We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house for a fabulous hen!”

Review of The Wilderness

The Wilderness near Bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The Wilderness near Bath
The Inglenook Lounge
Log Fired Finnish Sauna House
TV Lounge
Dining room seats 18
Family bedroom sleeps 4!
The Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Lounge
Catered dinner parties...
The lovely private rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nelpd
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a fabulous hen!”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I was organising a hen for my best friend and chose to hold it at The Wilderness. Throughout, the owners were helpful and friendly. On arrival all 18 of us were delighted with the house- we were All comfortable and very well looked after! Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of the Wilderness.
Delighted you all had such a great weekend!
We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benners1
Southampton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What an absolutely fantastic space for relaxation and socialising. Owner (Jo) was great throughout booking process and information about the property.

House has everything and more, great garden with loads of space, comfy beds throughout, fully stocked kitchen, communal and private spaces and the sauna was a great bonus. PERFECT!

The wilderness is great for groups of friends or quiet family gatherings, we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2018
Delighted you had such a great weekend in the Wilderness. Thank you for sharing your review.
I hope we can look forward to seeing you again one day.
Best wishes
Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynsey r
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fantastic property. We had a wonderful weekend at the Wilderness the house was extremely well maintained with beautiful gardens. Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh. Bedrooms were all lovely, high standard of mattresses and linen. Great property for all being together and entertaining but also with the varity of downstairs rooms theres also the option for quiet time. large groups incredibly well catered for with things like two fridges, two ovens and two kettles, masses of pots, pans and crockery etc. If you are looking for a quiet rural spot then this house is perfect. Great communication with the friendly owner, overall would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24theresa...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accomodation for a large group”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Everything about the accomodation was excellent. Great communication prior to the stay, loads of little extras included that are sometimes lacking from other accomodation. Comfy beds, great set up and layout. Perfect for a group of 16!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie H
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked The Wilderness for a hen do of 18. Everything was perfect, with everything to make catering for 18 easy, clean bedrooms and very comfy beds. The garden was beautiful and had plenty of parking. Jo was helpful and easily contactable throughout. Highly recommend for a country weekend away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
em444
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay at the Wilderness with my NCT friends and our babies”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just returned from a lovely 2 night mid-week break at the Wilderness with 7 NCT mummy friends and our babies (all under 1).
The house was perfect for accommodating us with our babies, with lots of space indoors and outdoors, a lovely garden which was great for playing and exploring, plenty of parking for 6+ cars, and easy to unload the cars via the various doors therefore providing close access to the different sections of the house. The sauna in the garden was a lovely bonus.
The large house was clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen, large dining room that enabled us all to fit around and eat, and plenty of seating throughout the 2 sitting rooms. It was a very safe feeling house for babies with no real dangers even with babies on the move. There were 2 baths which was very helpful when washing babies. Baby monitors worked well from throughout the house. We greatly appreciated the 4 high chairs and 4 travel cots being provided (saving on much needed space in the car!)
We arranged for a massage therapist (recommended on the main website) to come to the house to give us all massages. This was a lovely treat and helped us all to relax.
It very much felt like a home and we all greatly enjoyed our short stay. I would highly recommend and would not hesitate to return again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
thank you for taking the time to write a review.Delighted you all had such a great stay at The Wilderness.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hen Party Weekend at the Wilderness”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Fantastic place! Slept 17 of us very comfortably, and all managed to sit around one table! Great outdoor space, and the added luxury of a sauna! Jo (owner) was very helpful and friendly, which was very much appreciated when organising such a big group! Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thanks Klara,
Delighted you had such a great weekend!
I look forward to meeting you next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing