We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nor Cali
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was at the Kennard for four nights, in the tiny single with a shared bath. Its a beautiful property and though I was in a small room I had access to a lovely sitting area and the garden. The room itself was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. I never had any issues with the shared bath.

The owners were wonderful and helpful hosts. The breakfast was top of the line and I fell in love with their array of tea. (I want some of that Japanese Cherry tea!!!)

The hotel is located just steps away from the Pultney Bridge which puts the visitor right there where all the attractions are, yet the neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. I had such a lovely time I fully intend to return.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to book, then you can ask about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank logansama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    114
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
565
97
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is such a lovely B&B. The location was perfect, 3 minute walk into downtown Bath and the room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and had a fabulous view out the window. The breakfast was delicious and because we had to leave very early in the morning they packed us a very nice breakfast to take with us. The converted house was very, very old which we Americans just loved! Lot's of history.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Kennard two nights. What a fabulous place!! Everything -room, food, view, owners and staff were great! We stayed in room 4 with a lovely view of the garden. Very comfy. Would definitely stay here again -highly recommend !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely B&B in a superb location for central Bath. This is our second stay here and both times we have felt very welcome and pampered in the lovely elegant rooms. The Full English breakfast is a must! will go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I can already see the owners' defensive response (to be fair I would have given 3.5 but this was not an option). Pluses- good location, attention to detail (breakfast is served on fine china), single room is tiny but attempts to meet my needs except the minuses below. Minuses- lack of warmth from the owners which other reviewers have noted, single room badly needs aircon though there is a fan as it suffers from noise on the street (other B&B in street so late night revellers especially on Friday/sat), wall separating it from next room is only plasterboard n I could hear conversation next door, room does not have ensuite but that is why I "only" paid 68 pounds per night, not good value when international travellers compare this with hotels on the continent and in other English places like delightful Stratford (where I paid 50 pounds for a double and the host was full of warmth), the separate bathroom was infested with moths but I did not notice this elsewhere in Bath or England. To be fair, Mary did make a couple of recommendations (Pump Room for tea and The Circle for dinner) but unfortunately I did not enjoy both the places. Bath itself does not have much to offer apart from the Roman Bath and Royal Crescent but perhaps domestic visitors might delight in it (it cant compare with Cologne with its superb museums, shops and eateries not to mention the Dom). Bath does not work well as a base as the day trip to the Cotswold i was trying to get on was fully booked out (others with same idea trying to escape a historic and charmless city clinging to it's status as Britains second city in Georgian times?!). Regrettably I must say I prob would not return to Bath and therefore the Kennard.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryandGiovanni, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are personally offended by your review.
After all the information we provided for you on what to do, what to see, where to eat and where to enjoy yourself, and after all the time we spent chatting with you, reserving restaurants for you, and every evening discussing how your day had been, you have the nerve to say that we lack warmth? What were your expectations?
By the number of returning guests and the many favourable reviews you can see on this and other websites, we feel we are offering the kind of hospitality people are looking for and appreciating.
As for Bath, this World Heritage City needs no defenders of its beauties. Pity you did not like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we had a bad experience with another hotel in Bath, so we decided to try the Kennard, what a delight, the owners went out of the way to make us feel welcome, even lending me an iron and ironing board (thanks Mary) the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and may I add that the shower was the best I've ever used, I didn't want to get out of it!
the breakfast was very tasty, and we had a different one every day as there is such a good choice. Location wise, you couldn't be better positioned, really central for everything that you might want to do in Bath
Do yourself a favour, next time you need to stay in Bath, ook into this lovely hotel, Mary and Giovanni will look after you and I bet you'll go back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This darling B&B in Bath is visually stunning. Every room is beautiful to look at, but the breakfast room is magnificent. Giovanni and Mary are gracious hosts, even carrying our heavy suitcases to the third floor. They were extremely accommodating, anticipating our every need before we even knew what we needed. Our room was small, but very nice, elegantly decorated and super clean. Take some time to enjoy the stately garden courtyard, which has been restored to match the 18th century style. Breakfast, ah breakfast... How does a tiny B&B provide such a grand breakfast, made to order, classic English breakfast or five other choices, like omelets or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Five coffee choices served French press style. Yummy! Would love to stay here again and often.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.0 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 157 in Bath
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Property: The Kennard
Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing