We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
1,096
130
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
130
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit pulteney bridge quiet street georgian townhouse roman baths top floor breakfast room shared bathroom full english few minutes walk city centre fabulous breakfast single room excellent location superior room porridge fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at The Kennard we were met by a lovely lady who gave us relevant information. We were very lucky to find a parking space right outside. And went on to enjoy the fantastic atmosphere of Bath and the wonderful market. Only a few minutes walk away.
We stayed in rooms 3 and 6 which meant sharing the bathroom. I haven't done this before, sadly I was taken ill in the night and therefore have been put off sharing like this as I was very concerned that I was disturbing other guests by having to go the the bathroom throughout the night. Due to being ill we had to leave as soon as possible to try and get home which meant we missed the breakfast that I had read such wonderful reviews.
I will definitely return to this guest house but would book a twin or double room next time.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank becxboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Reception at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,

So sorry about your illness in Bath and that you had to miss breakfast. It is a good excuse to come back and see us! We only have the two single rooms that share one bathroom in the hotel otherwise all our other rooms are en suite. Under the circumstances we fully understand why this would not have been the best arrangement on the evening of your stay. We hope that you will come back and see us to enjoy a larger en suite room and a delicious breakfast! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Great location to stay, no problem parking, helpful receptionist on arrival. The room was on the top floor which meant a lot of stair climbing every time we returned to our room, would be very difficult for anybody not physically able. The room was clean, albeit quite a small area. The bathroom was so small kept banging arms when showering etc.. that said the room was adequate for the purpose we wanted which was a bed for the night in a central location. The breakfast was to a high standard all freshly cooked

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rolodog2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Reception at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review. We were very glad to hear that you found a parking with no trouble and that you found our staff helpful.
We do understand that the stairs can pose an issue for some guests and we hopefully make that clear on our web site, we are a listed building and therefore can not add a lift.
We are happy that you found your room clean and know that bathrooms can be a bit on the 'snug' side, again a product of adding bathrooms to an old house. Thank you for mentioning the high standard breakfast, we are always pleased when our guests enjoy a great start to the day!
Happy New Year and we hope to see you in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

My husband and I had a fantastic time in Bath last week. The Kennard was a great guest house - friendly and helpful staff, very good location, lovely building which was built in 1794 and great breakfast.
We had an email from The Kennard a week before our stay and it explained car parking and asked if we had any special requirements etc. When we arrived, we had a parking permit and found a space next to Henrietta Park (2 mins walk). (There are parking space in a roundabout close to the guest house, but the lady said, "never never park over there as we are charged." so we call it "never never roundabout".)
Our room was right on the top, No 7. It has a lovely view and the room was good size with a comfortable bed. Only thing I could point out is the window... It was very stormy night, so draft was coming through the window and making a noise during the night. We tried to fix (reduce the noise), it was OK at first but it did not in the end.
The breakfast was great - lots of choices made by local products and very tasty.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and we would like to go back again.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you are a bit weak, it may be a good idea to request a lower floor room.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michinebbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Reception at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate you mentioning the staff as we do try our utmost to be helpful so guests can get the most out of their stay in Bath. We pride ourselves on our breakfast so we were happy to know that you enjoyed it! Thank you for the feedback about the window, we have now hopefully fixed that issue and if we see you again you should be assured of a draft free and peaceful night!
Happy New Year and we hope to see you in 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This hotel has never failed us and we have stayed over 6 times. Breakfast is all freshly cooked from a good menu choice. Staff are really helpful and friendly they went the extra mile this time to leave my husband and daughter in law a birthday card and present. The new owners have introduced an honesty bar, full of miniature drinks.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lesleyinleek19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Thank you for your ongoing support. It was a complete pleasure to have you and your family stay with us over the celebratory birthday weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the new year. Till then, the very best for the festive and holiday season, from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This was our 2nd year of staying here and we have booked again for next year too! Lovely clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and in a great location just minutes walk from the Xmas market and all the restaurants, shops etc

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V1325AVelizabetht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKennardTeam, Owner at The Kennard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. There is no better compliment than that!
Wishing you the very best for 2018 and look forward to hosting you in the new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews