We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel great location”
Review of The Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windsor
Ranked #42 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Overton, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel great location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a one night visit to Bath. We had the four poster room which was lovely (although a little twee… it was very flowery!) but it was a good size and the bathroom, although not very large, was also good. The bed was incredibly comfortable :-)

The staff were very welcoming and helpful and gave us great recommendations for places to eat and drink in as well as directions for places to visit.

The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the city centre (well it's in the city centre!) and is about a 10 minute walk from the station, certainly it's easier to walk than to get a taxi. The road that the hotel is on is lovely….

The breakfast was great and served until 10am which is great for a Saturday, although you have to pay extra for a cooked breakfast.

Not surprisingly you could hear quite a bit of noise from the street, but that wasn't a problem!

It was a lovely place to stay….

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy you liked your room, if a little twee..(come on, we all love that really?!) and that my great girls looked after you so well. I find the shutters on the windows are great to close if you are sensitive to noise, although I am surprised you heard anything at all as it is generally so quiet here! Do come back and see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    213
    96
    51
    25
See reviews for
152
396
48
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We came to bath for an overnight stay as my daughter was visiting bridal shops . Upon arrival , I was delighted with the beautiful avenue that the hotel was situated in . Going into the hotel we were met by a very friendly and welcoming young woman . My daughters were allocated a room at the top of the house . It was a lovely warm and comfy room . I had been upgraded and my room was absolutely stunning , a perfect ladies room so pretty and the bed was so comfortable . I had views from the two huge front windows of the avenue . All together fab . I would definitely return and would try to get this very room again , it was called princess .. Lovely oh yes breakfast was continental in room rate but a wide choice of other cooked foods for extra. The continental was ample and was served by a very polite young girl .

Room Tip: Princess room wonderful for couples or ladies travelling alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandtony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your super review. It was so nice to have you and your daughter with us, did she find a wedding dress? We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Before reading, I do warn I am a rather tight Yorkshireman, but I am also easily pleased so I feel my reviews are fair.

Pros:

We paid £165 for a room which was rather small, but had everything you needed and the bathroom was lovely, even if the bath would struggle to fit an umpa lumpa in!! (the shower is great though). It's a great central location, a couple minutes away from anything you need. It feels quite posh inside and the staff are the best bit of the Windsor, they're really lovely. The bed was amazingly compfy to.

Cons:

The stairs were very high, I'm fine with this, but I'd warn anyone who isn't fit to make sure you get a low level room.

Breakfast is poor. It's just cereal, bread & jam, and yoghurt, teas and fruits, and it's not in a buffet style (which I quite liked actually) but when all you have is such a poor choice, I kind of wanted a buffet actually as If im only allowed toast I'd like to be able to glam it up a bit with more portions of butter and jam. if you want cooked breakfast you have to pay another £7.

We only stayed one night so it was fine for us but I wouldn't want toast every morning for very long!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I was glad to hear your positive comments.
The bathroom in your room has been recently refurbished, with the addition of the new fixtures such as the shower you liked so much. The bath is small, but quite unique. (We were constrained by the restrictions of the building, so decided to fit super shower fittings to compensate)
I am pleased you found the bed comfortable and the location and staff so well received.
As far as the breakfast is concerned, we made the decision to offer full table service to enhance the guest experience over the breakfast period and have one to one contact with all customers during this time. Personally, I find buffets imperfect and impersonal. There is no limit to quantities of the continental breakfast, more of anything would have been brought happily to you had you asked. do come back and see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were slightly disappointed by the Windsor given its 5 star rating. The room rates are expensive although we booked at a very competitive rate online. We stayed in the four poster room which was spacious and nicely decorated, in fitting with the surroundings. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Good location too in a very nice part of town. The B&B also offers nibbles and beer/wine for sale which we would have sampled had we been staying longer. Negatives were the prices and that the high room rate does not include a cooked option which is standard for any other B&B we have stayed in. We knew this beforehand but thought the description of the continental breakfast with fresh bread and croissants would be sufficient, but what we were given was just ok, not great (e.g. one small croissant each) and made us wish there was an included cooked option but we grudged paying any extra for this. Would happily return, but there would need to be an included cooked breakfast option. 3.5/5 due to the price and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you were happy with your 4 poster room, the friendly and helpful staff and our great location. You booked at a very good price, through a third party although it is always the same or much cheaper to book directly with us.
The only point you were unhappy with was that a cooked breakfast was not included in the rate you paid. Although you found this unusual, it is quite normal for establishments to charge for one or other, or both! I spent £28 for just a continental breakfast in London last week! Which makes our small supplementary charge from £4 great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I decided to book a room at The Windsor as I didn't fancy the drive back to Sussex after running the Bath Half Marathon. Having been so impressed with The Windsor when I had stayed there before Christmas, I was sure I wouldn't be disappointed. When I phoned the hotel to make my reservation, I was overwhelmed with the level of service offered. I was advised where to park which was invaluable as a lot of the roads in Bath were closed for the race. Although check-in was not until after the start of my race, I was invited to drop my bags off before hand and also offered a coffee and breakfast. When I arrived, all of the staff had been informed of my early arrival and changing facilities had also been organised for me. Along with all the encouragement from the staff, this was definitely above and beyond the call of duty.
My room was very comfortable and quiet and the locally sourced breakfast was amazing.
I can not speak highly enough of The Windsor and would not hesitate in recommending a stay there.
Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craftymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Wow, thank you for your fabulous review, it gave us all a big lift to know how much we were appreciated, hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first stay in Bath and I chose The Windsor as the reviews were good. It did not disappoint! We stayed for two nights at the end of February 2014 and were given a warm welcome by the Receptionist who offered us tea and coffee as our room wasn't quite ready (we were a little early). We stayed in the Sydney room which was downstairs and at the front of the guest house. The bed was super king size and very comfy. The windows looked out onto the pavement which was at eye level and we found that we needed to close the curtains is we wanted privacy. However, we were out and about for most of the daylight hours so this was not an issue. The heating and air conditioning were easy to operate. The location was within a short walking distance of the city centre. We left the car parked near the Windsor on Great Pultney Street for the whole two days. We paid £12 a day for a parking permit which the hotel provided, which was great as we did not have to think about carparking fees and having to replace a ticket, etc. When we stayed at The Windsor, they were redecorating the dining area, and we were offered breakfast to be served in our room. We took up their offer and the order was spot on. My husband is lactose intolerant and they catered for him perfectly. Overall, I would recommend The Windsor and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is so nice to hear that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. Do come back should you return to Bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Winsor in Bath. Staff were very friendly and attentive and the location was brilliant. One of the few hotels in Bath that will let you stay one night only.

Be careful on match days - it's right next door to the Rec and parking can be interesting. The staff were very helpful however and found us a parking space.

We would recommend to friends and will return if we ever have need to stay in Bath again we will be booking in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tintraveller, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, do come back and see us with your friends next time you need a night away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor

Property: The Windsor
Address: 69 Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location. The Windsor, a truly superb Grade 1 listed Georgian Townhouse on Great Pulteney Street, arguably one of the best streets in Bath and one of the finest boulevards in Europe.Just two minutes level walk to the city centre and tourist attractions such as the famous Roman Baths, Abbey and Thermae Spa. Two minutes to the huge variety of shops and diverse range of restaurants Bath has to offer, we are the perfect choice for both leisure and business guests.The Windsor houses 15 individually styled ensuite bedrooms. Period features, free wifi, air conditioning, flatscreen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini safe and ironing board come as standard. The addition of thick soft fluffy towels, cosy dorma duvets, pillows and luxury Gilchrist and Soames toiletries complete tha package and add to the guest experience. Acclaimed for our warm and friendly staff, we are always ready with a smile and happy to help with anything from restaurant suggestions to planning your onward journey. We pride ourselves in our customer service and along with our award winning breakfasts, our aim is to send you home with a desire to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing