We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas weekend in Bath”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Christmas weekend in Bath”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Bath City for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is excellent, room was spacious and spotless. Bed very comfy. Very quiet. Hotel is in a central position for all amenities. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for river view on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davespeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I was extremely pleased to note you found our staff very pleasant and helpful, I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    999
    629
    304
    162
See reviews for
570
1,205
82
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Just returned from a night at the Hlton Bath City Hotel the location is perfect for exploring Bath on foot. Had a very good sized room clean and modern overlooking the River Avon. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. One suggestion - signs in the car park to the hotel would be helpful. Took advantage of Hilton room sale so value excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneH2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are very fortunate with the central location.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Upon arrival by car we were told to use car park under the hotel, we found out you should ignore the notices on the walls stating 4 hours maximum, as hotel has separate arrangment. The staff on the desk and in the restaurant were all very friendly and polite. Buffet breakfast had everything that you needed but was average in quality. The view from the restaurant was very pleasant. The location was great and you are in easy walking distance of everything. The room was standard in size and fittings, but was clean. The price is high but seems to be the norm for Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of the river and I assume quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us we certainly are very fortunate with our central location.

Thank you for your feedback relating to the breakfast. I understand that you felt that the quality was average. I will certainly pass your comments over to the Chef. We generally receive a lot of compliments about our food.

I appreciate your comments regarding your room rate. Room rates are at a premium in Bath due to the high demand, our rates are set in line with other hotels in the area.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Went for the upgrade to a Family room, good size room but over priced but good location, parking is over priced as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigsby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your comments regarding your room rate. Room rates are at a premium in Bath due to the high demand, our rates are set in line with other hotels in the area.

I note your comments regarding our car parking charges. Taking into account our guests feedback we have recently reduced our car parking charges to £15 on a once-in-once-out basis, this is ideal for guests not requiring use of their vehicles during their stay. Our Reception Team hold directions and information for alternative car parks within the city for guests who require regular access to their vehicles.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for a two night city break. The location is great very central. Bath is a beautiful place would like to return next year for another weekend away. We found lots to see and do the ancient baths are stunning. The hotel was clean and our room was large only niggle was that I found the extra charge for the wifi a bit cheeky considering the cost of the room. Good city stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding the Hilton Bath City, we certainly are very fortunate with our central location.

I note your comments regarding our internet charges. We have recently introduced wi-fi throughout the hotel. Complimentary wi-fi is available throughout the ground floor for our guests and in-line with all Hilton Hotels wi-fi is charged at £14.99 in the bedrooms, I will ensure your feedback is passed on.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and I am pleased to note that you plan to return again next year.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
380 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I had a disastrous stay at The Hilton Bristol last year but thought I would give the group another try, especially as the hote in Bath is in such a great position for my shopaholic good lady. We chose an upgraded room, and a family one for the space, and in those terms we were not disappointed. It was, unfortunately, at the front of the hotel, and despite being on the 3rd floor, we were subjected to a barrage of noise each evening from revellers passing by the hotel, from 11pm until about 2.30am, and this was on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. The double glazing was sadly inadequate.

Down to brekfast. We have alsways liked Hilton breakfasts and enjoyed them in several cities and countries. How it has gone down. It is still buffet style, but with no staff whatsoever in the room. My cooked breakfast was barely warm, and, sadly inedible. How can you make mushrooms tasteless? Poor quality sliced bread didn't help, nor the unripe fruit.

To be fair a waiter did see my plight and offered to have fresh eggs cooked, but it was too late. He did say to ask for fresh eggs in the morning. I played safe and asked for poached, as they are not offered. All I could taste was vinegar. Day three I waited in the wings until I saw fresh eggs being placed in the warmenr and made a dash for them. Hurrah a reasonable breakfast at last, except for mushrooms and smoked bacon, which I do not like.

As I have eaten in Hilton restaurants before, we didn't at all during this stay. Thank goodness bath has such a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond.

I was sorry to read your comments relating to the external noise. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of the City, such external noise is hard to control. We certainly are very fortunate with our central location and the views of the River Avon and Pulteney Bridge. However, being a central location, in a busy city can have drawbacks such as perceived noise. We do allocate guests who specify quiet rooms in a river facing area that is quieter than at the front of the hotel.

I appreciate your comments regarding your experience in our Restaurant. I have immediately raised all your feedback with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager to address with their teams. We generally receive a lot of compliments about our food. I apologise you found us wanting on this occasion.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience this for yourself.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Location wise, this is a fantastically located hotel that is next to the town centre and not that far walking distance to the thermal spa. If you take out the fact that I paid £200 a night, the stay was enjoyable. The rooms where a little on the small size and the decor felt a little outdated. Breakfast was good and it certainly seems like a hotel that attracts many people to stay. Car parking is located directly underneath the hotel and seemed secure enough with plenty of lighting. I would consider this hotel if I ever decide to visit Bath again only if the hotel cost would be below £70 a night, after this, I am sure that there are other hotels in the area that will be able to cater for your needs for better value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4mHere2There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the size of your room. The hotel was built in 1973, and the standard of hotel room layout has dramatically changed over the last 30 years. We have a fantastic location, but some of our rooms are smaller due to the size of our building. All of our smaller rooms have now been refurbished to a high standard to make the most of the size and maximise space.

I appreciate your comments regarding your room rate and value for money. Room rates are at a premium in Bath due to the high demand and are in-line with other hotels in the area.

We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience this for yourself.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing