We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent town-house hotel”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #12 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Magnificent town-house hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Charming, beautiful, exceedingly clean with excellent service throughout. We were upgraded to a superior room with no additional cost. Friendly and warm welcome from the owner (?). The breakfast he made on the following morning was the best full English we've had.

  • Liked — Breakfast and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ofHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    114
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
141
563
96
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it was better than expected given the excellent location. We had a very pleasant 2 night stay. The room had a quality, busy feel, clean... but avoid the top floor unless you are fit and well - lots of stairs after the breakfast! The hotel is within minutes walk of the City centre and parking (street permit included in room charge) is as good as it get in central Bath. NB there is space outside the hotel to load/unload so no real problem unless you plan to be in and out of the car a lot. The owners were efficient, friendly, helpful and welcoming. Plentiful breakfast with lots of choice (different teas / coffee's etc) adding to the overall experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor good - but not to my personal taste
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast of Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2008

After a long flight from Michigan and a failed attempt at driving in London, the Kennard Hotel was the perfect solace for our stressed minds and bodies. We were warmly welcomed and assisted with our bags to our charming room. The entire hotel was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The mattresses on the beds (we had a twin room) were very comfortable, and the room looked out on the lovely garden.
Mary and Giovanni were both very friendly and made us feel welcome. They were eager to help us with any of our travel needs and had good suggestions on how to make the most of our stay in Bath.
The breakfast was absolutely perfect! There was something for everyone. A very generous and hearty English breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and/or fruit, cereal, croissants, juice and coffee or tea served in the very elegant dining room. They were more than happy to take special orders on how we wanted our breakfast prepared. All the ingredents were of the highest quality.
We enjoyed our visit so much that our two night stay turned into a five night stay and when we visit Bath again, we know exactly were we will stay. It felt like home!

  • Liked — friendliness, cleanliness, walking distance to everything but on a quiet street
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buttonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor. My wife and daughter stayed for 3 nights. They had a very pleasant stay in the Kennard Hotel The rooms are well appointed and clean. The hotel is within minutes of the Centre. The owners were most welcoming and helpful. Plentiful breakfast with fresh fruit. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in the Kennard Hotel ,Bath. It is a beautifully appointed hotel with graciously decorated bedrooms and a delightful courtyard garden within minutes of Bath's major tourist and shopping attractions. The owners could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. An undoubted highlight was the sumptuous breakfast. served in a beautifully decorated Regency dining room, fresh ingredients are sourced and bought locally for this.

A relaxing and enjoyable hotel. We will return!

  • Liked — Beautifully presented rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BWalkerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I found The Kennard on trip advisor having found mixed reviews on all the other Bath hotels in our budget. We originally were due to visit in March but had to cancel last minute due to a bereavement, Mary, the owner was very understanding and we had our cancellation fee waived and we re book for May.

We arrived at the hotel and found it very easily. The location is amazing, it is less than a minute to walk to Great Pulteney Bridge and from there all the other sites in Bath.

The interior of the hotel is outstanding, a lovely period house decorated very well with beautiful old portraits hanging on the wall.

Our room 'The Brown Room' was also wonderful, decorated in shades of brown with a flat screen wall mounted TV (with some Sky Channels) Lovely furniture and Molton Brown shampoo, shower gel, hand wash etc as standard in the bathroom, good shower too.

The breakfast is in the old kitchen (again richly decorated) the service you receive here is first class and the food is wonderful and also locally sourced from a nearby farm.

For a £20 returnable deposit you also get a parking permit (which is required Bath is very busy) which the owner let us keep for 2 hours after we checked out.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the lovely city of Bath.

Also try Clarke’s restaurant (round the corner) bit pricey but food to die for!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellyBoro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We are from Mumbai, India and visited Bath for 3 days in the end of April 08. We booked ourselves at "Kennard" based on traveller reviews as well as the hotel's website. We were not dissapointed! Infact, we have only good things to say about the hotel. Firstly the location is the best. It's only a couple of minutes from the centre of town. There are very fine restaurants and shopping within a few minutes walk. Our hosts and owners of the property were extremely courteous throughout and they gave us some good suggestions to enhance our stay further. The room we had was a decent size, and very tastefully decorated. The breakfast was excellent, and they use only local produce/ products. This is served with excellent coffees and teas in the elegant dining room.

  • Liked — Service, Location, Breakfast, Rooms
  • Disliked — weak shower
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilafis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing