We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great address”
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #46 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.
Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-florent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy you were so happy with all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for The Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I shared a great weekend in Bath at the Windsor Guest House.

The room was great, the location was great and the staff were great. We did not have any cooked breakfast but did see them coming through and they look amazing! They offer wine by the bottle so you can come back and put your feet up and chill out in luxury. The guest house is close to everything and they offer a parking permit cheaper than the standard 24 parking which is great!

We would highly recommend it to anyone going to Bath.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "female four poster room" (I think it is called Princess) ... which was...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope you return to Bath to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here in February. Good points ......couldn't get a better location for central bath, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
Unfortunately we were given a room in the basement, with only a skylight for a window. I'm a bit claustrophobic so found this very oppressive. There was a humidifier in the room that clunked on and off all night. The room was huge and well facilitated but not for me. My advise would be to ask for a room on a higher level. Thought it was a little pricey too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrummieSunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you were happy with our great location, our friendly and helpful staff and our delicious breakfasts.
I am sorry you were not overly enthrawled with your room, it is a very popular room because of its huge proportions and quiet situation. If you come back, try the garden room next door with all the same facilities, but with added benefit of its own private garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

At first seemed like a fine hotel, accommodate us and our 3 kids, but........

After asking for complementary x box games for the kids, found that one case was empty another discs was broken. Disappointing at the time but far from the end of the world. Three days later accused of stealing x box games. Bad form. Steer clear you don't know what they'll claim from you after the event.

Definite no no.

Room Tip: Basement room for families suffers from lots of road noise. Watch out for x box games con, games of...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

You are clearly angry that you were asked to return the complimentary x box games we provide for children staying in the family room. Having apologised personally if this request offended you, it is your prerogative to vent your anger in any way you feel appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lovely Friendly Staff!!!!! - Very helpful and Accommodating!!!!
Perfect location!!!! - could get from A to B very easily.
Most comfortable nights sleep had in a long time!!!
Have read the other reviews re bedrooms. Ours was on the second floor to the back of the hotel called the Abbey Room, I found this room a very good size and the bathroom with it's large mirror and ample space - Brilliant!!!!
Water ran very well, including the shower!
When booking the Windsor Guest House, I was aware that it was a continental breakfast, and I was also aware that if I wanted a Full English breakfast, I would have to pay a supplement.
It would of be nice if the continental breakfast had been laid for Guest.
And without bone picking as I really thought this to be a quaint place, another reason I picked this hotel was for the wi-fi. Not everyone needs this requirement, but we did......it just wouldn't play ball!!! - which was very irritating, I would have rather it worked properly, and have had to pay for the service. (sorry to moan!)....but it really needs sorting out!!
Thank You! for your hospitality and see you again!!

Room Tip: Get yourself a room on the first floor, especially if you have a lot of luggage, but otherwise secon...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLoxley0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your very positive review. I am so pleased you were happy with so many aspects of your stay. Regarding the WIFI, we have a series of routers on all floors which pass the signal through the building. Occasionally, a guest in the room below will unplug the router to charge an appliance, which will prevent the signal being passed to the room above. We have now labelled all routers and ask all guests on check in not to unplug the routers so everyone can enjoy our complimentary wifi. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

To me for a hotel to be given a 5* rating it would have to be perfect and offer things that other hotels may not offer. The Windsor hotel is on the infamous Great Pulteney St in Bath and is a beautiful Building with lovely tall ceilings. However, once you are inside the rooms are very dated.

We stayed in a standard double room. It had an ensuite however, the shower was tiny and surrounded by wooden panels which were aged and need upgrading. The shower itself was like a running tap as opposed to a spray and every time you turned on the tap it squealed very loudly. The room itself was big enough but not huge and the decor again was dated. The bed however was very comfortable! I think the only extras you got with this hotel was fluffy towels and shampoo to use.... Although Is this really a luxury in this day and age of hospitality?

Breakfast was included in our room rate. This was a continental but if you wanted a hot breakfast this was extra. Again... 5* service?!

The positives about this hotel would be the location... Close yo the rec for rugby fans and just a stroll into town. Our stay was by no means horrible, it's just not 5* luxury.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANONYMOUSETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Windsor for one sat evening in jan 2014. We found the windsor to be a nice guest house although not the cheapest at £165 per night, bath is generally expensive at the weekends though. The hotel is well located for central bath and has all the expected facilities.

Our room was right at the top of the building up three flights of stairs and well appoitented.

We would def stay here again and enjoyed the overall experiance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NickP1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £106 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing