We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Barn Holidays
Ranked #23 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very lovely”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in Owl cottage for two weeks and I must say it is absolutely beautiful. On arrival there was a bottle of wine along with some sweets for afternoon tea. The cottage itself and it's surroundings are very beautiful, however only complaint about the cottage is (as we were staying two weeks) no washing machines, for what is sold as "self contained". The location is lovely, almost half way between Bath and Bristol. And very easy to get to either city catching a bus from outside the Kelston pub (though the walk up the hill is a killer). George himself is also lovely and more than happy to give you any advice if needed. Also nearby, just a short walk up a killer hill, is Kelston round hill which gives you a 360 view over both Bath and Bristol. Very lovely and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have just returned from wonderful 3 night break in "Hare Cottage". Sorry to say from the pictures on the website and the cost of the weekend we were really not expecting much. As we drove up the lane I was amazed when I sawed the cottage. Beautiful both inside and out. Cottage finished to a high spec and everything you could possible need is provided.
The views were stunning from all the windows. Also in the cottage was a bottle of wine and cakes, tea coffee and fresh milk in the fridge, what a lovely caring thought.
Lovely traitional english pub at the end of the lane serving food and only a ten minutes drive from Bath.
My husband and I booked it as a relaxing weekend break and that is exactly what we got hope to return soon :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For our fiftieth wedding anniversary, our children gave us a trip to UK. In all of years together, this was the best accommodation we have shared on either side of the lake. The pub down the road became a regular dining spot for us, though we prepared several meals in the cottage. For city folk, watching the moving of the sheep from one pasture to another, with George carrying one of the new lambs, was a special treat. We will long remember and cherish the memory of our trip to Kelston.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Having shopped around extensively for a holiday cottage sleeping 2 just outside of Bath on a budget, we eventually booked Badger cottage- one of the 3 Coombe Barn lets. The website was very basic, with few/dark pictures. We therefore had few expectations, but chose this cottage because of it's location and amenities (i.e. sofa/fire/dining table/separate bedroom.....Other cottages we looked at around this price simply had a bedroom and a small kitchen- no seating area!)

On arrival we were so pleased we went ahead with the booking! Fantastic location just outside a small village/15 minute drive from Bath (10mins to Park and Ride)/up a hill giving wonderful views of the surrounding area. Inside the cottage was clean, warm, bright and converted to a high spec. The owners were also very friendly- wine and cakes were a lovely touch!

Couldn't ask for more considering the price...Highly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Well, what can I say but "perfect" especially as we were celebrating our Anniversary and Birthday. George was there on arrival driving a tractor carrying two rams which gave us the first impressions of the countryside and the working sheep farm. The first impression of our converted barn/cottage was carried on through the door and to every room as being just what we were looking for and that was superb. What a piece of quiet heaven we had booked. The small touches added to our stay, the welcome tea/coffee and cakes plus bottle of wine. Thank you to George who became our Sat-Nav on the first evening as there were diversions in Bath and he guided us back to our quiet little haven. Would definitely recommend these found treasures especially if you want peace and quiet!! Tip: take the park and ride into Bath £3.00 return, very easy to find and worth every penny and less stressful and cheaper than driving into Bath.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Hare Cottage" which had, we think, the best views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazEd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We opened the door to our warm cottage to find cakes, the table set for tea and a bottle of wine with glasses for the evening.
Coombe Barn Cottages are surrounded by amazing countryside set about 1/3 of a mile up a small lane. George Cullimore was friendly and helpful from the outset. He had rearranged furniture, so that we could fit a cot in our bedroom. Then, on our first evening suggested local walks and tips for visiting Bath.
The cottage had everything we needed/wanted to make our 3 night stay most comfortable, as well as very affordable.
We would highly recommend Coombe Barn Cottages.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monster-mrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Delightful well equiped cosy cottages.Finished to a very high spec.Amazing views.Great value for money.On a quiet hill farm. Very peaceful yet just a few miles out of Bath.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bath
2.8 mi away
Grasmere Court
Grasmere Court
#5 of 10 in Keynsham
168 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
10.1 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
447 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.8 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Barn Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Barn Holidays

Property: Coombe Barn Holidays
Address: Coombe Barn Coombe Barn | Kelston, Bath BA1 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These converted barns are at the end of a quite country lane on the family's working sheep farm in the pictuesque village of Kelston - only 10 minutes from Bath. They are all cosy single story units for 2 with:Whirlpool bathsGas fired 'woodburning stoves'Pretty wrought iron beds.The area is grea for walking and there is 'The Old Crown',a traditional west country pub, in the village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing