We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #144 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

AWFUL!!!!!!! If I could give this hotel minus figures I would. How the owner has the audacity to call this place a hotel is beyond me. They demand that you pay up front. The place constantly smells of curry. The sheets were filthy as was the whole room and there were hairs in the bed. The door was hanging off and there were stains on the ceiling. I received a shock off the television to which the manager replied “Oh we have had this before.” To add insult to injury, after refusing to stay there another night and demanding a full refund, I was told “We don’t give refunds”. I then informed the manager that I would be taking this matter further to which his reply was so nonchalant it beggars belief. If you value your money and your health, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    87
    73
    71
    138
See reviews for
53
256
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orpington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

It was not cheap - and the rooms were either red hot or freezing cold as the radiator was broke and the lock on the door was also faulty, we could have lived with that but then waited 50 mins for our breakfast with no apology although we complained. Other people were checking out complaing that there room was dirty and wanted their money back as they were going to book into another hotel. Hotel Manager was rude when we complained about service. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Four poster bed, on suite, good breakfast for £65 should not complain but it's a steep stroll to town. The venue is a little dated but this does add to its charm. Overall good value. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi but wrong time of year so they were covered up.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trappdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Better than a 2 star, but the bar shuts at 10 o'clock. The breakfast was very good, I would stay there again. Very helpful when our taxi did not turn up. I would like to visit in the summer when the pool is open.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sitting room on. its like a conseratory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Nervously anticipated this stay after reading previous comments, but can recommend the garden apartment we used. The quiet, professional Scotsman who dealt with us throughout the weekend went beyond the call of duty when I stupidly didn't check for an oven being provided in our kitchen. And that's the point really -travellers need to take some responsibility to check details e.g. Whether the restaurant is open; size of room;rating of hotel. This isn't 5 star, but it is cleaner than some of those. It isn't part of a faceless chain, so furniture may not all be new, but it is comfy. Actually the apartment is all new & equipped with so many 'extras'. Funny details like lack of cutlery are just that, funny mistakes, which the management will quickly rectify - if you ask. So my advice would be 'lighten up' & enjoy your stay in what is a good location, managed by helpful people if you give them a chance.

Room Tip: Try the apartment, but don' walk into the pool! Try the garden apartment, but don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan43_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We went for 2 nights, had room 20 with a four poster bed! It was very clean but the decor a bit tired, in the bathroom it could have done with a handrail and a rubber mat in the bath, but other than that not too bad. It was a shame that the weather was so bad as only managed to walk into town on the Friday, its all downhill but quite steep on the way back! Taxi cost between £7 and £8 so not too bad. The breakfast took quite a while but again fine and a good selection of buffet items. I would go back if I could have room 20!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentRugbyfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very much regret that I must concur with the negative reviews for this hotel. It definately does not offer what it claims. Very tired and deteriorating decor. No restaurant open. Freezing cold bathroom. All in all, not good value for money. It's no wonder why we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay when checking out/escaping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hackneyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bailbrook Lodge
Bailbrook Lodge
#25 of 157 in Bath
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#70 of 157 in Bath
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
802 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing