We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not fault the place”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Firstly lets get things straight.... Brooks is not a Hotel. What it is is a high end guesthouse so if you want the extra trims of a chain hotel don't bother. So let me tell you Brooks is..... Brooks is very comfortable, very affordable and very practical place to stay whilst you enjoy beautiful Bath. You are a 10mins stroll from the center but if you walk back on yourself you can walk through the Royal Victoria Park and take in the Royal crescent, the Circus and many small shops as you make your way into town.
Our room, towards the back of the house, was small (ish) but plenty big enough for our purposes. The bathroom was once again small but clean and functional. Breakfast was cooked to order and hit the right spot, though my wife thought the continental side of things could have been a little better. The people who own the place are nice folk who want to make you stay a good one, we liked Bath so much we'll be back and we liked Brooks so much we'll be back there too

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed in a family room which was large and very clean. No problem fitting 4 adults and luggage. Staff was friendly and helpful (even helped carry our luggage), breakfast was made from fresh ingredients and was delicious, guest lounge, laptop with wifi, and honesty bar were a nice bonus. Short walk to all the major sites. Overall an amazing and comfortable stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Stayed here because it had a very good review on Trip Advisor and my daughter and i wanted to explore Bath. We were not dissapointed! Brooks was lovely, Great, friendly service. Lovely room, great decor throughout the guesthouse. Good breakfasts - were pleased because, being vegetarians, we were well catered for. Ideal location for a stroll into Bath City centre and just over the road from Brooks is a bus stop with buses running every twelve minutes to take you to Bristol City centre-well worth a trip, especially if you enjoy shopping! All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable trip made so much better having a great place to stay-would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentBagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at this guesthouse on Sunday 13th September. I did not find the staff friendly in fact they were almost disinterested. Although the room was nice it was unfinished. Breakfast was mediocre and again the staff were not that friendly,

I gave this a lot of thought and have come to the conclusion that what is missing from this guest house is attention to detail and more importantly a personal touch from the owners.

It is walking distance to all the attractions so if you're not too bothered about friendliness, attention to detail then it is an ok stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Its one of the closest places to stay to the town centre.
The decor is very nice and we stayed in the superior king size room which was perfect! The room is very large, the bed was sooo huge and comfy.
The only problem i found that it was noisy with guests coming back late or going to breakfast early. I could sometimes hear people talking in other rooms. But it is an old building so it is expected a bit.
My partners sausage wasnt cooked, it was still pink inside! Apart from that breakfast was okay.
There is a fridge in the breakfast room for guests to use and a lounge.
I really liked it there and i didnt want to leave.

BTW i do recommend trying Jamie Olivers Italian resturant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I stayed for 3 nights with two friends and would definitely go back again. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and provided us with a map of the area and showed us where all the tourist attractions were situated. We were also provided with a parking permit which, although we were charged for, worked out a lot cheaper than the car park around the corner. Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals or cooked breakfasts (eg smoked salmon and scrambled egg, omlettes, full english). Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and had tea/coffee making facilities in them which were re-stocked each day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0lidayl0ver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We spent one night here in a family room. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom modern, everything clean and smart. The excellent breakfast included fresh fruit and was in a bright, pleasant room. Short walk to the center of Bath, and the guest house provided us with a permit for free street parking. The only minus was the room's location in front of the house overlooking a busy road, but when it cooled down we shut the windows and slept just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 159 in Bath
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#19 of 159 in Bath
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#37 of 159 in Bath
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 159 in Bath
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £74 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing