We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Management and desk staff at this guesthouse was efficient and very friendly and helpful.
Parking permits were offered free of charge to us. Truly a bonus.
Breakfast was scrumptious and value for money.
Rooms were well equipped and very neat and clean.
We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Bath.
Thank you , Brooks , for your excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    311
    92
    37
    15
See reviews for
195
518
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

For various reasons I found myself back at the Brooks Guesthouse. My first visit (over a year ago) was very disappointing. I am now really pleased that I had a chance to revist. The superior rooms are stunning - having undergone refurbishment. My room was lovely - bright floral wallpaper - a somewhat eclectic mix of furniture, a modern glass desk, a shabby chic chest of drawers and a modern slightly fluffy comfy chair. Quirky and great. The bathroom was lovely and modern - decent sized shower - I didn't feel that it had been squeezed in as an after thought - "posh" toiletries The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. A really lovely touch was a mini kilner type jar, next to the tea-making facilities, containing delicious homemade biscuits.

I was warmly welcomed at reception and shown where the breakfast room and guest lounge where. I had problems opening my window and also getting the TV to work. Both times the helpful man (sorry, I can't remember his name) on reception was happy to help me. He also told me that tne guesthouse had wi-fi without me having to ask.

The guest lounge had a laptop for guest use as well as plenty of tourist info leaflets, a radio and a fw games. A nice touch was an honesty bar for guests to help themselves to drinks and snacks such as crisps and chocolate. There was also a fridge for guest use.

Despite the breakfast room being in the basement it was light and airy. A great choice at breakfast ranging from the ubiquitous cornflakes to homemade granola, organic yoghurt and fruit compte. Delicious selection of cooked breakfasts ranging from full English to eggs benedict. I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon with granary toast and it was yummy. Black pepper mills were on the table. There were nice touches such as little white butter dishes with real butter, little glass dishes to help yourself to jam, honey etc. Yoghurt had been layered wih granola in little glasses and topped with berrries. The service was good and speedy with my tea arriving quickly -the cheerful waitress was happy to bring me a second pot too!

I was fortunate enough to meet the owners, Andrew and Carla this time and it was clear that they really care about their guests.

I would definitely stay there again and now highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping it would be best to ask for a room at the back of the guesthouse as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjj1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Clean, friendly B&B I would for sure choose again. Walking distance to city center and railway station as well. Friendly welcome, clean rooms, helpful staff and "honesty" bar at evening also included.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubomir_Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently and it's TOP CLASS.
Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Attentive, friendly staff. An amazing choice at breakfast, including Eggs Benedict & Eggs Florentine.
Definately value for money, considering it's location and proximity to City Centre. Bus stop outside to go into city and approx.150yds away for opposite direction Buses are very frequent. (it's a pleasant 10-15min leisurely stroll (downhill) to the city.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room which we appreciated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments delighted you had a lovely stay at Brooks & liked breakfast hope to see you again either in Bath , Bristol or Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in Bath, staying at Brooks. A town house only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bath that is very clean and comfortable, they also provide a brilliant breakfast, served by very nice staff. Reception was great and, although no car park, they provided permits for parking in the controlled zone. Will definitely use them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
thank you for your feedback and lovely comments glad you had a lovely mini break hope to see you again at Brooks Bath or perhaps in Brooks Edinburgh or Bristol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Very good place to stay. Excellent location, fantastic breakfast and staff very efficient and helpful. My second visit. Parking is a problem but that is common to most of Bath. Bus just outside hotel to town centre or easy walk. CL

Room Tip: only two single rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
thank you again for your nice comments and choosing Brooks we really appreciate your custom, Sorry parking was tricky its not easy to park in Bath apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The room was OK, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom biggish. It was nice and quiet but because of this there was nothing to look at but a scruffy bit of roof out of the window. The shower wouldn't stay in the right place and the hairdryer was missing. The welcome from reception seemed a bit distracted - and no offer of help to take our case up the steep windy stairs, even though we are clearly not in the first flush of youth.
The hospitality tray was stocked with the cheapest tea and coffee available from a cash and carry, and you could have fresh milk as long as you wanted to pay extra - not what I expected for £100 a night.
Breakfast was extra, and was perfectly nice, we particularly enjoyed the breakfast "sundae" of granola, fruit and creamy yoghurt.
We are Bathonians so we know it's expensive, and we don't mind paying if we get good service and quality. Sadly, we had to mark this one ... could do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindyournose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks G, Manager at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we take your comments very seriously and will look into the points you raised. We are surprised you were not offered help with your bags as we always offer guests help and sorry you did not feel you got the warm west country welcome we pride ourselves on at Brooks Guesthouse

It is also surprising you thought our in room fair trade teas and coffees were not of good quality and we have started making our own caramelised cinnamon and ginger biscuits which you will find in the Kilner jars with the hospitality tray.

All our rooms are equipped with hair dryers, occasionally they may go missing or guests can not find them in the room; if it was missing this should have been noticed by our housekeeping team. I do hope we were given the opportunity to provide you with another one and to tighten the shower holder. We would like to apologise for these issues.

We are glad you enjoyed breakfast at the guesthouse in particular the breakfast shots made with organic yogurt, homemade compote and homemade honey and nut granola.
We do hope you enjoyed Bath.

Kind regards

Ben Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing