We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location would visit again”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location would visit again”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Just visited 04th Dec for 2 nights for Christmas Market. The bed and breakfast was as we expected from looking at the internet through trip advisor and also own website. It was about 10 mins walk into the centre, which was fine and a taxi cost just under four pounds. The property itself was fairly B and B standard, but the lounge and honesty bar an added bonus. Our room (8) was what I expected, and had space to it, well sized and fully working bathroom/shower facilities. My cousins room next door, (room 9), was a lot smaller, and the bathroom was tiny. We paid the same price for both rooms. We realise they were both standard rooms but they should have matched in size and space, even if layout / room plan varied. It seemed unfair that we had a much better room than they did, when paying same rate. If the rooms were rate allocated, it would be a fairer system and you would get what you were paying for, literally. That being said, both rooms were furnished nicely, apart from a full length mirror and hooks being absent, we really would not have anything negative to say. The breakfast room was lovely, food was of a good standard, quick service, and very polite attentive staff. We very much enjoyed our stay in bath and would stay again at this hotel, but would be careful on what room we booked. The car parking system was handy too. Thank you to all at The Brooks.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    313
    95
    38
    15
See reviews for
195
522
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Had relaxing time at Brooks Guesthouse following busy day Christmas shopping and visiting relations based in Bath. We loved the decor and style of the guesthouse, a good mix of period features with contemporary finishes and power showers!
The guest house is very well positioned just a short walk into Bath centre. The staff were very helpful and reccomended good value restaurants in the area. We have a 9 month old baby and have to say the atmosphere at the guesthouse was very child friendly and room was equipped with cot and high chair for breakfast.Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will be back againto Brooks Bath next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pod32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Just spent a couple of days here to visit Bath and Christmas Market,
Slightly dissapointed with the room at first as the WOW factor not as good as expected(after looking at the images on the hotel website)
. The bed was extremely comfortable with very nice high quality bedding. Nice en suite bathroom with nice thick large towels. The shower was fine on the first day but on the second was a bit hit and miss. The staff were very helpful and friendly ,but the Chef was very grumpy looking ...you could watch him "assemble"" your breakfast through the glass window ..a little off putting. Not an award winning breakfast in our opinion, overcooked eggs ,strange tasting sausage, tough thick bacon and hard tomato. One of our party had egg and soldiers but the egg was hard boiled!! The coffee was nice and plenty of toast supplied ..when asked for it.
Christmas Market lacked atmosphere, we have been to a lot better.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyoldgits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We stayed at the Brooke for 2 nights in a standard double room which was considerably smaller than we expected. The room was small and cluttered with furniture leaving very little space to move around. Being an attic room the bed was placed under the sloping roof which meant that if you occupied the left hand side of the bed you had to bend double to get in or out or bang your head on the ceiling, as I did on more than one occasion.
The bathroom was ridiculously small, I have seen larger bathrooms in a train carriage. The bathroom was the width of the shower tray.
With the toilet placed approximately 20cm’s from the sink base unit it was impossible to sit on the toilet without your knee being pressed hard against the unit and the seat slipping uncomfortably sideways off of the toilet.
A previous reviewer mentioned how disappointed he was with the breakfast. As I prefer continental style breakfasts, which was not available, over the transport café fry-ups I would have to agree. In an attempt to avoid oil and grease we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon but unfortunately the chef salted the eggs then added the salmon, making it so caustic it was inedible.
On the plus side there was free internet access and the room was clean and bed very comfortable, however with a main road running just below the window it was rather noisy.
I would say that this is an average guest house but definitely not “boutique” as stated on their website.
When we raised the issue of the small room and facilities with the receptionist instead of an apology we received a lecture on what good value the room was. A pointless argument as even if the room was half the price it would not have made the bathroom any more usable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2009

stayed at brooks while doing xmas shopping with my sister we had room 22 nice big room lovely decor and big telly
loved the breakfast and the baileys after we came back at night

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisteractDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at Brook's Guesthouse during the last weekend in November to visit the Christmas Market and explore Bath. As we visited when the market was on this was classed as peak season (as with all accomodation in Bath) so we paid £140 per night for a king size double room. Our room was small, cramped, basic and plain and did not even slightly resemble the pictures on Brooks website. This would not have been a problem if we had paid a reflective price, but £140 for basic accomodation with barely enough room to walk around the bed is too much.

The main problem however was not the room, but the shower, it took +15 minutes to run warm. This was not a one off, it happended on both days to both our and our friends room and both in the morning and the evenning (we tried both). After 15 minutes it turned luke warm and then scorching hot and took another 5 minutes to reach a manageable temperature, all in all 20 minutes waiting and a vast amount of wasted water. The second day we timed how long it took to run warm, it was exactly the same, 15 minutes. If only we could have called reception for assistance, but there was no phone in the room! There was no bath, so no alternative. This was annoying, time consuming and disappointing for an award winning 4 start guesthouse.

When picking where to stay in Bath, the breakfast reviews for Brooks was our deciding factor, so we were excited when breakfast time arrived. The menu wasn't huge but was varied, and the dining room was nice. Breakfast however was just very basic and plain. I ordered boiled egg and soldiers and got exactly that, no wow factor. I got 2 boiled eggs (one in an egg cup, the other just rolling around on the plate) and 4 small, cold soldiers. To add to that both eggs were hard boiled. My partner ordered mushroom omelette and got a plain omelette with a pile of tined mushrooms on top (not cooked with the omelette and certainly not fresh mushrooms). Breakfast was disappointing and most certainly not worthy of the awards.

There were positive points to the guesthouse; they were very accommodating for our late check in and both arrival and departure were smooth and easy. The communal lounge is comfortable and charming and has internet access and board games for all to use. The location is perfect and there is a lovely pub just along from Brooks, The Hop Pole which we recommend. Bath is glorious, so very pretty, quaint, friendly and charming! The guesthouse on the other hand, although comfortable and accommodating, was expensive and disappointing. Overall we had a fantastic time in Bath and will certainly be returning, unfortunately not to Brooks Guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizard2172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

I've just enjoyed the warmth and ease of a night's stay in Brooks in Bath.
I can't say anything about price versus comfort: I wasn't paying and
didn't look for the tarriff. You'll have to decide about that, but let
me say that the atmosphere of this hip B+B just 10 mins walk from the
station was comfortable and kindly, cool but warm.
Breakfast was tasty and attractive: granola, fresh plums, deliciously
moist scrambled egg with rightfully smoky salmon.
There was a good choice of stimulating reading matter on the reclining
room table; my small-but-cool single room cleverly used its bijou
space, the doorless shower room with nice'n'heavy water flow;a warm
and cosy bed; nice lighting and interesting and authentic contemporary
Bath art on the walls.
Put this joint in your Contacts book and visit it when you're in Bath.
I will be doing the same.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokwoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#56 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Property: Brooks Guesthouse
Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing