We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, convenient and friendly”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 double rooms upstairs but on arrival we changed to the reception floor level rooms the one of which is much bigger than the other, but both beautiful and less stairs.
The owners were very extremely helpful and friendly and genuinely keen on making sure that we enjoyed our stay. Parking simple with permit and close enough to walk everywhere.
My only possible "criticism" is that the door of the large grand room opened in front of washbasin so a screen is provided. It works but not as elegant a solution as it might be.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArloLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in early December and can offer nothing but praise for this establishment and it's owners, it is everything a top class B&B should be.
It is situated 2 minute walk from Poultenay Bridge and less then 5 minutes from the Abbey so location is superb, car parking can be a problem ( particularly if you arrive on Free parking Sunday like we did) but we were provided with a permit and ended up about 100 yards away.
The B&B itself is maintained to a very standard of decor which is also reflected in the service and the small touches ( free bottled water, Molton Brown toiletries, free newspaper delivered to your door), the owners clearly operate to high standards.
The rooms are comfortable, well maintained, very clean & importantly for us, quiet. Plently of choices exist at Breakfast too, with plenty of options regarding cooked, porridge, smoked salmon as well as numerous different types of Coffee, fantastic choice considering the size of the establishment.
The only warning I would give is that 3 rooms exist on the top floor ( we were in Room 7), which is quite a hike up 6 flights of stairs, not easy for the less mobile, having said that, the professionalism & integrity of the owners comes to the fore as they warned us about this when we booked.
All in all, probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have just arrived back from a two night weekend break at the Kennard hotel. When we arrived we were welcomed by mary the owner, she is a lovely lady, she took or luggage up to the room, and gave us a parking permit to park outside the Hotel, we had to park a short walk as there wasnt any spaces near the Hotel, but that was fine as everything is within walking distance to the centre of Bath, so we didnt need to move our carwhilst we were there.
The HOTEL WAS LOVELY nicely decorated and our room was the triple room on the second floor, it was beautiful decorated and clean with a lovely en suit. the bed was all white bedding, spotless. with tea and coffee facilities and all you needed for a short stay.
The owners were very helpful, they asked if we needed any advise on restaurants in Bath, and gave us some good tips. They cook the Breakfasts themselves, we have never had such a lovely Breakfast anywhere as nice as theirs. All the food was local fresh produce, that they buy from a local farm with freerange eggs, and the sausages were delicious. There was a range of
fresh coffee, you can choose from yum yum. Totally reccomend if you love good food.
The Hotel is just a short walk from everything, Bath is wonderful, with lots of history and worth a visit, we visit Bath every dec time when there Christmas Market is on, its very busy but very christmasy. A nice treat before christmas, not cheap tho it can work out quite expensive. So be prepared to spend. Thank you both to the owners of the Kennard, we enjoyed our stay and would definatly return to your Hotel xx

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be a little noisy, if people walk back to their hotels late at night. a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We have just come back from a 2 day stay at the Kennard Hotel. We have had a lovely time - the staff were helpful, the breakfast was yummy and the room was like stepping back in time - but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. We love the fact it is so close to the centre of town too. It's a pity about the lack of parking but that's a payoff for being located so near the centre I suppose... and the internet in the rooms was a little wonky... but otherwise no complaints! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Those who have never been to Bath before can't do any better than staying here. You will find the Kennard in a fantastic location for all you want to do and for what Bath has to offer.

The Hotel is very comfortable and quiet with quality rooms.

The hosts are very professional and hospitable and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The parking permit is just great in what is a very busy City, plus we were even offered it for a few hours after we had checked out which was very nice as street parking charges are steep!

The breakfasts are served in a lovely room and source local ingredients and produce. Very, very tasty and ample. The garden as well must be lovely to sit in, but still looked good even in the bad weather.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone plus I can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for parking permit when booking if travelling by car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We can only reinforce the positive things already written by others. Yes, parking can be a problem. We do not recognise the owners described by one reviewer as "not particularly friendly in the morning" - we found them warm and friendly (but not overbearingly so) at all times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odin-of-Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviews, the good and the few not so good points. Overall a very nice and comfortable stay and beautifully decorated and furnished hotel and bedroom. Mind the stairs - quite a trek as breakfast is in the basement and the rooms start on the first floor. We must be one of the few who had a job finding the place - mind you it was dark and the bridge nearby is cunningly disguised as a street so you don't know you are going over the river. Finding a parking space wasn't that easy. Breakfast very nice except the potato cake, which wasn't fully cooked. Good choice of buffet and cooked breakfast. Excellent location, only 5-10 mins walk to Abbey and baths yet in a quiet area. Overall would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,459 reviews
0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#12 of 155 in Bath
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kennard is a Boutique Bed & Breakfast, on Henrietta Street, in the centre of Bath. It was built in 1794, the golden age of Bath's Georgian elegance. The Kennard offers twelve recently re-furbished and individually decorated rooms over five floors. Most of Bath's iconic tourist attractions - The Roman Baths, The Bath Abbey, The Bath Thermae Spa are all a short walk away. Within walking distance are also some of the best restaurants and shopping venues Bath has to offer. We hope you will visit us and enjoy the experience of staying in one of Bath's original Georgian townhouses with service and accommodation that truly reflects this beautiful city’s social history and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing