We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, luxuries abound”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Good food, luxuries abound”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located and is an understated gem in a Georgian row house. My room on the ground floor had a shaving mirror (!) and a face cloth provided, a rarity in the UK- The decor of room 11 is fastidious with a nice blackout shade if you sleep late. The terrific shower and toilet are in a separate little area, with the sink fitted into a period cabinet. There is a good closet for hanging which also has shelves. An alarm is provided.
The hotel owners consisting of Giorgio and Mary do a strapping big breakfast from poridge to eggs in several forms; poached, scrambled or an omelet. There is fresh fruit, yogurt and cold cereal choices and many jam types for your toast as well as delicious array of coffees.
It's the atmosphere with all the artwork and the cleanliness that make of the backbone of this wonderful guest hotel. Copious information and maps are provided in the central entrance; there are umbrellas for the odd shower.
The bed was very comfortable and the linens smooth. Excellent room lighting, too.
Don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the ground floor, so one can avoid stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Den W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    112
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
141
555
93
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have tried a number of places to stay in Bath and this is without doubt the best so far. It is truly excellent and the owners couldn't be more helpful. The room was lovely and the breakfast first class. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanhacksaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in "The Red Room". It was very clean & tidy, bed was comfortable & shower was great! It's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with numerous choices of coffee & a locally sourced breakfast - kept us full up all day! Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Kennard is a luxurious guest house in a quiet area, just 5 minutes walk from the city centre and 10 mins walk from the train station. The room was very clean and finely decorated and the breakfast was amazing; it included fresh orange juice, full English and Intercontinental breakfast of high quality ingredients, fruit salad and cereals. Giovanni and Mary are very kind and discreet hosts, and very willing to help you. We would definitely recommend it and would go there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conchitados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a lovely base for a four night Easter break. The Kennard is in a great location incl. in easy reach of the station, key sights, riverside walk, shops and parks. Mary and Giovanni are charming, professional hosts. Very nice room and a tasty breakfast with a great selection of teas and hot dishes and signature fresh fruit salad and granola. Terrific,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in excellent location, not even a five minute walk from the Roman Baths and the centre of town. The owners are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is fabulous. If I ever return to Bath (which I would like to) I would definitely stay at the Kennard.

Room Tip: The back of the building is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieAnne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Kennard. The rooms were comfortable and the location was within easy walking distance of all of the sights of Bath. Mary and Giovanni were helpful and knowledgeable hosts who really went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. The full English breakfast was amazing. The coffee was individually prepared so that each person could have the perfect cup to start the morning. The breakfast was locally sourced and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend the Kennard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing