We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay visiting son at university”
Review of Dorian House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dorian House
Ranked #19 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here Friday 28th October - visitng our son at University. So glad we found this bed/breakfast at a reasonable price, Also they do a one night stay. £99 included full English breakfast which was excellent. The attention to detail is FAB. Cotton robes to wear, lovely toiletries to use. Would love to stay again and perhaps in one of the more expensive rooms with 4 poster.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolW5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay. It is spotlessly clean, has high quality furnishing and an outstanding breakfast. The managers are very helpful and welcoming. I cannot see how anyone could be disappointed if they stayed at Dorian House, it is outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at the Dorian with friends for 2 nights in September 2011, Robert and his wife could not do enough for us, being attentive with outbeing intrusive. Our room was clean with all the little extras which make it special. The Breakfast was of very good quality and lots of it. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnificentmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Located a comfortable 10-minute walk to the south of Bath City Centre, this elegant Georgian house sits on a hill overlooking the town with great views. On arrival we were greeted by Robert, the manager, who is the consummate professional host. We were made extremely welcome, shown about the house, given tips on how to find our way into town on foot, and recommended a variety of places to eat. The lounge is large and comfortable, well stocked with books, newspapers, brochures of local attractions, and an Apple Macintosh to access the internet (although wi-fi is also available). The rooms are all spotlessly clean and beautifully well appointed – it’s impossible to find fault here – and even if you did I am absolutely certain any problem would be resolved immediately by the ever gracious Robert. Breakfast is a joy – relaxed and refined – every taste is catered for – the excellent quality food is lovingly prepared and beautifully presented. I have stayed in many fine places across the UK and abroad and I have to say this establishment is right up there amongst the very best of the best. We are certain to return in the future – Dorian House outshines the competition. This is a real gem in a great city!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great location, beautiful guest house, lovely welcome and ambient atmosphere at all times, very relaxing, staff very friendly. We stayed in the room 'Tallis' which was beautiful and very comfy bed! Breakfast was fab, best scrambled eggs we have had in a long time! Only ten mins walk to centre of Bath, free parking included. Would come back here and have recomended to inlaws who are going there this week! Bath is beautiful and its such a lovely place to stay to appreciate it all!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmyzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at Dorian house for 2 nights during a spa break at thermae bath spa. The staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were clean, and equipped with TV, WiFi and an iPod docking station. It's only a 10 minute walk to the city centre. I found going up the hill to the hotel was a fantastic running exercise. Helping to burn off the sumptuous breakfast calories. Well worth the money for me!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Affiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Dorian house for 2 nights in September 2011 and really enjoyed our stay.

We arrived early and our rooms were ready for us, so great to check in and explore Bath. We were on the top floor in a Kingsize room. The rooms were well appointed. Nice touches like chocolates and posh biscuits, good bathroom toiletries and robes available and nice fluffy towels. The only problem with being on the top floor is that the roofs are slopeing so you really need to watch out for banging your head!

Dorian House is beautiful, really well presented and the breakfast room is lovely as its a large conservatory that overlooks a well maintained garden.

Breakfast was very nice, you have a choice of cerial, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cheese., and fruit juices. Then either a full english, a veggie full english or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. With plenty of toast and coffee / tea.

The owners are very nice and friendly, really helpful as well.

Oh and there is a small bar serving drinks, or you can help yourself and note down what you've had - really nice.

Thoroughly enjoyed and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beckelollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,943 reviews
0 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 156 in Bath
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 156 in Bath
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian House

Address: One Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £104 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorian House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing