We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience EVER”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience EVER”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are looking for a charming, welcoming fabulous place to stay in Bath... you MUST stay here!!! I enjoyed every single thing about The Kennard. The owners were so friendly and extremely accommodating. Our rooms were just lovely. Each room is different and has something unique about it. This place had great showers and the water was actually hot unlike several places we stayed a few days before. They have a beautiful garden area where you can sit and relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. They even pick things out of the garden fresh for your breakfast... and ohhhhhh the breakfast. The absolute best thing about The Kennard was the full breakfast that they serve. BEST. BREAKFAST. OF. MY. LIFE!!!!!!! The owners personally cook it for you right on the spot and they serve you like kings and queens. You eat in one of the prettiest rooms I have ever seen in my life and there is amazing, homemade fresh food everywhere. They serve you individual french press coffees, they have homemade granola, amazing chutneys, and anything and everything you want. My husband and I went all over Europe for 11 days, and this was by far the most amazing meal experience we had. The Kennard is in a great location- walking distance from everything. If I ever go back to Bath, The Kennard will be the only place I stay. Thank you so much Giovanni and Mary!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lclosner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    114
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
566
97
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a small hotel but you feel like you are a personal guest - we learned later that our hostess was managing alone but normally had her husband to help her - so hats off to her for making it look so perfect.
The location is just perfect - walking distance to everything! The hostess also helps with suggestions on things to do and places to eat.
Breakfast is wonderful and again - so much personal attention that you really feel like a welcomed guest.
Yes there are stairs and it can be painful sometimes - but it is truly worth it and I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you can - try to ask for rooms on a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This beautiful and inviting Georgian town house has character and charm, which matches the hospitality and warmth of the owners, Giovanni and Mary. The freshly cooked English breakfast was prepared and served with attention to presentation and tastefulness in an elegant dining room that was refurbished from a traditional Georgian 18th century kitchen. There were plenty of choices, too, with fresh fruit available daily, eggs served as requested, choice of breads and rolls, cereals and porridge and freshly squeezed orange juice. If you prefer your tea or coffee prepared just to your liking, you will feel right at home at the Kennard.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, with plush towels and a wash cloth, as well as shampoo and body wash. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available in the room. Because the Kennard is so close to the centre, you can walk across the Pulteney Bridge and be in the heart of the activity within a few minutes. It took us less than five minutes to walk to the Abbey. Roman Baths, shopping and restaurants are also within easy walking distance.

If you have questions. Mary and Giovanni will make sure you have the information you need to plan your day. They have resources available as well, and so be sure to inquire. The Kennard has a beautiful English garden, which is an ideal setting to enjoy your tea or coffee. There are very small public indoor places for one to sit and relax and meet other guests, but for many travelers this is not a high priority. We highly recommend the Kennard and would make it our first choice for Bath.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at the Kennard while traveling in England. The hotel is in a beautiful location, just across the Pulteney Bridge from shopping, restaurants, the Abbey, and the Roman Baths. The hotel is run by wonderful people who made everything about our visit special. The Georgian townhouse is beautifully decorated and set the mood for our Bath experience. Our breakfast was served in the location of the original kitchen and was a delicious start to the day. I would highly recommend a stay in The Kennard Hotel when you visit Bath.

Room Tip: It's a townhouse, so if you don't like stairs, ask for a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Real gem of a hotel a very short walk from the centre. Was passing through on business and booked the day before. Decor fabulous and the breakfast was outrageously good. Residents permit for parking outside a real bonus. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is a real gem. Great location a stones throw away from all the sights of Bath. Lovely accommodation clean and comfy. Truly excellent breakfasts leaving you set up nicely for the day. Would highly recommend a visit to the Kennard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirstinV0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Kennard. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The proximity to beautiful Bath city centre is great..just a short walk away. The breakfast was yummy.. really tasty with French press coffee.. a great start to the day. The owners are friendly, with exceptional efficiency. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildaM255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing