We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly and excellent value for money”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We normally stay in a hotel but decided to stay in a guest house for a change and were very impressed. We enjoyed hotel levels of comfort and quality but guest house friendliness. Breakfast was an additional charge but very reasonable at £8.50 for a fresh cooked eggs hollandaise - no malingering sausages under a heat lamp. There was a wide choice of breakfast and all cooked to order. Very comfortable lounge with open fire and honesty bar finished our evening off nicely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    317
    96
    40
    16
See reviews for
199
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our two night stay at Brooks. Upon our arrival on Friday night we were greeted by the receptionist who was very helpful and friendly offering advice on good places to visit and eat in Bath.
The room was great, we were even given a free upgrade from a kingside room to a superior room! The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean.
The tea and coffee facilities in the room were very generous and although our kettle didn't work at first, the receptionist immediately replaced it with one that worked as soon as we raised it to his attention.
The breakfast is good value and worth having. There is plenty of choice and the service is great.
I cannot fault this hotel, I would definitely recommend and would most certainly return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here during our Spa visit to Bath. Our twin room was small but very comfortable with lots of lovely original features and some glamorous touches (mirrors, lamps etc.). The beds were quite soft but very cosy and warm. The ensuite shower room was nicely finished and very clean. Unfortunately the kettle didn't work (only realised in the morning of our departure) and the curtains didn't fully close which let in some light (thank goodness for an eye-mask!). The window view... well there wasn't one (frosted glass would have been a good idea). Some other guests returning late were quite noisy on the stairs and in the room above but nothing major. Breakfast was amazing (excellent value) and I was very happy they were able to supply soya milk without question. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (even bringing my bags to my car!). Lounge area was very cosy and snug (we liked the idea of the honested bar!). Reception area is very compact (part of the charm I guess) and some work needs to be done securing the loose floor tiles (a tad hazardous). Good value for Bath and well situated (fairly central) and whilst on the main road was not overly noisy. A lovely change to the normal 'sterile' hotel accommodation. Wish we had been able to stay longer and would recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jobato1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night for a weekend away in Bath. We love the city anyway but the accommodation at Brooks made the stay even more memorable. Wonderful hospitality from Peter, we aren't very demanding people anyway, but nothing was too much trouble. Lovely real fire in the lounge, clean and tidy, room 22 was large and luxurious. Breakfast the next day looked amazing but unfortunately I had to miss it while RAC fixed the broken down car :-( But Brooks didn't mind doing me a plated sausage sandwich which was brought to me roadside!
Only one tiny thing please next time could there be some body lotion as well as shower gel and shampoo?!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed for one night for a weekend break and overall was happy with my stay here.
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful and I couldn't fault the service. The room was small but accommodated my needs and was clean and nicely furnished. The en suite bathroom was absolutely tiny but they have made good use of limited space with the designer sink and shower etc. Again very clean and nicely decorated.
The breakfast was first class! The homemade granola and muesli really impressed me as I'm a bit of a foodie and touches like this stay in my mind. I had poached eggs on toast which were cooked to perfection and I'm very fussy about my eggs! Lovely fresh coffee and juice and lots of fresh fruit to choose from. Fab. There were also a Kilner jar of homemade ginger and cinnamon biscuits in the room, which was very personal and quite delicious too.
The only negative point I have to make about Brooks is that in the reception area as you enter the building, there is a Victorian floor made of mosaic tiles. The tiles are all loose and I actually tripped over a few of them by the desk and they flew all over the floor, which potentially could be very dangerous. I noticed that when I left the building a few hours later, someone had re-positioned the tiles, all ready for someone else to trip over :/
I have the same flooring at my house and it's very easy to adhere them back to the floor. This is a serious health and safety issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaDennis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights in July 2013 as a family of four with 2 children aged 14 and 12. We had a ground floor room which whilst on the small side suited our needs. The room was very clean and well presented. Our children slept on comfortable chair beds. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts were first class. We were able to walk into Bath even though we had a car parked nearby with a free permit provided by the host. Parking in the area is scarce. There was plenty of things to see and do in Bath during our stay. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Misleading photos on the web. Rooms small, dark and pokey.
This guesthouse was dirty, with a large, dark stain on the sitting room carpet. We were given room 15, which must have been the one they use in emergencies.....It was disproportioned and dark; the curtains would not close properly and light came pouring in at night. Bedrooms described on the website as 'sleek and modern' is not accurate.
Customer service was poor on arrival; coffee at breakfast was undrinkable - 'we are foodies' as claimed on the website simply is not true. The food was edible although nothing special.
Wifi did not work for our first 24 hours.
What a shame for us - having saved for an anniversary treat, we were hoping for a clean, welcoming, comfortable and special hotel, and learnt that one cannot always believe the websites.
I do not recommend this, except maybe for a brief business trip, where food, comfort, cleanliness and a warm welcome are not important. But aren't they always important?
If we'd wanted cheap and dirty, we would have paid for that and I am surprised at the positive reviews.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HippieKidster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
sorry you did not like anything at Brooks if you wish to call me to discuss i am on 01225425543 we are really surprised by the review as we did not have any complaints from any guests when you stayed so we are perplexed how we got it so wrong for you . sorry you did not like it in any way but i this is not a typical experience as you write yourself and you can see from the other reviews regards Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 154 in Bath
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 154 in Bath
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Lamp Post Villa B&B
#154 of 154 in Bath
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 154 in Bath
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing