We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional friendly staff”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a special November offer which included entry to the Spa Baths. Only 10-15 mins walk into the centre of everything. We had a twin room on the top floor (steep stairs) and although I would have preferred a larger room it was fine for a short stay. We had a couple of problems in the room and I was so impressed how quickly these were put right. All the staff we encountered went out of their way to be polite and friendly - I had forgotten such service still exists! There is a gorgeous ground floor sitting room, complete with period features and an open fire! Watch the chef cook your breakfast - fabulous choice. Such delights as Eggs Benedict -
French toast with apples and cinnamon.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor - small rooms and a steep climb. Quiet rooms to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetAngiec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    318
    99
    40
    16
See reviews for
200
527
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Within only a few minutes' walk into central Bath, Brooks Guesthouse turned out to be a bright spot in our entire vacation. We traveled with our 20 year old daughter who is a Jane Austen fan, so we were hopeful that our Bath visit would be amazing. We were not disappointed. The staff is so helpful, and the room was large and comfortable. Especially loved the wonderfully hot shower! We also opted to eat breakfast here, and it was yummy. Friendly waiter too! Compared to the next night in London where we paid more money for a not-nice place, well.....there is no comparison!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redallibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here for one night while visiting the Spa. The room was very clean and decorated to a high standard. I had the best night sleep for a long time with a very comfortable bed and soft pillow. The breakfast was very well priced and superb with plenty of options and very healthy. It only took approximately 5 mins to stroll into the center of Bath so was in a good location too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed Brooks Guest House for a weekend with friends, we booked it through Lateroom.com as it was the nearest to the centre of Bath and the least expensive. Plus it had really good reviews and we weren’t disappointed. The whole place was just beautiful and wonderfully quirkey, our room was on the top floor so nice and quiet, it was beautifully decorated in cream and duck egg blue, the bathroom was perfect and the shower had great water pressure even we were on the top floor. We didn’t have breakfast there but if the homemade lemon short bread biscuits were anything to go by then the food must be good!! The honesty bar is a great idea and extremely useful if you want a quick drink before heading in to Bath for the evening. The receptionists were very helpful when it came to trying to find somewhere to park the car as we arrived late Friday afternoon and checked us in very quickly. We will definitely use this guest house again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here for the weekend in a standard room and had a wonderful time. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and really go out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The rooms are lovely - we had one overlooking the main road which wasn't too noisy at night. We managed to find parking nearby without too much hassle - you just need to pay extra for a guest parking permit. It's a short walk - 5 minutes into the town centre and a couple of minutes walk to Bath's famous royal crescent. We didn't eat breakfast in the guest house but the rooms have tea and coffee facilities with homemade shortbread which was a nice touch. The perfect guesthouse for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xbackpackerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolseley, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a nice room but a bit noisy at front of B&B. Staff was VERY helpful on several occasions and breakfasts were great. Modern bathroom, bed mattress was firm but that seems the norm for England. We would recommend for a great stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Busy street so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back of B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What makes a stay here exceptional is the quality of guest care - Veronica and Salvatore were genuinely helpful and welcoming from the minute we walked in the door to seeing us off in the cab when we left. We really enjoyed our stay here and would readily come back again. The guest house is very conveniently located for walking into town or to the huge Victorian park next door. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and have a very welcoming ambience. Breakfast is well worth factoring in, with a generous and diverse spread including daily specials, such as eggs benedict with hollandaise sauce. Top notch. They obviously have some talent in the kitchen, so it would be great if they did evening meals too! The lounge with the real log fire was a very relaxing spot too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 157 in Bath
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Lamp Post Villa B&B
#157 of 157 in Bath
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#58 of 157 in Bath
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing