We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable ,restfull and friendly,”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 September 2013

we went to Bath for the Jane Austen Festival-enjoyed our 3night stay, room 18 top of the house and at the back (no beautiful views of Bath) was lovely-the beds very comfortable, and were cleaned and fresh towels changed every morning,
we would have liked to have more wardrobe space ,
en-suite clean and a good size-although I think the toilet roll was placed in an unusual place.
staff very friendly and helpful- ordering taxis, carrying our suitcases, giving information about Bath,
Do not take an umbrella with you- the guesthouse has large umbrellas in the to reception area to lend to guests .
Brooks breakfast- brilliant value, and excellent chose ,you can watch your breakfast been prepared through the large glass partition,
guest parlour- comfortable ,daily newspapers to read .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dereth246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

The room share was for three as I was on a tour. We were given one key even though I explained we were not friends or relatives and would be going out independently of each other so needed one each. The answer I was given was that it was risk management to give only one key as loss of a key meant door locks, including the front door would need to be changed. There are no telephones in the room. The reason I was given is that guests are expected to have mobile phones. This meant I had to walk from the top floor, leaving the door unlocked and the contents insecure, while I went downstairs and asked the desk attendant to come and lock the room. To get in, I had to wait for a staff member to be available to let me into the room. On one occasion, when we went to the room, it was already unlocked meaning the room contents had been insecure. I find it unsatisfactory that the hotel puts risk management of key loss above the security of the guest's property. I also find it unsatisfactory that there is no phone in the room. I further find it unsatisfactory that there is no lift so the luggage has to be dragged up flights of narrow, steep stairs. The room was very cramped. There was no view. On the plus side, beds are comfortable. Location is very good with a bus stop directly in front of the guesthouse. Staff are helpful but limited by protocols. Breakfast is very good. Based on all the facts though, I would look around before choosing this accommodation again if I were to travel to Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Sorry you felt your property was not secure , we dont hand out multiple keys becuase that is more of a security risk if they are all lost on the street and strangers enter the buidling
If you are sharing with other people at our guesthouse we assume you know the people that you are sharing with, its unusal to share iwth strangers.
It might be worth you having a single room on the ground floor if you have trouble with stairs and sharing your room. We are happy to carry bags we do it daily.
Housekeepers need to open the doors to clean the rooms which is why your room was unlocked as it was being serviced .

Our building is listed which is why we don't have a lift this typical many Bath Townhoses & we say this on our website. 99% of our guests have mobile phones but we are available 12 hours per day to make phonecalls for you if you don't have one
We are glad you liked the bed and breakfast , that is what we set out to do bed and breakfast so happy you liked both of these elements thank you again for staying

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our family of four (incl. 2 younger children) stayed for two nights. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and offered lots of options, even for a picky 3 yr old. The room was cramped for four people but was comfortable and in good condition. Being along the street (room 10 if I remember correctly) there was some traffic noise when we opened the windows at night but was't too bad. The king bed was very comfortable and the pull-outs for the kids were fine. Very good location, being close to the main sights in Bath. No restaurant options by the guesthouse but there are lots of options within a 10 minute walk. Also, there is an excellent kids park 5 minutes away, which really helps to let them burn off some energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went on a weekend trip to Bath and stayed at Brooks Guesthouse.

Lovely boutique bed and breakfast. Really nice and quiet and a lovely room - soundproof!

Very pleasant staff - with a great cooked breakfast in the morning. Didn't have a view from the room, but that was fine. Large Bathroom which had an excellent shower (powerful).

Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Brooks Guesthouse (Bath) for one night in August 2013. The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes walk from the main tourist sights of Bath, there is a public car park near the hotel (about 9 pounds for 24hrs).

Our room was lovely - nice attention to decor details, spacious bathroom, good (i.e. hot & pressurised) shower, clean room.

Breakfast was fantastic. Great variety available and the food was high quality (not just your standard full English option).

The staff were very friendly but beware that reception is not attended after 8pm - we saw one lady arrive late and was caught by surprise that no one was at the desk, a telephone number is left for you to ring (also there is a pay phone down the road if you don't have a mobile).

We enjoyed our time at the Brooks Guesthouse in Bath we ended up booking our next night at the Brooks Guesthouse in Bristol, the manager in Bath kindly arranged a complimentary bottle of wine for us at the Bristol hotel as a gesture of goodwill, this wasn't expected but appreciated nonetheless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Quirky and well furnished rooms, excellent breakfast and close walking distance to town centre. Room 19 on second floor was small but perfectly fine. Parking was also closeby.
Try Hall and Woodhouse for lunch, it's excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and was able to check in 15 mins before check in time. Everything was explained clearly by a very polite gentlemen. Offered to help with luggage. Stayed for one evening. Bedroom was beautiful and chic/boutique. Very clean and comfortable with a TV and fan. 10 to 15 min walk into bath centre where the Roman bath is. Breakfast was also included which was an extra bonus. Had eggs Benedict which was beautiful. They also had an honesty bar which you helped yourself to 24 hours and would just write down what you had taken and they would add onto your final bill. A very pleasant stay and would 100% recommend and go back to if I went to bath again. The only bad thing that I could mention is that our room had a view of next doors house however, we had a standard room and this wasn't very important to me but might be important to someone else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieR1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 159 in Bath
833 reviews
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 159 in Bath
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 159 in Bath
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#9 of 159 in Bath
1,125 reviews
6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing