We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Bath City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 days. Lovely hotel. Very good value for money. Comfortable rooms and good service. Bath is such a lovely place.We would be really tired by the time we returned so it was good to unwind in the hotel lounge bar. Very good bathrooms also. Would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards
Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    966
    602
    296
    151
See reviews for
542
1,156
80
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My partner and I stayed from the 24 to 26 January for his 40th birthday and I have to say I could not fault anything at all at the Hilton, it was fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I discovered this hotel whilst walking around Bath and called in to see if they had rooms.
Great location, helpful staff, clean comfortable and warm room. Perhaps most of all it is so close to all the wonderful attractions of Bath we didn't ned our car for 4 days and left it in the hotel car park at a special low rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thevegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are very fortunate with our central location.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the 22nd of jan and we enjoyed every minute of it! Its in a great location as everything is walking distance. Plus it's right by the river. We stayed in the Austen suite which had stunning views. It was a beautiful room, very clean and had the comfiest bed I've ever slept on! The room had a big wide screen tv which was great and we were pleased that check out was at 12pm, which gave us a lot more time. Breakfast was lovely, there was so much to choose from! The dining room also had beautiful views :) the staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a drink at the hotel bar in the evening and asked the bar tender for directions to a restaurant, to which he gave us a map and explained to us where it was :)
We both had a fantastic stay here and would deffinitly return & reccomend it to others :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to the Hilton Bath City and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are very fortunate with the central location.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Bath City.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Hilton is an OK hotel but nothing special, especially considering the price you pay. Bath hoteliers can get away with charging high prices but it's about time us customers got more value for money.

Plus points: good central location, pleasant bar area, friendly and helpful staff, fast checkout available, clean, OK room with great view over the river.

Downsides: pricey, showing signs of wear in many public areas, soft and uncomfortable mattress, room on the small side.

Major downside: typical chain hotel rip-off of charging for wifi in your room.

Major major downside: said wifi was so awful I switched back to 3G connection.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Do not book online. After a very disappointing stay i complained only to be told, because i paid via internet they would not refund my money. I did pay Hilton hotels, i have a receipt but still they refused saying it was a different company. What a load of rubbish, my credit card statement says I'd paid hilton hotels, i booked it through my Hilton honors site. After some very frustrating phone calls to the USA, of all places, to sort this out, we gave up, cancelled our members ship with Hilton Honors. Never will be stay at Hilton again, they treated us like rubbish.

Booked a luxury room with queen bed to find it was only four foot wide, room so small we couldn't put our case's down to unpack. The carpets where fifthly, old smashed up biscuits on the tea tray. One soap, one shampoo etc for both of us. Didn't sleep due to very noisy student pub opposite that rocked most of the night. No help with case's, not enough staff in restaurant, it was a joke, the list is endless.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed with my partner at the Hilton hotel in Bath on Friday 13 and Saturday 14 January 2012. The hotel itself didn't really wow me. I would say that it's really quite ordinary. In any other city, for the price we paid, I would be appalled, but Bath operates by different rules. As one of the most expensive cities in the UK for hotel accommodation, it doesn't do any good to get your hopes up too much.

We stayed in a room facing the back of the hotel (overlooking the river) on the third floor. The communal parts on the third floor were looking a little tired, but the room itself was modern and clean, with air con (though we didn't make use). There were tea and coffee making facilities and a good flat screen TV with about 15 channels.

The upsides: The best thing about the Hilton is it's location. It is right in the centre of things. This is really what it's worth paying for. Having stayed in the Holiday Inn in Bath previously, it was nice not to have to make the 10-minute trek into town. The main lobby is nice and modern - and it has a good bar with plenty of choice for drinks and a nice seating area. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.

Some downsides: The bed wasn't the most comfortable. The bathroom was very small - and it had a frosted glass door (this is a real bugbear of mine!). The wi-fi is terrible - we paid 14GBP for 24-hour access and never managed to make it work (this is another bugbear - in this day and age it's not acceptable at all. Internet access is like water, heat and light - it should be free and uniformly fast).

If you want somewhere central and aren't bothered about internet, I would say stay here. If you fancy a bit of luxury and fast wifi, but aren't bothered about location, consider booking a swanky hotel in Bristol and pay for cabs. Seriously. We've done that before.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimBath, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your positive comments on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.

I appreciate your very kind comments relating to our hotel. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we certainly are very fortunate with the central location.

I appreciate your comments regarding your room rate and value for money. Room rates are at a premium in Bath due to the high demand and our rates are set in line with other Bath hotels.

I note your comments regarding our internet service. Installation has just been completed throughout the hotel of our new BT Openzone Wi-fi. The charge is £14.99 for 24 hours access in the bedroom and complimentary in the public areas. Guests who already have BT Openzone Accounts are able to access this service for no further charge. We offer complimentary wi-fi access throughout the ground floor of the hotel for all hotel residents.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations. We are undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience this for yourself.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City.

Kind regards

Daniel van Wyk
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing