your room who assures me this will not happen again. We have very high standards at The Windsor, all areas are cleaned daily. However, being a lovely old building, full of character and charm, the old paintwork may have appeared dirty but I know without doubt, it most certainly is not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

An excellent accommodation located to where you would like to visit in Bath - Bath Abbey, roman baths and Royal crescent. No more than 5 mins to High Street for any shopping needs or simply to laze by the river. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. Breakfast service is wonderful and everything is individually served. Permit parking is excellent choice for those who drive and should provide ample off-street parking for those who drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pajiwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review, it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Forget about all the hotels in Bath,this the place to stay for either a long or a short stay.It's all you need and the location is ideal.The place inspires a good feeling of comfort,safety and luxury with quite a fair price and this is all thanks to the staff there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDoubleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your great review, I will pass your comments back to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is a lovely period house in the centre of Bath. The accommodation was excellent and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent. Overall we were very impressed and would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGJ411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your great review, do hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just returned from an extremely happy 4 night stay at The Windsor.The staff without exception were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble.The airconditioned ( if required) Abbey double room was well appointed located on the second floor, 4 flights of stairs did not bother us as there is no lift.Beds/ bed was so comfortable, linen all so fresh and changed regularly. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water,large containers of toiletries and luxurious soft towels also changed regularly. The inclusive continental breakfast was generous with fresh coffee which was made stronger upon request and my gluten free diet was amply catered for with care.
We left our car in a nearby side road with provided permit ( extra )and just walked everywhere as the location was ideal and central for everything.
This is an old property with many varied visitors so I would classify it as 'Shabby chic 'but totally delightful, clean and friendly and would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your good and honest review. Do come again should you be back in Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a delightful stay while in Bath at the Windsor - a beautiful little inn just a few minutes walk from the center of town. The staff was exceptional and very accommodating and the room was lovely. Of course, they are a little small due to the age of the building, but it is what you would expect. Everything was in working order and very clean.

We are looking forward to returning next summer!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review, really look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Not keen on four flights of stairs with luggage and no assistance. But...great location, beautiful room and lovely staff. WiFi excellent, shower hot and decent pressure. Breakfast a bit light on given price of room, could throw in a cooked choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you had to carry your own bags up the stairs, normally the staff are only too happy to help. I an glad everything else was so positive though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#25 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £107 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing