We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really comfortable rooms, excellent shower, nice lounge, delicious breakfast, really nice, funny, helpful staff - and near enough the centre of Bath to be able to walk there and back comfortably (unless in new high heels...)

Room Tip: Road is a bit noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    311
    92
    37
    15
See reviews for
195
518
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the receptionist Veronica was welcoming and friendly. Veronica was busy with another guest and we were asked to wait in the lounge. A gentleman appeared and we were soon offered a cup of tea.

When we were checking in we had a complimentary upgrade to a superior king, room 4. The room was beautiful. Modern, clean spacious with a pretty chaise lounge.

The bathroom was clean, tidy, well decorated and the shower was fantastic!! It engulfed me in hot water.

Complemetary tea and homemade biscuits. Big Tv and huge comfortable amazing bed.

The hotel was very cute. I loved the decor throughout and the breakfast room was very chic.

The waiter in the morning was a pleasant surprise, he was efficient friendly and gave a positive start to the day.

I would not have changed a single thing about my stay and will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

From my original call enquiring about availability to the warm welcome on our arrival; Brooks exceeded an already positive expectation. Room was tastefully decorated; as was the whole guesthouse.
Ours was literlally a one night stay (to attend a special party at The Assembly Rooms). Although we were advised we could walk; due to weather we were booked a taxi which was surprisingly inexpensive....
Breakfast was terrific from service to variety.
The whole 'Brooks' experience added a special layer to an already special event. Would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just finished a three night stay at brooks guest house in Bath for work. This was a nice place to stay. Close to the center of Bath, about a 5 minute flat walk to town. Probably 10 minutes to the train station. Great breakfast. Besides the standard full English breakfast, they also had daily specials. My room was #18. It was on the top floor. I didn't mind the walk up. Window looked out back, to trees and car park, but not facing the road so didn't have a problem with road noise. Room was small, but bed comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank giflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a lovely find but a little on the expensive side, however, it is full of the decadence one should expect from a good hotel in Bath.

We arrived on a Friday, stayed for two nights and it is purely delightful.

I can't really fault this hotel in terms of the ambience and peacefulness,however, if you have a car this is not the place for you.

There is no parking and we were stung with a fee that was not a great morning present. The staff found this quite amusing which did make us love them all more.

We cannot speak any more highly of our catalonian waiter. Charming, friendly and full understood the need for space at the early hours.

Do visit Bath and you should stay here!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Staff were nice but our room wasn't cleaned after the first night. It wasn't made clear that breakfast wasn't included in room price either, and £8.50 was very steep. Room was nice but there was also no hot water in our bathroom in the evenings. Expected much better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
thank you for the review sorry you were disappointed , breakfast is included if you book direct with the hotel but not if you book with booking.com or one of those sites as they take a large comission sorry we can't control how they market that as their sites belong to them not us . Sorry if it was not clear usually it is sold as "Room only". We clean the rooms daily unless there is a do not disturb sign on the rooms. Glad you liked the staff & decor Should you want to return to Brooks Bath Bristol or Edinburgh we would be happy to give you a free breakfast as a way of saying sorry that you were disappointed last time. Thank you again for choosing us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and the staff was very friendly and let me store my luggage both before and after my stay. The room looked nice and the bed was comfortable. My only complaints are that no shampoo was provided and it was quite noisy when people entered the hallway. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHTnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing