We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Wentworth House, Bath” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #152 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Weekend at Wentworth House, Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Myself and my Fiance went to Bath for the weekend at the beginning of November 2013 and found a good deal at Wentworth House Hotel.
The check-in was quick and easy, despite our late evening arrival and the manager was very helpful. There was some maintenance being carried out, but it was very low-level stuff and did not interfere with our stay at all. The manager was able to direct us to several places to eat, locally, providing the choice of Bar/Restaurant, good pub-grub and Indian cuisine. We ate at all three over the weekend, but would recommend the Devonshire Arms on Wellsway, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We ate there twice; a Saturday evening steak and an excellent Sunday Lunch.
The Wentworth House hotel is clean, friendly and old fashioned, and I mean that as a compliment. This was our first trip to Bath and, when we return (which we plan to do next Summer) I will be booking at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 13 and 14 have a conservatory, with access to the rear garden. They are also at the rear of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    84
    69
    68
    136
See reviews for
52
243
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Never actually got to stay here but cancelled my room well before the 48 hour minimum cancellation and even paid the £20 fee with the promise my £180 room payment would be credited to my card. 3 months later I'm still waiting after several promises they would sort this. Dispute now taken up with MasterCard. Avoid this hotel!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wentworth106, General Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are not aware of any instances where we have agreed a refund and not processed it. We can not identify you from the review so can you please contact the hotel so we can investigate this issue.

However please be aware that our cancellation policy is two days in advance of the arrival date.If you have not given us two days notice then the full amount of the reservation will be charged as stated in our terms and conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Three ex-Bath students spent a night at the Wentworth, given to one of us as a birthday present. A warm welcome, large white bath towels, crisp white sheets, plenty of hot water and a quiet family room on the top floor. Freshly cooked 'full English' and free car parking, even after we had checked out. A pleasurable trip enjoyed by us all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A small hotel, yet homely, & in an excellent location ,& superb ambience, & a host & hostess guarantteed to make us feel welcome.
Nothing was too much trouble, & we returned home determined to return, & the happy mmeories will be indelable.
The Wentworth House Hotel came highly recommended, & we wern't disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeannrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I do not know why people are giving these bad comments. I recently stayed at this hotel with my friend and we had a great experience. I loved that it is a traditional yet modern hotel offering more than 2 star services. The room was spotlessly clean with a modern shower and perfect hot water. The staff members were pleasant, friendly and obliging especially the young receptionist and the manager. The breakfast was good and included a wide variety of cereals, fruits, breads along with eggs, juices etc. It is also just a 15-20 min walk to the city center. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed with friends for two nights. The hotel badly needs upgrading.The room was tiny and the shower room miniscule and grubby. The carpet had not been vacuumed when we arrived and the room and shower room not touched at all on the second day. On a more positive note the double bed was comfortable enough with decent linen.
The breakfast was mainly self service although you could order the cooked part from a selection of items. The breakfast conservatory overlooked the bins, hot tub and empty pool!

It takes about twenty minutes downhill to get into Bath centre and about thirty UPHILL to get back!

Parking is available on site which is one of the reasons this hotel was chosen. Would not return!

Room Tip: Don't know if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raeofbonnybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My partner and I checked into this Hotel on Friday 27th September 2013 - and were shown to Room 5 which stank of stagnant water. Not ones to complain - we wandered around the town and returned at 10pm sitting in the hotel lounge. Without warning at 10:25 the ceiling collapsed on top of both our heads - showering us with debris and plaster - we we lucky to escape death or serious injury. My partner Linda took most of the impact suffering cuts, bruising, concussion, and a nasty knee gash. We both suffered from the plumes of dust getting into eyes, nose, throat - and spent most of the weekend sneezing or coughing dust. I called 999 and the paramedics took us to Bath Royal United A&E where after being cleaned up and kept in for observation for 4 hours - we were discharged. We did not complete our stay and left Bath Saturday morning. The owners are ignoring our messages - so I am handing this incident over to Bath Council and Injury Lawyers. This hotel should be closed pending a structural review.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michale o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wentworth106, Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Unfortunately a small leak from a concealed pipe caused the plaster to become wet and fall from the ceiling. Whilst I am sure this was an unpleasant experience it is a gross exaggeration to suggest there was any risk of death or serious injury.

Nor are there any structural issues, the ceiling didn`t collapse it was only some plaster that fell away.

We have not ignored any messages. Despite refunding the total cost of the stay and waiving the £25.00bar bill, we received an E mail from the guest stating that if we didn`t give him £500 he would contact lawyers, the council, newspapers and write negative reviews on sites such as this.

We asked for some detail as to how the figure of £500 was arrived at but have not received a reply. We also asked to see the hospital report as there was no bleeding noticed at the time, or on later examination of the CCTV images. Again we have received no response.

It seems to us that the guest was attempting to extort money from us using unfair means. In fact some of the newspapers contacted refused to carry the story due to the exaggeration and over dramatising of the incident. Further we consider the review to be factually incorrect and will request that it be removed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#67 of 192 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#37 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#26 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing