We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coombe Barn Holidays
Nearby Hotels
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dukes Hotel(Bath)
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wheelbrook Mill(Norton St Philip)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kennard(Bath)
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grays Boutique B&B(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
20
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

I love coming to coombe barn!! The views are amazing! The chalets are clean, comfortable and provide a great place to get to bath, Bristol or the country side. The service is very friendly and family run. I can not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chutts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in 'Badger Cottage', which is one of three similar cottages set behind a farmhouse in North Somerset. The cottages are perfect for two people and Badger could also accommodate a child in a Z-bed. The accommodation was brilliant, very well done converted farm buildings all on one level. We had a kitchen/lounge, a bathroom with a jaccuzi bath and shower over, and the largest bedroom of the three properties. French doors in the lounge opened to the patio area outside, where there was a patio table and chairs. Being halfway up a hillside, the views were lovely and the sunsets fantastic. The view for Badger was a bit restricted, but the other two cottages (Hare and Owl) were amazing. Owl (slightly more expensive) had a large wooden patio with unrestricted views of the valley.

Almost everything we needed was in the cottage except a washing machine and there was no internet access. This aside, it was very comfortable and warm and it was a delight to come back to each evening after days out exploring the area.

We travelled to Bath, Wells and Bristol - all of which were nearby. Wells cathedral was the most beautiful we have ever seen and The Bishop's Palace nearby is well worth a visit and has gorgeous grounds. Bath's Roman Baths were mind-boggling and an absolute must-see for anyone who hasn't been there.

All in all, Coombe Barn Holidays (and Badger Cottage in particular) provided an excellent holiday. If I was to mention a negative, it would have to be the drive up to the cottages. There was a single rough track of about a third of a mile leading from the main road to the cottages up the hillside. This was narrow and winding with some blind spots (use your horn). We purposely didn't get back too late as we didn't fancy driving up it in the pitch black ! However, this is a personal dislike. Other cottage residents weren't so bothered about it - and to be fair, we never came across anyone driving up or down it in the opposite direction to us: which is what I had feared, as there are very few passing places.

That aside, I would highly recommend these cottages. George, the farmer/owner was really friendly and helpful and the cost of the cottages, compared to others like it, was really good. The location is beautiful and it's very central for anywhere in North Somerset. South Wales is only about an hour away and there are a number of National Trust properties to visit.

A great place for a bit of peace and quiet !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

These cottages have a stunning location, up a narrow lane in the hills just outside Bath. The views across a large slice of Somerset, with Wales in the distance, are just wonderful. You don't need the television - watching the changing weather, the sunlight and sunset on nature's canvas is entertainment enough. The cottages are spacious, well-equipped and comfortable; the owners are close by but unobtrusive, and there is a fine pub at the other end of the lane. Bath is a few minutes away and walks on the hills begin just outside the front door. You couldn't ask for much more!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnchalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in Owl cottage for two weeks and I must say it is absolutely beautiful. On arrival there was a bottle of wine along with some sweets for afternoon tea. The cottage itself and it's surroundings are very beautiful, however only complaint about the cottage is (as we were staying two weeks) no washing machines, for what is sold as "self contained". The location is lovely, almost half way between Bath and Bristol. And very easy to get to either city catching a bus from outside the Kelston pub (though the walk up the hill is a killer). George himself is also lovely and more than happy to give you any advice if needed. Also nearby, just a short walk up a killer hill, is Kelston round hill which gives you a 360 view over both Bath and Bristol. Very lovely and recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have just returned from wonderful 3 night break in "Hare Cottage". Sorry to say from the pictures on the website and the cost of the weekend we were really not expecting much. As we drove up the lane I was amazed when I sawed the cottage. Beautiful both inside and out. Cottage finished to a high spec and everything you could possible need is provided.
The views were stunning from all the windows. Also in the cottage was a bottle of wine and cakes, tea coffee and fresh milk in the fridge, what a lovely caring thought.
Lovely traitional english pub at the end of the lane serving food and only a ten minutes drive from Bath.
My husband and I booked it as a relaxing weekend break and that is exactly what we got hope to return soon :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews