We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central hotel”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Excellently placed for the city centre and all its many amenities. Reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. Our twin room was a decent size, clean and quiet. Only problem was very uncomfortably hard mattresses which detracted from our enjoyment somewhat. Breakfast was good, served in modern restaurant which also provides decent evening meals, though we only ate there on our first night for convenience - there are any number of good restaurants within a few minutes walk. Comfortable bar from which free wifi is available - wifi in room comes at extra charge. Adjacent car park costs £15 per in/out which is not too bad if you are out all day, touring. Overall, a very handy, decent hotel to which we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,170 - 2,176 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

My daughter booked this break as a surprise. Excellent value. Hotel so central. Had a fourth floor room with a view of the river. Hotel staff very helpful. Food and service have been excellent. Thermae spa voucher included in hilton package.We visited at twilight and the views from the open air rooftop pool were spectacular. Perfect break for couples,birthday celebrations, and girlie weekends away. Thank you Hilton excellent value and excellent customer care.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulabelleduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here with some girlfriends for the weekend. The location is excellent - right in the middle of the city. Public areas of the hotel are fine. The main problem we had was that the double rooms were tiny! So beware. And for £140per night per room it isn't cheap either. The first floor where our rooms were is being decorated and there was no wallpaper on the corridor walls. My friends room had a very strong smell of paint but staff moved them to the fourth floor without issue and to a bigger room. This meant however I was left on the first floor.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I stayed on a Friday night in November and the hotel seemed quite busy.
The rooms are clean and tidy.
Two main issues the bed in room 354 appeared to have a very soft mattress which was not a all comfortable and beware the walls are thin....we heard more than we needed to from beside and above the room!!!
Despite the above if you can get a good deal on the room rate then it's a very well positioned hotel as you couldn't be more central.
Parking an issue at £18 per night.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room but would hate to know what a noisy location was like!!" Ask for riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The best thing about this hotel has to be it's location. Almost everything worth visiting in Bath is walking distance from this hotel

- The staff is very courteous and warm
- Very good in-room service with good range of food and drinks
- Good rooms, clean and tidy with spacious wash rooms

Would love to be back here very soon

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street provide a magnificent view of the hills of Lansdown in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indie_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Don't let the exterior appearance fool you. This is a good Hilton hotel. We got a double family room with 2 queen beds and a sofa, with a good sized bathroom. We enjoyed a view of the surrounding hills from our windows. The morning breakfast was sumptuous. We parked our car in the Podium parking garage, and walked 5 minutes the the central bath shopping area and Roman Baths. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

check in was efficient, however parking was not included and the car park underneath the hotel was 15gbp per night which was rather expensive. the room was quite nice with a very good size bed. breakfast was excellent. superb location in the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimThyer, Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your comments on this website I wanted to personally reply and thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate all your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton Bath City I will ensure your kind comments are passed to the team.

I note your feedback regarding our car parking facilities. Following guest feedback we recently addressed our car parking charges and these were reduced a few weeks ago. Guests who do not require access to their vehicles during their stay pay a one-off charge of £15.00. Our Reception Team hold full details of alternative parking arrangements within the City for guests requiring use of their vehicle during their stay.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Hilton Bath City and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

PJ Kenny
Hotel Manager
Hilton Bath City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £104 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing