We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a break”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in August and were given Room 1 (The Brown Room). We were met at the door on arrival and our cases were taken to our room, which we appreciated after a long journey. The room was perfect, had everything we needed, including a floor fan, as the weather was quite warm. We had a view over the pretty garden and although the room wasn't huge, the high ceiling and large sash window gave a feeling of light and space, making it a very comfortable room. The bathroom was a decent size, with everything we needed. The owners are very welcoming, offering local information if you need it, and happy to help with anything you need - but without being pushy or intrusive on your break. As mentioned by everyone, the breakfast was fantastic, and high quality, with attentive service again from the owners in the beautiful breakfast room. The Kennard is very central for exploring Bath, so we highly recommend this place for people travelling by train (as we did) who are looking for a conveniently placed B&B where you can walk everywhere. We visited Bath for our 10 year wedding anniversary, which the owners must have made a note of when we booked, as we returned to our room on our first night to find a chilled bottle of Prosecco, a little vase of flowers and a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Such a nice thought, which we really appreciated. Overall, this is a fantastic B&B, which we will return to, and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I'm sure all therooms here are a very high standard, it's a beautiful house that is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here, unfortunately, just 1 night, but the Kennard was simply perfect: excellent location, very clean, beautiful, "yummy" breakfast served in a very elegant room with the value of a 5 stars hotel, big triple room, very confortable beds and very nice garden, free parking outside.
But even better was the staff, thrt is to say the Baiano family; we had problems with the car rental during our stay and they were really helpful and nice to us.
Considering that Bath is a really nice town too, we really hope to come there again in the future and stay for more nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is our go-to place on our annual trips to the UK. Mary and Giovanni are amazing -- the time and effort they put in to making the Kennard a top B&B is evident all over the place. And the breakfast is perfection -- better than any 5-star hotel. No kidding. We recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wende S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location across the bridge from central Bath. Free parking and a really short walk to everything you need to see. Room was beautifully decorated, clean, and well-appointed. We were the first room right past the front desk, so I was skeptical at first it might be noisy, but it was very quiet. Having a fan was also very nice - those older buildings can be quite stuffy, but this was not the case. Breakfast was great (yay - espresso!). The owners are very nice and helpful. The room key had a discount card attached that saved us a few pounds here and there. Unexpected bonus. Would recommend this place and stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We only stayed one night and had a lovely time, the room was very clean (loved the Molton Brown toiletries), excellent location, free parking and amazing breakfast.

Only slight negative is that it is an old house, therefore floors creek, nothing can be done about that, but it is worth noting. However, don't let that put you off, a really warm welcome and excellent location (did I mention that??!!).

Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Mary & Giovanni were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble.Our room was lovely and comfortable,we wanted for nothing.The breakfast was outstanding,it set us up for the day.Also worth mentioning the beautiful gardens and the fact that we were in walking distance for everything.If ever we came back to Bath we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is one of those cases where you want to keep quiet for fear of never getting back in!

The Kennard is a townhouse hotel in a quiet Bath side street, but which is literally round the corner from the famous Pulteney Bridge - you could not be more central with shops, attractions and amenities a short walk away. There are more local restaurants than you could ever need as well, and the hotel happily provides recommendations. The building itself is striking, but the rooms are decorated in period style.

The rooms are lovely, comfortable, with big sash windows. They also have just about anything you could hope for. Far more than many luxury hotels I have stayed in. There is even mineral water, great for those of us who don't do tea or coffee.

No mention of breakfast so far. Well, I am going to say it is probably the best breakfast I have eaten anywhere. Yes, that good.

And don't miss the garden!

Room Tip: The two singles don't have en suite showers, but the shared one provided is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 155 in Bath
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £110 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing