We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #148 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Me and my friends stayed in a quadruple room at this hotel for three nights. It is situated 15 min walk from the city center with an uphill walk returning to the hotel. This (somewhat) inconvenience was out-weighted by the amazing view, cute rooms, good English breakfast, and service-minded staff. A special thanks to the manager always greeting us with a nice smile, chatting a bit, and looking out for our best interests. The hotel have a hot tub in the back garden for only £6 and you are offered the view over the hills of Bath. If I ever come back to Bath I will stay at Wentworth!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with windows to the back yard offers an fantastic view over Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAlfredsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    86
    70
    69
    138
See reviews for
53
249
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful building with the added bonus of a car park.

Welcoming, friendly, helpful staff. Good basic generous breakfast. Charming room with all one could require.

A pleasant stroll from the centre of Bath.

Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmIRightSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our 2 night trip was spoilt by this hotel - we had 2 rooms booked for a family of 4. Booking made through booking.com and as previous posters have said, the write up and photos don't reflect the terribly unclean state is hotel is in. From stained chairs, beds and carpets, a sliding door with no lock (iron bar used to prop it shut), breakfast tables and chairs so sticky we didn't want to touch anything and didn't want to think about the state of the kitchen. Had to argue to get the unheated pool cover taken off! Really awful, don't stay there, Bath must have better hotels than this!

Room Tip: No decent rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whotcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My daughter booked this hotel as we were down for the special Olympics . I read trip advisor comments and was a bit wary. The room looked clean enough. we stayed for 5 nights and got fresh towels daily. Breakfast was quite good with good choice. Overall the hotel was average .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Okay so I normally stay in very different style of accommodation which does influence my review. We really only slept here as we were very busy doing the tourist thing in Bath.

We stayed in twin share with bathroom. The room was adequate although I thought it could have been cleaner.

The breakfast which was include was good and is approx 15 mins working distance of the main area of Bath (walking back is up hill but there is a bus).

We were able to leave our car at the venue on out check our day for as long as we likes which was very helpful.

For this style of accommodation I would stay there again.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Given the prices of hotels in and around the City of Bath, we did book on price and I have to say the location was perfect - just 15mins walk down the hill to the City Centre.
We generally stay in the cheaper end of the market so we don't expect much - at the end of the day you just want some clean to sleep and a good breakfast, but having stayed in some very nice hotels for this sort of price, we were quite disappointed.
The room was small and basic - not a problem but the toilet door was at the foot of the bed and the toilet immediately in front. The toilet bowl was cracked all the way down and been crudely smeared with sealant (as a temporary measure I hope).
The shower fitting didn't fit so it kept falling off and there was a 'helpful' notice, warning that the shower control was back to front, ie hot where it said cold and vice versa. It was a bit of a shock to find the controls were in fact correct.
The bed could really do with a mattress topper (room 22)as we could feel every spring although I can't deny we slept well after our busy days walking around the city.
All in all - not a bad stay and a decent breakfast with plenty to choose from, but the whole building needs tidying up and the staff seem very stressed.
Just one more gripe - no marmite ...ok ok I know half the population don't care... but I do

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinwil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was a bit wary staying at this hotel after reading all the reviews. But, for the money paid it's a pretty decent place to stay with friendly staff to help out. The location is a bit dodgy if you can't walk the steep hill into town, otherwise it's a pretty fun 15 hike. I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skinwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#64 of 154 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Elgin Villa
Elgin Villa
#149 of 154 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing