We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and elegant B and B in great location”
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #43 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here over a Sunday night so parking outside less of a problem and worth taking up the offer of a parking permit.( cost £12)
Friendly service from all staff in elegant town house with approximately 11 rooms I think .Location excellent on Great Pulteney Street so level and quick walk into Bath. E mail contact from the hotel before the stay was useful though we declined the option to upgrade the room (for £10.00)
Comfortable beds and fluffy towels .
We opted for a standard room and were given one at the top of the house ( Walcott ) up a winding stair case. Views were great , room fairly small but very comfortable. Slight problem was the heating -the radiators were warm at the bottom only. Following a quick phone call we were moved within 15 minutes to a wonderfully warm ( and superior) room Laura .This was larger and obviously more elegant and had we realised the difference then should we stay again we would plum for this up graded option.The staff wanted us to be comfortable and our stay a positive one and were understanding regarding the problem .
Continental Breakfast was full service,( rather than self service ) plentiful and tasty ( though if you wanted a full English this was extra cost- full English extra £7.00 - a bit steep ) in the delightful dining room with views Great Pulteney Street road at an elevated level .
It was lovely spot to while away a leisurely breakfast. There was the option to buy light snacks wine and champagne during our stay which was a nice touch.
There were no problems leaving luggage in the reception area for collecting later once you had checked out .
It was elegant, comfortable and a relaxing place to stay and we are happy to recommend it .

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth the slightly increased cost. Rooms at the top are up a thin and winding stairc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. I am delighted we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade and you enjoyed the larger superior double room. We will always endeavour to please all our guests to make eir stay as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Windsor Guesthouse for the Valentine's Day weekend. Our time here was, in short, brilliant.

We arrived to a beautifully arranged room comprising of rose petals, occasion-specific chocolates and a pre-requested bottle of bubbly. Gorgeous. Our time at The Windsor started in the fashion in which it was set to continue.

Overall, the quality and cleanliness of the room was outstanding, as was the attentiveness and manner of all the staff. We experienced both the cooked and continental breakfasts on offer. Both were exemplary.

The hotel's location is brilliant: it's a short walk to the centre of town but far enough away that you're out of the hustle and bustle of the town.

Our one gripe was, incidentally, not to do with the hotel itself but with the couple in the room above us who (we concluded after some lengthy deliberation on the matter) were exercising their toddler in one of those bouncy-type things. You know, the ones which incite the children to stop their feet on the floor as if attempting to create a rift to the centre of the earth. This created noise which we deemed excessive. It should be noted, though, that this was not the hotel's fault and we did not report the problem based on its relative lack of significance.

That said, one must question whether or not the hotel presents the best value for money available. But the old adage "you get what you pay for" is truer of The Windsor than anywhere else I've stayed. It is for these reasons that I must recommend The Windsor most highly.

5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your beautifully worded review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the romantic touches we provided for the Valentines week. I am sorry you were disturbed, even slightly, by the toddler upstairs, we would not have minded a quick call down to Reception where a swift phone all to the offending room would have followed. Anyway, do come and see us again, it's always nice to see a friendly face.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.
Nice rooms. Very welcoming and efficient service. Perfectly located in bath. Delicious breakfast. Wifi available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-florent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy you were so happy with all aspects of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I shared a great weekend in Bath at the Windsor Guest House.

The room was great, the location was great and the staff were great. We did not have any cooked breakfast but did see them coming through and they look amazing! They offer wine by the bottle so you can come back and put your feet up and chill out in luxury. The guest house is close to everything and they offer a parking permit cheaper than the standard 24 parking which is great!

We would highly recommend it to anyone going to Bath.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "female four poster room" (I think it is called Princess) ... which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope you return to Bath to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here in February. Good points ......couldn't get a better location for central bath, friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
Unfortunately we were given a room in the basement, with only a skylight for a window. I'm a bit claustrophobic so found this very oppressive. There was a humidifier in the room that clunked on and off all night. The room was huge and well facilitated but not for me. My advise would be to ask for a room on a higher level. Thought it was a little pricey too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrummieSunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you were happy with our great location, our friendly and helpful staff and our delicious breakfasts.
I am sorry you were not overly enthrawled with your room, it is a very popular room because of its huge proportions and quiet situation. If you come back, try the garden room next door with all the same facilities, but with added benefit of its own private garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

At first seemed like a fine hotel, accommodate us and our 3 kids, but........

After asking for complementary x box games for the kids, found that one case was empty another discs was broken. Disappointing at the time but far from the end of the world. Three days later accused of stealing x box games. Bad form. Steer clear you don't know what they'll claim from you after the event.

Definite no no.

Room Tip: Basement room for families suffers from lots of road noise. Watch out for x box games con, games of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

You are clearly angry that you were asked to return the complimentary x box games we provide for children staying in the family room. Having apologised personally if this request offended you, it is your prerogative to vent your anger in any way you feel appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lovely Friendly Staff!!!!! - Very helpful and Accommodating!!!!
Perfect location!!!! - could get from A to B very easily.
Most comfortable nights sleep had in a long time!!!
Have read the other reviews re bedrooms. Ours was on the second floor to the back of the hotel called the Abbey Room, I found this room a very good size and the bathroom with it's large mirror and ample space - Brilliant!!!!
Water ran very well, including the shower!
When booking the Windsor Guest House, I was aware that it was a continental breakfast, and I was also aware that if I wanted a Full English breakfast, I would have to pay a supplement.
It would of be nice if the continental breakfast had been laid for Guest.
And without bone picking as I really thought this to be a quaint place, another reason I picked this hotel was for the wi-fi. Not everyone needs this requirement, but we did......it just wouldn't play ball!!! - which was very irritating, I would have rather it worked properly, and have had to pay for the service. (sorry to moan!)....but it really needs sorting out!!
Thank You! for your hospitality and see you again!!

Room Tip: Get yourself a room on the first floor, especially if you have a lot of luggage, but otherwise secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLoxley0865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your very positive review. I am so pleased you were happy with so many aspects of your stay. Regarding the WIFI, we have a series of routers on all floors which pass the signal through the building. Occasionally, a guest in the room below will unplug the router to charge an appliance, which will prevent the signal being passed to the room above. We have now labelled all routers and ask all guests on check in not to unplug the routers so everyone can enjoy our complimentary wifi. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £96 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing