We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, nice - but not luxury”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, nice - but not luxury”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Little more than half a mile to heart of Bath, but a pleasant walk.

Quaint building. We had a family room, in the basement. Unfortunately, that meant listening to children running, stomping or otherwise makin mayhem above us in the common room while we were getting ready for bed.

Also, every time a service worker opened a nearby door, our room door would shudder as if someone was trying to force their way in. Disturbing at first, irritating thereafter.

Decently decorated and clean. Staff were helpful and nice. Breakfast was nice too.

Overall, decent place but don't stay in room 5!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    313
    95
    38
    15
See reviews for
195
522
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at brooks for 2 nights and we found it lovely and clean, the staff was very nice and polite. Outw room was at the top floor and was very quiet, there was tv and ipod doc, the bathroom was large as well as the bed that was so comfortable! ! At the ground floor there is a lounge area with a lovely fireplace and sofas, while near the breakfast room there is a drink fridge where guests can help themselves. We had breakfast one day and it was really good and plenty of choice. I will definitely recommend it also because it is 5 min walking from the centre, otherwise there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. Nice stay! We'll come back for sure :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena_Davide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked the Brooks Guest House and Romantic Package with Bottle of Prosecco for my Husband’s birthday. I informed the Manager about the reason of our stay and what’s a surprise the room was decorated with balloons and banners. I requested a king double room, room was great, clean, modern and also included a very comfy bed with great quality a goose duvet and pillows.

The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful ( Tomasz, Piotr, Veronica , Kasia) offered information on the local area, attractions, shopping and restaurants.

The breakfast was delicious with a choice of varied Organic menu. We have chosen a daily special- Eggs Florentine. In addition to the breakfast we received home made crunchy cereal and fair trade coffee.

Great location to visit the town, short walking distances to the public car park (overnight free 8pm to 8am)

The Brook Guest House is superb and great value for money.

Will definitely visit again!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malgorzata2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Although the reviews here are mixed, I booked, driven by the location. Brooks is very close to Royal Crescent and a short walk from the city centre. The room- a double- is a decent size with a small table and plastic chair. It's an old building with high ceilings, decorated tastefully. There's enough hanging space in the wardrobe but little storage otherwise. OK for a couple of days but not more. Parking in the nearby Charlotte Street car park is £8.50/day. On street parking is free from 8pm to 8am, though Brooks has a few parking permits you can use for daytime parking. There's an honesty bar with wine, beer and a few snacks in case you get hungry at night. Free wifi. TV is tiny but you don't come to Bath to watch TV. Shower is clean and water pressure is good. Breakfast is cooked to order in a nice room in the basement, a good choice is available.
The b&b is unattended at night; if you arrive late your keys will be left in a secure safe outside.
The negatives: bed in room 23 is very soft, and the least comfortable bed I can remember sleeping in. Central heating is programmed to turn off at night, and by 3am the room is very cold. On the whole a fair price for the product at £69.

Room Tip: Room 23 to be avoided in winter or if you hate soft beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback just to clarify our staff" live in " the guesthouse in a staff flat but they are not "on duty 24 hours a day " as its not possible to stay awake 24 hours a day.
We staff our reception all day and all evening long , we don't usually get requests at 3am you have to go to a hotel if you need room service at 3 am not a B&B
Our pocket sprung mattress are 1000 , but it might not be the same as your bed at home sorry we can't match what you have at home.
We have 15 parking permits and 50% of guests come by train so typically we have enough for everyone
£69 is £40 under the average price for Bath so we think its a fantastic price better than Premier Inn for example. Glad you liked Bath & our location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for one night with my friend. We booked a spa treatment and got an option to pay a bit more so we could get a voucher for the thermal bath. The guesthouse is at a good location, quite close to the centre. The staff is very friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed in room 17 on the top floor in a twin bedroom. The room was clean what is very important for me so I was very happy. The beds are very comfy, we could sleep well throughout the night with no problem. The breakfast was good and made of fresh ingredients served by a very polite waiter. They have a breakfast menu so there are more options and not just the usual English breakfast and there were a table with juices, cereals, butter, table sauces, fruits in additional to the breakfast. We are extremely thankful to the nice receptionist who allowed us to leave our luggage there for a few hours after we checked out, and offered us a tea and biscuits and showed us in the lounge area when we returned to pick up the bags soaking wet from the rain. It was a good experience and we can only recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Room 19, second floor - compact, good looking but unpleasant smells.

Breakfast £17 for both of us (two coffees, one natural yogurt and one Eggs Florentine).

Breakfast is for free if you book through Brooks Guesthouse website - receptionist told us on ''check out''. We booked through Expedia. Receptionist on ''check in'' told us breakfast will be free. Very confusing.

Car Parking: £8/24h, make sure you get there early, limited number of parking permits.

Otherwise, ten minutes from Thermae Spa and Roman Spa.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for feedback , we charge £8.50 for breakfast but this includes tea coffee toast yoghurt muffins oat cakes , cooked breakfast , juice, however if you only want one of those items that is your choice most guests avail of all the options .
Parking is £8 we have 15 permits and 50% of our guests arrive by train or bus so it works out that everyone can get one typically. Glad you liked room 19 its just been re decorated , not sure why there was an unpleasant smell but if you told us we would have investigated & sorted it
Glad you enjoyed your stay
PS its usually cheaper to book direct with hotels as we can give you a better deal might
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Everything about our stay was great. We had a fantastic warm welcome, with Veronica staying to welcome us even though we were late. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the decor throughout was really beautiful. The highlight was the breakfast - amazing selection of food, beautifully presented. Honesty fridge, stocked with beer, was also a great touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallymac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#56 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing