We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay! ”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed here for 2nights from the 26th-28th July for a girly weekend!
We arrived early and was able to obtain a parking permit early where you can park on the street next to the guesthouse for £8 per night.
The check-in was quick and simple and our room although small was very nice, comfy and clean, just what we wanted.
Brooks guesthouse is in a great location just a short walk to the centre and right near the circus and the royal crescent.

Overall a nice stay and would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kayleigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Brooks. Comfortable room and conveniently close to Bath city centre. Be prepared to spend a fewminutes searching for on street parking nearby.
Rooms and public areas generally clean and tidy, but some refreshing of paintwork and mending of flooring would improve the overall appearance.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room number 2 quiet and not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

thank you for your review and lovely comments glad you enjoyed your stay . Generally we get painting every January - February as part of a big clean and refresh sorry we can't do it in August but we are too busy with guests , thank you again for staying hope to see you in Brooks Bath Bristol or Edinburgh agani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very welcoming staff! Only draw back was the noise from cars etc outside. Request room at the rear and there will be no issue. Enjoyed stay, would recommend and return if we ever visit bath in the future. Didn't have breakfast and the honesty bar is always topped up.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank jw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A group of three ladies visiting bath to celebrate one of us having her 30th birthday. Brooks guesthouse was perfect and excellent value. I sent ahead asking for a bottle of prosecco to be placed in the room for checkin and this was done. Parking was not an issue as we parked in the adjacent road and had a parking voucher from hotel reception at 11.30 in the morning. The receptionist was also willing to give us the room keys at that time.
We then had a five minute walk into the city centre to the Thermae Spa which is a MUST do if you visit Bath. Rooftop hot springs pool looking over Bath, steam rooms, indoor pool and treatments Bliss! The Roman baths and Jane Austin museum all a short walk from Brooks. The shops in Bath fantastic as always, large high street chains and also small independent shops. The riverside is also a must, boat trips are fun and lovely quaint places to eat all over Bath, you must have a Ben's cookie mmm.
Brooks Guesthouse has an honesty Bar which is very unusual and trusting these days, everything there. A nice relaxing lounge to sit in with comfy chairs you can sink into. The bedroom was small but just right and the bathroom clean, the bed was really comfy and the duvet covers luxurious. Breakfast is a MUST, a Devine homemade muesli, and jams, fruit and English Breakfast. There is a specials board too. But I highly recommend the Eggs Benedict it was amazing.

The hotel was extremely busy in the morning but the receptionist still enquired as to if we were going shopping although we were checking out and allowed us to retain the parking permit until we left in the afternoon.
I cannot praise the staff enough, both receptionists and the breakfast staff could not do enough to help.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone, however there are quite a few steps up to the front door that may not suit anyone with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a king sized double room with a stone balcony looking over the front garden and Main Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased we had chosen Brooks. As the- very large and spacious - room was on the front it was a little noisy but nothing that really bothered us. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well fitted and stocked.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the location couldn't really be better as its only 5 minutes scuttle from the theatre ( we had sat down for a bit and woke up when we supposed to be having a meal ! ). The Honesty bar is a very nice touch, as is the fridge in which guests can keep any purchases such as milk.
The breakfasts are wonderful; my husband loved the Eggs Benedict and I found the cereal, fruit and yoghurt exactly what I wanted on the day we decided not to indulge in the Full English.
We would visit again.

Room Tip: Our room was the biggest but I suspect the smaller ones on the back may have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pigling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

On a busy road but rooms are quiet. Parking permit for residents' parking on street costs £8. Extremely helpful and courteous staff. Excellent breakfast (extra). Very comfortable bed in good sized room. Fan provided as it was very hot day/night when we visited. Overall we enjoyed our 1 night stay.

Room Tip: Room at ther back would be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

10 min amble from Charlotte Square. Good quality mattress and linens, excellent shower, very clean. Starting to show signs of wear but altogether very good standard. The staff are from overseas but all have good english, are very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclimecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 155 in Bath
823 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Bath
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
393 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing