We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“1st Class B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Another fab stay at this elegant and charming B+B. great service, ideal location and beautifully furnished. We are always welcomed back here like old friends. The breakfast is truly hearty too. Great location for exploring beautiful Bath. A true gem of a B+B. Mary & Giovanni are very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    108
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
137
547
91
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

A college reunion of five girls celebrating 45 years since meeting at Swansea
Used the Kennard as our base for enjoying the Christmas Markets, Retail therapy and good food
Accommodation was certainly of a four star hotle , and whilst no evening meal or bar there is ampe choice within easy walking distance.

Excellent breakfast with friendly management and service. Well worth revisiting

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We had visited this wonderful hotel last Christmas. It was our first visit to Bath and both really enjoyed it, what made it special was we stayed at a lovely place.
Well normally we would look to visit somewhere new but it was an easy choice to return.
The problem with returning somewhere with such good memories is you are unlikely to achieve the same results, well in a way that is true because this time it was even better!
Just book it you cannot go wrong, lovely clean rooms? Fabulous breakfast and run by a really nice couple.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank runningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is the third time I have stayed in this heavenly place. The accommodation is unique, the service is unbeatable and the breakfasts are not to be missed. Anything you require can be arranged by the wonderful hosts Mary and Giovanni. You simply have to come and stay yourself to understand what truly amazing experience staying at The Kennard is. You are missing out if you don't try it T least once. Bath is a great City, one I will never tire of. If you want a bit of escapism, then this is the place to be. Magnifico!

Room Tip: Make sure you try them all - they are unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I took a trip to Bath with my Mum to celebrate her 65th birthday. I found The Kennard Hotel & was delighted that it was so centrally located to the town as my Mum has a bad hip & struggles walking great distances. I contacted Mary & Giovanni prior to our arrival & explained it would be my Mums birthday while we were staying & they helped me to ensure my Mums birthday was a special & memorable one. The breakfast was amazing & so much choice of wonderful coffees & teas. Mary & Giovanni arranged for my Mum to have some handmade chocolates in our room along with a birthday card I had ordered for her. On Mums birthday after enjoying our breakfast Mary brought out a cake with candle & all accompanying guests joined in to sing Happy Birthday to Mum. Mary & Giovanni were wonderful. Kind, accomodating, helpful they couldn't do enough for us. The only negative was that to get to our twin room you had to climb two flights of stairs. My fault I should of called & asked for a ground floor room when booking. I would highly recommend this hotel. I love Bath have been a number of times. I look forward to returning again & staying at the Kennard with my husband.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I have just returned from two nights at this wonderful hotel. The owners Giovanni and Mary are very welcoming and their help and assistance was maintained during our stay, offering advice on where to eat for dinner and booking it for you together with advice on travelling about in Bath.
The decor of the hotel is excellent varying from traditional through to modern and we feel there is something to suit all tastes. We had a standard room at the top of the hotel, a bit of a climb if you are elderly but there are other rooms on lower floors available. Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs but again if you need a larger room these are available you just need to ask when you book. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, warm and with an en-suite bathroom with a shower etc. If you require a bath you should again ask when you book.
The breakfasts are not to be missed, an extensive choice from cereals, fresh fruit, juices etc., through to a full English breakfast which is wonderfully cooked from local produce. There is an extensive range of teas and coffees on offer at breakfast something you don't often get in much more expensive hotels.
The parking in Bath is a bit of a nightmare but again Giovanni and Mary are there to help as they provide a complimentary resident's parking permit and we had no problems in parking in the street almost outside the hotel.
The Hotel is situated just off Greta Pulteney Street and is very convenient for the town centre. This is a hotel not to be missed if you are staying in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hotel are a bit of a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfr_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Quite possibly the most perfect b&b I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was second to none. Free Wi-Fi access and a great location. Room made up perfectly with a great selection of teas :) the hosts were also very polite and very helpful

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing