We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Kennard”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staying at the Kennard”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

An excellent place to stay whilst visiting this outstanding city. This family-run establishment offers warm and comfortable accomodation. The room we stayed in was impeccably kept and serviced, furthermore the breakfast was delicious. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. The location of the Kennard couldn't be any better, situated as it is just off Great Pulteney Street and the River Avon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    113
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
141
562
95
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcs, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We spent just one night here at the beginning of December while the Bath Christmas market was on. The stay was a gift from our son who chose the Kennard after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We found it to be excellent, it was only a few minutes walk across the bridge to the centre of Bath. The building was lovely and our room delightful, we were just across the hall from the breakfast room. Fortunately we had no problems finding a parking space very quickly and close by and we had no need to use the car once we were there. There was a good choice at breakfast of locally produced food and also a selection of different tea and coffee blends to try. We would certainly choose to stay at the Kennard if we were returning to Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the lower floors if you don't like stairs. The hotel is tall and narro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjill_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed for one night with friends on the 9th December. Nice hotel - very traditional interior - I would especially recommend to overseas visitors who would like to experience the traditional 'English' style. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, quiet location (esp as so close to the City centre), well equipped shower rooms. Good breakfast choice, quality and service. Only downside was that the two attic rooms we stayed in were a little on the small side - and as a couple of other reviewers have mentioned - there were lots of stairs which might be an issue for some people. If you are not good with five flights best to ask for a ground or first floor room. Parking was an issue - despite the owners being very helpful and giving us a parking permit - we had to drive around for 20 minutes before we could find a space - but this may have been down to the time of year - Bath is exceptionally busy near Christmas. This hotel is located just off the bridge - and you can be in the centre of the City within a couple of minutes - which is excellent.

Room Tip: As mentioned above - suggest a lower floor room if you have issues with lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here for one night on the last weekend of the Bath Christmas market. It was our first trio to Bath and we were recommended the Kennard due to the quality of the accommodation and location. The hotel is housed in a beautiful building a couple of streets away from the centre of Bath which was just ideal. The hotel gave us a parking permit so we could easily park on the same street as the hotel, we didn't need the car the whole weekend as everything was in walking distance. The rooms feel cosy and sumptuous, and the bed was very comfortable with a shower room which was clean and had a nice touch of Molton Brown products. We found the price of the hotel to be really good value in terms of the quality of the accommodation and the central location compared to many other hotels we looked at. The breakfast was served in the gorgeous breakfast room and was delicious and a great start to the day. There was a good variety of choice available including English breakfast, smoked salmon & eggs, omelette as well as juices, pastries, fruit, yogurts and cereals and an impressive choice of fresh teas and coffees. The owners Mary and Giovanni were very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely consider here for our next trip to Bath.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties then I would suggest requesting a room on a lower floor as there we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

So pleased I found this place. A small private hotel with very professional owners. A real treat from the moment I entered through the front door. Very attentive and caring reception and the room was exceptional with top quality furnishings, a great bed and superb shower etc. The breakfast was one of the best I've had for many years.

I stay at quite a few hotels and this rates amongst the best of the small ones I've used. I will always try here first when I next stay in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here recently for the Xmas market, our 3rd stay in as many years, and we we're welcomed back like old friends. A great B&B, but more like a hotel. Our room was very comfortable, and well appointed, with sumptuous furnishings. You feel like your stepping back in time, within the walls of the lovely Georgian building. A very hearty breakfast too. Fantastic location as close to the city of Bath as you can be. I would highly recommend this B&B to other members, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 double rooms upstairs but on arrival we changed to the reception floor level rooms the one of which is much bigger than the other, but both beautiful and less stairs.
The owners were very extremely helpful and friendly and genuinely keen on making sure that we enjoyed our stay. Parking simple with permit and close enough to walk everywhere.
My only possible "criticism" is that the door of the large grand room opened in front of washbasin so a screen is provided. It works but not as elegant a solution as it might be.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArloLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing