We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for an expensive city”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #147 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great deal for an expensive city”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Wentworth was a great value. After reading the reviews on here I was scared to stay but we had a wonderful time! No need to fear.

We stayed in room 10. Everything was clean and you could tell it had been recently redone. The bed was comfortable and we had no problems with noise. The room had a nice little loveseat and table as well.

For a 2 Star hotel the accommodations were very nice- the breakfast was delicious and the free parking was a real plus. Danny, the manager, was extremely helpful.

The walk was fast and easy for my husband and me. My inlaws in their 60s had no problem down but preferred to take a cab back and said it was cheap- about 6 pounds.

Only complaints were the water pressure in the shower was a bit weak and my inlaws had trouble with their TV reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    86
    73
    70
    138
See reviews for
53
253
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

For two nights away and the price we payed I wasn't expecting good things but it was lovely . A nice clean room perfect for two a 15 min walk from town and nice staff ... The only thing that I would assume from the bad service is that the staff just let you get on with things! Room service and breakfast and good parking

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As New Zealanders who have spent the year working and travelling throughout the UK we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wentworth House. In fact it was without doubt one of the better places that we stayed in.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was a real treat.
If you want somewhere bland to stay I would suggest a chain type hotel, if you would like somewhere interesting and with charm and character go with Wentworth House.
Great value for money, will be recommending it to friends and family in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My Husband booked this hotel for our weekend away. Love the style of the rooms very comfortable, clean and tidy, they are small rooms but your not in them that much only to sleep. Staff friendly breakfast cooked fresh. 15 mins walk into Bath city center. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_paul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Myself and my Fiance went to Bath for the weekend at the beginning of November 2013 and found a good deal at Wentworth House Hotel.
The check-in was quick and easy, despite our late evening arrival and the manager was very helpful. There was some maintenance being carried out, but it was very low-level stuff and did not interfere with our stay at all. The manager was able to direct us to several places to eat, locally, providing the choice of Bar/Restaurant, good pub-grub and Indian cuisine. We ate at all three over the weekend, but would recommend the Devonshire Arms on Wellsway, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. We ate there twice; a Saturday evening steak and an excellent Sunday Lunch.
The Wentworth House hotel is clean, friendly and old fashioned, and I mean that as a compliment. This was our first trip to Bath and, when we return (which we plan to do next Summer) I will be booking at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 13 and 14 have a conservatory, with access to the rear garden. They are also at the rear of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Never actually got to stay here but cancelled my room well before the 48 hour minimum cancellation and even paid the £20 fee with the promise my £180 room payment would be credited to my card. 3 months later I'm still waiting after several promises they would sort this. Dispute now taken up with MasterCard. Avoid this hotel!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wentworth106, General Manager at Wentworth House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are not aware of any instances where we have agreed a refund and not processed it. We can not identify you from the review so can you please contact the hotel so we can investigate this issue.

However please be aware that our cancellation policy is two days in advance of the arrival date.If you have not given us two days notice then the full amount of the reservation will be charged as stated in our terms and conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Three ex-Bath students spent a night at the Wentworth, given to one of us as a birthday present. A warm welcome, large white bath towels, crisp white sheets, plenty of hot water and a quiet family room on the top floor. Freshly cooked 'full English' and free car parking, even after we had checked out. A pleasurable trip enjoyed by us all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
5.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bailbrook Lodge
Bailbrook Lodge
#25 of 157 in Bath
619 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
1.2 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astor House
Astor House
#68 of 157 in Bath
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing