We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a couple of nights !!”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff and food at this place are second to none!! But I'm afraid that is where it ends. Our room was small and tired with a very uncomfortable bed, a headboard that was just resting behind it and a bathroom sink plug that needed a degree in "howdothiswork" for it to function, however its well situated for a ten minute walk to the centre of Bath, which includes a pleasant walk through the park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryanres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a great stay here! The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a superior room which was tastefully and luxuriously decorated and made our stay that bit more special. Breakfast was a highlight, the food was freshly cooked to order so very warm and there was a really lovely menu to choose from with your own requests taken. A good location to explore the city from as close enough to walk to the main attractions. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Superior room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel is a 10min walk from town, Beds were very comfy and staff very nice, cannot complain about the rooms, clean and new bathrooms.
Can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't eat here, but close to town for dinner etc

We stayed here as we was heading to the thermo spa, which was only a 10-15min simple walk, ideal for this.

Would return to the hotel, great price, clean and ideal

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a king room, after an enjoyable stay at the Bristol guesthouse. Our room was comfortable and stylish and the breakfast was excellent. If you don't want or need all the frills of a hotel then Brooks is a great choice and excellent value. It's certainly much better than the similarly priced (or more expensive) budget chain hotels.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for one night and as we arrived late the manager arranged for our keys to be easily picked up from a safe place. The outside of the place is typically 'bath' and inviting. Inside the place is painted different shades of purple and lit with dark glass chandeliers...make of that what you will.. some like it perhaps..?!
The room was clean and the bathroom modern and tastefully done.
I gave this an 'average' score because of the sleep quality. If you sleep light take ear plugs or ask for a room that does not face onto the road. We were on the first floor, our room had a beautiful high ceiling but as with old buildings they had creaky floor boards and we were just unlucky the people in the room above us came in a lot later; I was awake for an hour while they pottered about.
Breakfast was great, eggs Benedict made up for the slightly broken sleep and the courteous staff could not have done more for us.
Recommended as long as you have a north facing room.

Room Tip: Room on the north side/ one that does not face the road is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in Brooks Guesthouse having been impressed by their website. Aside from slightly iffy parking (you need to use the pay & display round the back of the guesthouse), it's very well kept from the outside and inside. The room was nicely appointed and all set out for us (family of 3). Some reviews have complained about the "plastic chair" - it's actually a very well known design piece and works fine with the room. There are some nice little details and the bathroom we had was well appointed. Breakfast offered lots of choice and the waitresses were attentive. The lounge is beautifully laid out and checking in/out, even late at night, was easy. Would be keen to check out Edinburgh and revisit this guesthouse. A very pleasant one-night stay.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LittleAygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Last year we stayed in the Brooks Hotel in Edinburgh and really enjoyed the experience, consequently we made a conscious decision to stay at their Guesthouse in Bath...we were not disappointed. Although quite a different set up, there was the same quite distinctive brand and feel to the place. Both hotels are extremely welcoming and friendly...communal sitting rooms, access to a fridge and fresh milk, honesty bar and well equipped and quirky rooms. In both hotels the bathrooms were excellent with high quality fittings and excellent showers.... we also appreciate the high spec linen.
Parking in Bath is always a problem but the advance information provided ensured that we knew what to do and where to go....we were able to use a permit in the road near by but the Charlotte Street car park is very close should you not be as lucky as we were.
We really enjoyed our short stay and, as in Edinburgh, could not fault the warmth of our welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReddersA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#12 of 155 in Bath
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 155 in Bath
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £74 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing