We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
457
241
113
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
241
113
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastparking permitguest houseprivate gardengeorgian townhouseno lifttop floorgreat pulteney streetperfect locationlovely guesthousecity centrecooked optionssingle roomflights of stairsfour posterfew minutes walkroman baths
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Booked a triple room for a short family break. A lovely room in the basement. No cooked breakfast but a more than adequate continental was included. Wonderful accommodating staff. A great time was had by all. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazBa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all so happy you had a great stay and we hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

The owner was incredibly accommodating to all our needs and could not have done more to have been more helpful. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a modern-regency style and the location is perfect; central yet quiet. The only downfalls are the parking charge and not having a cooked breakfast. A little bit pricier than other places, but the location, staff and rooms make it worth the money - highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmeliaBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you for your review, it was really nice having you to stay and we hope to see you again if you return to Bath.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

I booked for my moms birthday. They had a great time and would recommend the Windsor. They said the room was lovley and I had emailed to say it was her birthday and they put balloons in the room. Staff very helpful thank you.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlly3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review. We do like to make those occasions as special as we can and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

In my view, a 5 start rating should mean that somewhere is immaculate. Firstly I expect a B and B to include a cooked breakfast. My partner took the £8.50 breakfast on the first day but as it was nothing special, he didn't bother again. The "continental" breakfast was just toast, croissants, a very small bowl of cereal, fruit and coffee, none of which we felt was of an amazingly high standard, despite the great descriptions on the menu.

Our room was quite small, as was the en-suite. The bath was so small that neither of us could fit into it and the water from the shower kept going over the end of the bath as it was so short. There was, however, a nice selection of toiletries available.

The bed was very comfy and we slept well each night, with no noise from the street, even though we were at the front. We couldn't close our curtains as the drawstring mechanism wasn't working. We reported this to reception and were told that housekeeping would be informed, but it was never fixed. Thankfully there were shutters on the windows otherwise we would not have been able to sleep with a huge gap in the curtains.

The period furniture was nice and appropriate for the type of building, although the carpet was threadbare in places.

In every B and B I have stayed in, there was a selection of tourist information leaflets available - either in the room or in reception area. We could find nothing in the Windsor, so had to visit the Tourist Information office.What information was in the room folder was woefully out of date. My partner needed to see a doctor, so we spent most of a morning looking for the "NHS Walk-in Centre" only to find out that it had closed 2 and a half years ago and that there was an excellent doctor's surgery in the same street as the Windsor!!!

It's convenient for the centre, but at over £100 a night, it's over-rated and over-priced, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daphniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you felt the continental breakfast did not suffice, although it includes, tea or coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, Apple or cranberry, a basket of mixed bakery toast and warm croissants with gourmet jams and marmalade, homemade berry compote (which is always complimented,) grapefruit and mandarin segments and a selection of yoghurts. The bath in your bathroom is sold as a shower not full bath, the carpet has been replaced and the curtains re- hung.
On a positive, we are glad you slept well and peacefully, enjoyed out Gilchrist and Soames toiletries and appreciated our fabulous location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We stayed two nights at The Windsor Guest House and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Rooms are reasonably spacious and beautifully clean and well-furnished. It is a lovely light building, which is unusual for period properties. The Windsor is a five minute walk form the town centre (handy for restaurants and shopping) and yet is very quiet in both daytime and evening. Breakfast was tasty and very well presented and in the evenings we enjoyed excellent food at Joy and Ciao Ciao restaurants which are both close by. I would definitely recommend the Windsor to anyone, though you have to be fit enough to climb the stairs!

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you want exercise, pick the third floor rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsor, Owner at The Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to hear so many positive features have been noted and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews