We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visitors to Bath”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Bath is such a beautiful city and this is not a pretty hotel. Having said that the location is fantastic, within easy walking distance of the main attractions. Room was fine, but no mini bar. The hotel bar is small and the barman on duty was not particularly attentive. We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely meal with excellent service. You have to pay extra for parking, but the car park is right next to the hotel so no problem. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimThyer, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate all your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team.

I note your comments regarding no mini bar being available in your room. Our four Suites within the hotel come with complimentary mini bars for guests. Fridges are available upon request from our Housekeeping Department.

I note your comments stating that the barman was unattentive. We pride ourselves on our customer service at Hilton Bath City, and I can certainly say this is not indicative of our usual standard. As with any complaint/feedback, I can assure you this will be communicated to all staff involved, so that they may learn from this situation. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

amazing location for your shopping, clubbing, dinner needs. fab staff, clean and tidy, and very nice late night bar, very good prices too. suprisingly cheapest hotel we could find!!!! however only thing was the rooms were very dated, surprised for a hilton, so an amazing room for the girls to share for a spot of night life but not a romantic room for a couple to spend the night

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimThyer, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate all your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team.

I appreciate your comments relating to your bedroom decor. We have undergone a major refurbishment in most of our rooms and recently completed the installation of air-conditioning throughout all bedrooms. We are continually monitoring and addressing individual bedroom decor requirements.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

As a Hilton Diamond member, I stay in many hiltons in the UK and overseas.

My last 3 reviews of Hilton properties in London and NYC were scathing of these units and I generally felt that they underperformed as compared from what I expected from Hilton Group.

Hilton Bath has restored my belief that Hiltons can offer something close to their relatively higherer pricing compared to other Chains.

This property is very well located in Bath City within minutes walking of the center of the town. [This location is also a disadvantage since it cost me Stg£15 to park in the car park below the hotel].

There is no executive lounge here but I was upgraded to a suite and all the fittings that ought to be in this room were there [robes and oversized toiletries].

The famous baths are only 3 mins walk away.

There is a quality feel to the interior of this hotel compared to some dated and cheaper fittings you can get in Regional UK Hiltons.

There was an issue with building noise at 10pm and I called reception who seemed to be well versed in teh ongoging work and when it would stop. I mentioned this again at check out and received without asking, a small goodwill credit on the invoice.

I'd rate this hotel 5 out of 5 but deduct 1 because

Charge for car parking [stg£15]
No exec lounge for Hiilton Gold/Diamond
stg£139 is slightly more that what I'd expect to pay plus parking

Even at 4 out of 5, It is a nice property and I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: At rear for a river view and a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroTravellerPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I had been looking forward to my stay at the Hilton Bath for a mini break with my mother this weekend. I booked the Hilton as it carries a reputation for a good quality service and something slightly more luxurious than the norm, however, I was pretty unimpressed to find that after spending £350 on a room for 2 nights I was expected to pay £14.99 for wi-fi and £12.00 for breakfast.

I won't be booking Hilton again and I will be advising my work colleagues of the same. These petty extra charges are stingy, stink of a budget/cheap penny pinching company culture that can only be likened to that of Ryanair.


I hope they have to good sense to review some of these charges before people start to realise they will get a better service elsewhere.




Jane

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Hotel is undergoing restauration. Ground floor with lobby, bar, restaurant etc. as well at 1st. floor where I stayed looked recently renovated.

I was given a room that was very small. I later learned that this was a "compact room" the smllest they have. As I had not done the booking myself, i did not reflect on any upgrade that may have been available. Apart from the size, the room was OK.

Breakfast was very english, meaning excellent eggs, bacon, sausages etc. and pastries with marmelade, cereals and yoghurt. But as Scadinavians we missed more cold cuts of meat or fish and cheeses to chose from. Otherwise good service at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimThyer, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate all your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team.

I note your comment in regards to the size of your room. The hotel was built in 1974, and the standard of hotel room layout has dramatically changed over the last 30 years. We have a fantastic location, but are limited due to the size of our building. I can assure you our newer deluxe rooms are larger in size (these were added in 1990).

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Came here with 12 guys for my best friends stag weekend, and had a really good time. It worked out cheaper than anywhere else in the city and it was bang in the middle of town.

Walking distance to all the attractions in Bath, as well as bars and nightclubs.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room, although if it is not included in your price, I would find a greasy spoon as it was £18!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesypOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Loved it but no mini bar and room was okay need to sort out heating system and had huge gaps in the tile roof were there were fire alarms hanging a little from the gym . Also before you check out room maintance is at the door wanting to clean the room hour before suppose to check out felt rushed .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimThyer, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

I note from your feedback areas that did not meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service at Hilton Bath City, and I can certainly say this is not indicative of our usual standard. As with any complaint/feedback, I can assure you this will be communicated to all staff involved, so that they may learn from this situation. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £103 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing