We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a king room, after an enjoyable stay at the Bristol guesthouse. Our room was comfortable and stylish and the breakfast was excellent. If you don't want or need all the frills of a hotel then Brooks is a great choice and excellent value. It's certainly much better than the similarly priced (or more expensive) budget chain hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Brooks Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for one night and as we arrived late the manager arranged for our keys to be easily picked up from a safe place. The outside of the place is typically 'bath' and inviting. Inside the place is painted different shades of purple and lit with dark glass chandeliers...make of that what you will.. some like it perhaps..?!
The room was clean and the bathroom modern and tastefully done.
I gave this an 'average' score because of the sleep quality. If you sleep light take ear plugs or ask for a room that does not face onto the road. We were on the first floor, our room had a beautiful high ceiling but as with old buildings they had creaky floor boards and we were just unlucky the people in the room above us came in a lot later; I was awake for an hour while they pottered about.
Breakfast was great, eggs Benedict made up for the slightly broken sleep and the courteous staff could not have done more for us.
Recommended as long as you have a north facing room.

Room Tip: Room on the north side/ one that does not face the road is what you want.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in Brooks Guesthouse having been impressed by their website. Aside from slightly iffy parking (you need to use the pay & display round the back of the guesthouse), it's very well kept from the outside and inside. The room was nicely appointed and all set out for us (family of 3). Some reviews have complained about the "plastic chair" - it's actually a very well known design piece and works fine with the room. There are some nice little details and the bathroom we had was well appointed. Breakfast offered lots of choice and the waitresses were attentive. The lounge is beautifully laid out and checking in/out, even late at night, was easy. Would be keen to check out Edinburgh and revisit this guesthouse. A very pleasant one-night stay.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LittleAygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Last year we stayed in the Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh and really enjoyed the experience, consequently we made a conscious decision to stay at their Guesthouse in Bath...we were not disappointed. Although quite a different set up, there was the same quite distinctive brand and feel to the place. Both hotels are extremely welcoming and friendly...communal sitting rooms, access to a fridge and fresh milk, honesty bar and well equipped and quirky rooms. In both hotels the bathrooms were excellent with high quality fittings and excellent showers.... we also appreciate the high spec linen.
Parking in Bath is always a problem but the advance information provided ensured that we knew what to do and where to go....we were able to use a permit in the road near by but the Charlotte Street car park is very close should you not be as lucky as we were.
We really enjoyed our short stay and, as in Edinburgh, could not fault the warmth of our welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReddersA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Booked two rooms, one for my husband and myself and the other for friends we meet up with once or twice a year. After seeing the photos of the hotel we were all really looking forward to seeing our rooms and didn't mind paying a bit more than usual. What a DISAPPOINTMENT!

Our rooms were in the attic at the top of the hotel under the eaves. The slope was such that it extended the length of each room. The roof starting practically from the floor and ending up half way across the ceiling so that. It dominated the whole room.
Our bed was at one end with enough room for a small table at one side. My husband slept on the other side having to be careful not to bang his head each time he got out of bed. Also in the room was an old wooden table marked with paint rings and accompanied by a white plastic chair with wire legs,There was also a fold up bed which would have proved impossible to walk round if it had been opened. There were no drawers anywhere.

Our friends came off even worse. A smaller room with a hand basin that was so difficult to use because of the slope that leaning over to brush ones teeth proved to be impossible.
The receptionist was very kind and spoke to our friends about their room before they had time to broached the subject. Does information not get passed on?

These rooms would probably be OK as single rooms and without the wallpaper with the extremely large repeated motif with the high gloss finish.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 8 and 9 like the plague.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gadaboutgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary on arrival very friendly and helpful staff, managed to get a parking space around the corner, but you do have to pay the hotel for this, but worth it. We stayed in room 9 top floor, very small room and bathroom not enough room to move in, a bit disappointed with this but the location is perfect only about 10 mins walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93heidi_r93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nice accommodation within walking distance of the town centre. Parking is limited and on a first come first served basis so Id advise turning up as soon as possible, but there is a pay and display 5 mins walk from the guesthouse. I booked through laterooms.com so I got a superior double room better than half price. Very happy with the value I got for the money I paid!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 157 in Bath
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#37 of 157 in Bath
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#58 of 157 in Bath
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 157 in Bath
951 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamp Post Villa B&B
Lamp Post Villa B&B
#157 of 157 in Bath
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £85 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing