We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in great part of town!”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in great part of town!”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and are very glad we did!

Firstly, we paid £15 to park our car in the shopping centre car park for the 2 days! You won’t get parking cheaper then that! The hotel is right near the centre of town, so all the pubs and sights are all nearby and within walking distance.

The hotel itself was good. The room was very clean and colourful. Although the bed was shocking hard, this did not take anything away from the fact that this is a great hotel if staying in Bath.

There is also a Waitrose next door to the hotel if you need a bottle of water or snacks etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powersmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to our hotel and pleased that you enjoyed our central location.

I was extremely sorry to note that you found your bed uncomfortable. In order that I can investigate this further I would be very grateful if you would contact my PA, Kim Thyer on 01225 788400 or kim.thyer@hilton.com with details of your reservation.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    1,018
    643
    316
    166
See reviews for
592
1,231
86
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

my partner and i lobbed in to Bath on a Sunday expecting to easily pick up a couple of nights accommodation- wrong....
after checking out a couple of hotels with no luck Tom Tom led us to the Hilton Bath City which was surprisingly well priced- 125 GBP including breakfast.
sure the rooms are tiny, but ours was spotless, super comfy bed, great shower and a view out over the river and park and breakfast was more than adequate.
our only disappointment was they couldn't offer us a second night !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minandprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the size of your room. The hotel was built in 1973, and the standard of hotel room layout has dramatically changed over the last 30 years. We have a fantastic location, but some of our rooms are smaller due to the size of our building. All of our smaller rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard to make the most of the size and maximise space.

I was very sorry to note that we were unable to accommodate you for a second night. I hope that we can welcome you back in the future to Hilton Bath City.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards


Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed for just 1 night but would have been happy to stay longer. It was easy to find from the station and would be a breeze to drive there. There is a car park very close by. Great location. Easy walking distance to all the sights. Our room was a bit small but very clean, comfortable and was fine because we spent most of the time out exploring anyway

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We are very fortunate with the central location and the views of the River Avon and Pulteney Bridge.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Hilton in our first visit to Bath on the 16/10/2011. At 2.30 in the morning we were woken up by a noise in the room and told by a member of staff who came to chek it out that it was the central heating, which starts at that time. This was later denied and we were told they didn't know where the noise came from by the manager. We were offered another room about 3.30 in the morning, freezing cold and with a very uncomfortable mattress. It was so bad my friend chose to go back to the noisy room.
We complained before leaving and were told that the manager would give us a call the next day to discuss a refund, which apparently could not be done on the day as I had prepaid for the room.
A week later nobody has contacted us yet and I haven't had any replies to my email.
We certainly were not expecting this kind of customer service from The Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was extremely sorry to read your review following your recent stay with us.

In order that I can investigate this further I would be very grateful if you would contact my PA, Kim Thyer on 01225 788400 or by email kim.thyer@hilton.com with details of your reservation.

We pride ourselves on our customer service at Hilton Bath City, and I can certainly say this is not indicative of our usual standard. As with any complaint, I can assure you this will be communicated to all staff involved, so that they may learn from this situation. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at the Hilton and for the price they charged we did not expect such a small cubbyhole size room ! Great for little people! The mattress in the room was "sinking" and very uncomfortable. They offer free WIFI in the lobby but in the room you have to pay. Nowadays such a respectable chain should offer free WIFI in rooms. There was insufficient lighting in the room , it was sooo dark, not pleasant in the evening. They have a new business center where you have to pay for use of computer and internet but they have no printers at all. Room was very clean, staff very helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I wanted to personally reply to you and take your feedback to improve the services and products we offer.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

I was extremely sorry to read your review following your stay. I would be very grateful if you would contact my PA, Kim Thyer on 01225 788400 or by email kim.thyer@hilton.com to enable me to obtain further details regarding your reservation.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Fantastic big modern rooms to high standard. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast very good and loads of choice. Was here on business but would like to go back with family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be very nice and helpful.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Apart from the usual gripes about the price of drinks (same with all big name hotels) there were no real complaints. Room was a little small, but we expected that as we booked a standard, lowest rate one, but it was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good as was the service. Staff all very nice, friendly and efficient.

The best thing about the hotel was, though, the location ... close to the Abbey, Roman Baths, Poultney Bridge, city bus tour stop and the excellent shops Bath boasts. And if you don't want to spend out on hotel prices for food and drink, there is a great pub across the road!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuesday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to our hotel and staff. We certainly are very fortunate with our central location.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the size of your room. The hotel was built in 1973, and the standard of hotel room layout has dramatically changed over the last 30 years. We have a fantastic location, but some of our rooms are smaller due to the size of our building. All of our smaller rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard to make the most of the size and maximise space.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing