We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend Brooks Guesthouse”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We highly recommend Brooks Guesthouse”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were greeted promptly and warmly, taken directly to our very comfortable room, and provided with helpful information about the city and recommendations for sightseeing and nearby restaurants. The staff, who were all very helpful and friendly, contributed to an overall delightful stay in Bath.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraJMCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    313
    95
    39
    15
See reviews for
197
522
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed for two nights 4th and 5th Jan for a short break. Initially we were put in a room on the front of the hotel which was noisy but on asking the receptionist, we were given a room at the back the following day which was much quieter and made for a relaxing and comfortable stay. Bed very comfortable. Bathroom clean. Peter on reception was very helpful and an asset to the guest house. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment but the biscuits in the room, as mentioned in a previous review, were delicious. Good situation for town and amenities. Free parking permit was useful. Would stay at this guest house again.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

After a chilly welcome we slept well at Brooks. When we checked in, there was no available rooms, so we used the living-room to change and get ready for a trip to Stonehenge. Suddently he said they had a room anyway. We were 4 people travelling together so we left all our luggage in one of the rooms and went to see Bath. When we came back in the evening the door was locked and nobody answered, since the staff had left. Two little old ladies was as confused as we were, but they called a phone number at the door and the staff told us about the box where our keys were dropped. It was the only bad thing about the hotel, and the staff should have told us about the keys and the closed door. At least I slept as a baby and the breakfast was very good! Rooms were nice, clean and comfy. We stayed for two nights and the rest of the staff was excellent, proffessional and friendly. I have no problems with recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Losoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We normally stay in a hotel but decided to stay in a guest house for a change and were very impressed. We enjoyed hotel levels of comfort and quality but guest house friendliness. Breakfast was an additional charge but very reasonable at £8.50 for a fresh cooked eggs hollandaise - no malingering sausages under a heat lamp. There was a wide choice of breakfast and all cooked to order. Very comfortable lounge with open fire and honesty bar finished our evening off nicely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our two night stay at Brooks. Upon our arrival on Friday night we were greeted by the receptionist who was very helpful and friendly offering advice on good places to visit and eat in Bath.
The room was great, we were even given a free upgrade from a kingside room to a superior room! The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean.
The tea and coffee facilities in the room were very generous and although our kettle didn't work at first, the receptionist immediately replaced it with one that worked as soon as we raised it to his attention.
The breakfast is good value and worth having. There is plenty of choice and the service is great.
I cannot fault this hotel, I would definitely recommend and would most certainly return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here during our Spa visit to Bath. Our twin room was small but very comfortable with lots of lovely original features and some glamorous touches (mirrors, lamps etc.). The beds were quite soft but very cosy and warm. The ensuite shower room was nicely finished and very clean. Unfortunately the kettle didn't work (only realised in the morning of our departure) and the curtains didn't fully close which let in some light (thank goodness for an eye-mask!). The window view... well there wasn't one (frosted glass would have been a good idea). Some other guests returning late were quite noisy on the stairs and in the room above but nothing major. Breakfast was amazing (excellent value) and I was very happy they were able to supply soya milk without question. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (even bringing my bags to my car!). Lounge area was very cosy and snug (we liked the idea of the honested bar!). Reception area is very compact (part of the charm I guess) and some work needs to be done securing the loose floor tiles (a tad hazardous). Good value for Bath and well situated (fairly central) and whilst on the main road was not overly noisy. A lovely change to the normal 'sterile' hotel accommodation. Wish we had been able to stay longer and would recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jobato1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night for a weekend away in Bath. We love the city anyway but the accommodation at Brooks made the stay even more memorable. Wonderful hospitality from Peter, we aren't very demanding people anyway, but nothing was too much trouble. Lovely real fire in the lounge, clean and tidy, room 22 was large and luxurious. Breakfast the next day looked amazing but unfortunately I had to miss it while RAC fixed the broken down car :-( But Brooks didn't mind doing me a plated sausage sandwich which was brought to me roadside!
Only one tiny thing please next time could there be some body lotion as well as shower gel and shampoo?!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#53 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing