We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place... And what a marvelous breakfast!”
Review of The Kennard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kennard
Ranked #11 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been traveling to Bath quite a lot in recent years, but this was our first (but not last stay) at the Kennard.

First, location. As location is everything, rest easy as the Kennard is ideally located on a quiet street (literally) only minutes away from central Bath. Absolutely perfect.

The Kennard is run by the lovely hosts Mary and Giovanni, who are very helpful and attentive in every way. It is very nicely furnished with plenty of charm and although the room was on the small side (we stayed in a standard double), it was spotless and very nicely decorated. Furthermore, the bathroom was absolutely lovely, with a generous shower and with complimentary amenities from the White Company.

But the real showstopper at the Kennard is the breakfast. I and my wife have been travelling extensively in UK and stayed at many different B&B’s throughout the years, but what we encountered at The Kennard is the best experience ever. Where to start? With the choice of tea and coffee! You are greeted by a menu where you can choose from seven or eight different leaf teas (forget about your bag of Twinings here!) and the same amount of different coffee beans. After that, enjoy a generous homemade fruit salad, with complimentary toast and various sorts of jams and marmalades. And on top of that, your normal “full English” cooked to perfection with local sourced ingredients. And to incorporate a mini review my wife; the seasoning of the mushrooms was stunning! My only “problem” is that I am now “hooked” on (the fabulous) Kwazulu tea, which I now must start to incorporate in my daily breakfast routine…

To top it off, The Kennard is reasonably priced in Bath, which tends to be a fairly expensive city to stay in. So, if you want a family styled B&B with plenty of charm and (not to forget) a fabulous breakfast - look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joakim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for The Kennard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great Bed and Breakfast in Bath, perfect location. Hosts stayed late to check us in as traffic awful.
Breakfast yummy lots of choice and all fresh. Loan Brollies if you need them, plenty of advise on where to go and what to do if needed.
Giovanni and Mary even sent my shoes back by post which I had forgotten.
Stayed in Room 7 really comptemporay decor and lovely views

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Megahoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. This lovely place with a designer garden set the tone of our trip to the UK.

The room is well appointed and had a fan for the unexpected summer heat.

The breakfast is exceptional. Fruit, pastries, yogurts, cheese, a great variety of jams and that is just the cold buffet. On offer is organic local bread for toast and a selection of cooked breakfasts. They also offer a variety of fresh condiments they bring to your table after breakfast is served.

The room is small but what you would expect in a Georgian town home. The friendly service was much appreciated.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Summerjoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No vacancies was showing when we arrived at The Kennard, but fortunately we had already booked some time ahead. Our friends were not so lucky and had left it too late to find a room here. For those who do not read Trip Advisor it gives a clue as to how popoular this Bed & Breakfast is. The location is ideal, the information provided (free walk, recommended restaurants, places to visit), quality of room and the breakfast (freshly cooked to order, with choice of teas and coffees etc) are excellent. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chinahandEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday,on booking I mentioned this to the receptionist & on the next morning we were treated to a large chocolate cake ,& all the guests singing happy birthday,great touch.
Perfect location ,everything within walking distance.Room clean and nicely furnished,breakfast was top notch. Friendly owners.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for a ground or first floor room.Check out the small garden,very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Bath, where we celebrated her 60th Birthday, I think we have stayed at the Kennard at least 6 times now. We love Bath - and we love the Kennard because its atmosphere perfectly reflects that of the City. Mary and Giovanni are charming hosts and you feel welcome. The Breakfast Room is wonderful and an important part of our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicebob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I loved my stay at the Kennard. To stay in a Georgian townhouse complete with Georgian garden sets the scene for a holiday in wonderful Bath. Painstaking attention to the comfort of guests makes staying here a joy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kennard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kennard

Address: 11 Henrietta Street | Off Great Pulteney Street, Bath BA2 6LL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kennard 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian townhouse bed & breakfast in the centre of Bath. Free permit for on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kennard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing