We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and the staff was very friendly and let me store my luggage both before and after my stay. The room looked nice and the bed was comfortable. My only complaints are that no shampoo was provided and it was quite noisy when people entered the hallway. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHTnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    313
    95
    38
    15
See reviews for
196
522
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just come back from a long weekend in Bath and were very lucky with our choice of accommodation. The bed was huge and very comfortable, bathroom well functioning, everything clean. Lovely touches such as the yummy little biscuits in their own airtight jar have been mentioned, there was also the option of collecting real milk from the guest fridge for a proper cup of tea. Very attentive and friendly staff, and nobody could fault the breakfast! You might think that the extensive menu should leave no wishes open, but they were still happy to cater for our whims. If there is a minus side it is the area which is on the main road from Bristol and without a view to gladden the eye - but lovely Bath is only about 10 minutes away on foot. The room, due to the size of the bed, feels on the small side and the staircase in that part of the house is probably due a freshening up - but these are minor points. I wouldn't call it cheap but good value nonetheless and sincerely to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHenrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a small charming room with en suite bath. The bed was comfyortable and all was very clean. Ben could not have been kinder or more professional. He had excellent advice and recommendations for places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying there again should we find ourselves in Bath

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycenryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My Mum, sister and I chose Brooks Guesthouse for a relaxed girls weekend away. We shared a room (14). While the room was spacious and pleasant, it was a little tired in its decoration and had large, unsightly stains on the carpet which let it down somewhat.

The breakfast, as others have mentioned, was wonderful. A truly delicious array with a tasty cooked selection also on offer.

Rooms are also clearly well sound proofed. A hen party was staying at the same time as us with some of them in the room next door and we barely heard a peep!

The staff, too, were welcoming and hospitable. The chap serving breakfast in particular provided a jolly start to the day!

I would be happy to recommend Brooks Guesthouse but do feel that a little wear and tear work needs to be done.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jigglypuffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Brooks Guesthouse this summer and found it to be a nice stay. The rooms are kind of old looking, but they are clean. The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. The location is ok, we dropped a rental car off and it was a manageable walk from that location. It was no problem walking to the restaurants and the Roman Baths from Brooks. We did take a taxi in the morning from Brooks to the train station. It is walkable, but the fare was reasonable so we decided to be lazy and take a taxi. The front desk was great and called our taxi both times we requested one. In fact, I found the front desk to be quite nice.

While we were staying there, a Rick Steves tour group was staying there as well. I always use RS recommendations while making my trips, so I felt it was a good sign to see that not only does the RS UK book recommend Brooks, but they believe in it enough to book their own tours to stay there. My wife loved Bath and if we return, we will certainly stay at Brooks again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived earlier than expected, but received a warm welcome and a pot of tea from Piotr (on reception) while our room was prepared. He also carried our cases up to the top floor. We had a quiet room at the back (18) with a huge and very comfortable bed and clean, attractive ensuite. We hadn't much luggage but those with lots might find a lack of space to stow their belongings.
The breakfasts were lovely and Salvatore started our days with a smile - all the staff were friendly and helpful, the ambience was great, we hope to return.
We'd recommend the free guided walking tours in Bath - a great introduction to the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After being badly let down by another Guesthouse the night before, my wife and i were staring down the barrel of an incredibly deflating weekend in Bath, that was until we found Brooks guesthouse.

We booked first thing in the morning after "high tailing it" out of another incredibly poor guesthouse, and on arriving at Brooks, some 5 hours before our scheduled check in time, the manageress changed our room to one that was ready for us to check into. Not a huge amount of effort involved in that admittedly, but still a much appreciated gesture and one that illustrates good service is sometimes just about going the extra mile for people. The room was lovely, a good size, very clean, full of character, and with everything you could want. The staff were really helpful, and friendly and a joy to be around. In the morning we came down for breakfast and were seated in nicely decorated breakfast room. The full English was nothing short of superb, and my only criticism for the entire stay was that the poached eggs were slightly overcooked for me! Hardly a criticism for a place that is clearly run by a professional team that take pride in what they do, and listen to what customers want. All that that they are obviously foodies to boot!! If only they offered dinner too!!!!

I would highly recommend Brooks guest house, and would stay here again happily !!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing