We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Bath was a wonderful surprise. It´s a lovely, elegant, friendly town with plenty to see and do. This hotel had everything we look for in a small boutique hotel: wonderfully warm and helpful hosts, lovely furnishings, comfort and a beautiful breakfast. We parked the car in front of the hotel, were helped with our bags to our room, all the things we used to take for granted and that have become so very scarce! The beds were truly comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. I would definitely recommend the Kennard for a stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcabouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    114
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
147
566
97
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our stay was Sunday, August 11, 2013, and our room was #11 at the very top of this lovely hotel....what a view! We traveled with another couple and both our rooms were at this upper level. We were able to pull right up and park in front of the hotel. Our vehicle could remain there over night, but had to be moved before 8am to an area just down the street. No problem at all finding another parking spot at that time of the day. Our room was clean and comfortable...complete with a floor fan, which we didn't have to use. The bathroom was supplied with wonderful soap, shampoo and lotion that helped out, as we had only packed an overnight bag bringing few extras. Breakfast was amazing...simple, yet elegant with enough choices to make anyone happy. Would totally recommend this location for anyone traveling and staying in Bath!

Room Tip: If you have a hard time with stairs, you probably won't want one of the rooms on this upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our stay at The Kennard was superb! Not only were we surrounded by elegant furnishings, our hosts could not have been more warm and accommodating. At breakfast, when I asked about a particular item that my diet requires, our hosts were sorry that they did not have the item on hand. The very next day, what should appear but several choices that would fit the bill! The location was perfect -- we could walk out the front door (after the huge and divine breakfasts) and be right there in Bath. I would stay there again in a second, and highly recommend The Kennard to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in August and it was a perfect place to see the city. An easy walk to the centre of Bath. The room was luxurious, the breakfast had a good variety of choice and was beautifully served by our friendly hosts. Would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure your luggage is not too heavy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesM189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely hotel this week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Mary and Giovanni were thoughtful and gracious hosts, giving us many suggestions on where to eat and what to see in their beautiful city. We had a superior double room and it was very spacious and functional. Mirrors were well placed and lighting was good which is not always found. Their breakfasts were delicious and they even had it available a bit early on the day we had to leave before time to catch our tour. You will love their warm and friendly hospitality nd their lovely historic hotel. This is a real winner!!!

Room Tip: Superior doubles are spacious and well appointed, worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in August and were given Room 1 (The Brown Room). We were met at the door on arrival and our cases were taken to our room, which we appreciated after a long journey. The room was perfect, had everything we needed, including a floor fan, as the weather was quite warm. We had a view over the pretty garden and although the room wasn't huge, the high ceiling and large sash window gave a feeling of light and space, making it a very comfortable room. The bathroom was a decent size, with everything we needed. The owners are very welcoming, offering local information if you need it, and happy to help with anything you need - but without being pushy or intrusive on your break. As mentioned by everyone, the breakfast was fantastic, and high quality, with attentive service again from the owners in the beautiful breakfast room. The Kennard is very central for exploring Bath, so we highly recommend this place for people travelling by train (as we did) who are looking for a conveniently placed B&B where you can walk everywhere. We visited Bath for our 10 year wedding anniversary, which the owners must have made a note of when we booked, as we returned to our room on our first night to find a chilled bottle of Prosecco, a little vase of flowers and a note wishing us a happy anniversary. Such a nice thought, which we really appreciated. Overall, this is a fantastic B&B, which we will return to, and would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I'm sure all therooms here are a very high standard, it's a beautiful house that is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here, unfortunately, just 1 night, but the Kennard was simply perfect: excellent location, very clean, beautiful, "yummy" breakfast served in a very elegant room with the value of a 5 stars hotel, big triple room, very confortable beds and very nice garden, free parking outside.
But even better was the staff, thrt is to say the Baiano family; we had problems with the car rental during our stay and they were really helpful and nice to us.
Considering that Bath is a really nice town too, we really hope to come there again in the future and stay for more nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing