We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique b and b with excellent service and yummy breakfast”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This is a beautiful b and b in a perfect location. You can walk to the centre of Bath in ten minutes and the staff are wonderful. The breakfast was lovely in a bright airy dining room with friendly staff.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and although I understand the refurbishment isn't 100% complete - it has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere with beautiful designer rooms and communal areas.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenN_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

Just returned from a weekend in Bath with a group of friends. The Brooks Guesthouse was lovely. Highlights are the service - both at the front desk and at breakfast. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A short walk into town and right by the Royal Crescent.
The bedrooms have been recently renovated and they are half way through doing the bathrooms. The room I stayed in hadn't been done yet but I saw the completed bathrooms and they looked great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nl_sLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The guesthouse is in a great location for getting in and out of Bath, and offers parking nearby (small charge though). We had the Superior King Size room (14) which was great and nicely decorated but the bathroom was bad and in desperate need of an update (we did find out when we checked out that it was the next one to be renovated). The guest lounge was a nice touch and the dining room was nice and modern. The breakfast was nice and offered lots of choice. They did offer wi-fi but we couldn't get it in our room so I had to sit on the stairs or go down to the lounge. The website stated that each room has a DVD Player ours didn't. The cleaning in the room wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gav875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We arrived around 5pm to a closed residence but rang the number on the door. Apparently our confirmed reservation was not entered into the system, and they had decided to close the place for the Christmas period. A very helpful man (I think his name was Paul?) assisted us and opened the place just for us. We had a great suite with adjoining room for th kids. Beautifully decorated and good spacious rooms. Lovely toiletries also. Breakfast was cooked to order and he was a very friendly and helpful man. Recommendation to eat at the pub up the hill was spot on also. Great location and walking distance to The Crescent. Internet available on site.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

My wife and I had a fantastic time in Brooks Guesthouse. We'd actually been there a year before and we couldn't believe the transformation that had occured. The guesthouse has become a really cool boutique hotel, straight out of a glossy magazine, but the atomosphere is still as relaxed and friendly as ever. Each morning we started the day with a wholesome English breakfast before going out to explore Bath. The staff were great too, giving us some top tips about good walks and a couple of nice pubs nearby. Finally, our bedroom was very cute and really quiet, which was great as we were looking for the weekend to be a real relaxing getaway. This is a top spot for Bath.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooregerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

The guest house is on a busy main road, and therefore any rooms at the front of the house are very noisy all through the night. The superior room we stayed in was unfortunately at the front of the house, and I found it very difficult to sleep.
For a superior room it was very disappointing. The wardrobe door stuck and required a lot of force to open, there was bare underlay (and even carpet rods with the nails showing) in a couple of areas, and the shower head kept falling down and would not stay in one position. Bathroom was very basic.
The king size bed in the room continually separated into two halves, so it was either not connected together or was just two smaller beds pushed together.
There was a good range of options for breakfast, but the food was average and the portions small. The home-made granola was the best choice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch991520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

A really friendly run family guesthouse but more like boutique hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, we were given a cot and highchair for our baby without having to ask. The building is a typically impressive Bath building with lovely landscaped front garden with a modern interior that is decorated in trendy yet relaxed style, our bedroom was recently reburbished to a very high standard with trendy wallpaper, plasma screen tv and luxurious and spacious modern bathroom. We left the car in parking bay behind hotel for the weekend as we were a few minutes stroll from the famous Royal Cresent. I'd recommend this guesthouse for families but probably better as a romatic city break. I'd definitely stay here again as it is excellent value for money given the high standard of decor and service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandemanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
7.1 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 34 in Bath
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#35 of 157 in Bath
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#12 of 157 in Bath
1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 157 in Bath
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £59 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing