We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service lets this place down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“poor service lets this place down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently stayed three nights in room 254.
Our friends had rooms next to us… and our room was almost twice the size of theirs… same price !!!!
The room suffers from being next to the staff lift which at times incurs a constant sound of the lift going up and down.
There was a door at the end of the corridor separating four rooms from the hallway. These were designated smoking rooms. There was a slight smell of smoke around the area.
The bathroom had no extraction fan and so filled with steam. The corners of the shower were badly stained and mouldy. The shower was over the bath, which was very narrow. It was quite difficult to stand in and there was no anti slip mat.
Staff serving Breakfast seemed “stressed”. Simple requests appeared to cause confusion.
We asked for more cutlery and a cup…. And had to explain three times why.
Tables were full of dirty crockery even though staff were in and out of the dining room. They carried tea and coffee in, but didn’t stop to clear tables on their way out.
The lighting was harsh although on our third morning the lights had been dimmed and were much more comfortable.
The sausages were unpleasant and we were disappointed at the way the food was displayed.
Our friends requested extra drinking glasses. They were told that room service would deliver them. After 15 minutes ... our friend phoned again.. and was told the same thing. Another 15 minutes went by so our friend phoned again and offered to collect the glasses. When he arrived he was dismissed by the wave of a hand and told to go to the bar to collect them.
We parked in the adjoining car park and it was explained to us when we arrived that it would cost £15 to park there for the duration of our stay, and handed a token which had to be produced when we left to allow us the concession. The system wasn’t explained to us on our way out, which caused us much confusion and a trip back to the reception to sort the problem out.
The view from our room window was of a car park and a service yard. When we arrived, we spotted two cages full of dirty linen… it was never moved during the three days we were there, through sun and lots of rain !!!!
The hotel is in a great location, but not up to the usual Hilton standard of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    964
    600
    295
    151
See reviews for
540
1,155
80
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hilton is a good, comfortable hotel in central Bath. It can be over-priced but is a good place to stay if you can get a reasonable deal on price. The room I had was comfortable, with a decent easy chair as well as a desk chair, had a clean, modern bathroom with a good shower and the room had air conditioning. The hotel is nothing out of the ordinary though and the lifts are very small, and slow, so they cannot cope very well in busy times such as 8.00am. Try the stairs if you are able!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Always skeptical of UK Hilton hotels since they were managed separately from the main brand for many years. Yes its 1970's concrete and doesn't really match the area but it has had just enough upgrades and refurbishments that it was a real pleasant surprise. As a "gold" member the room was great, clean functional obviously recently refurbished. Bar was welcoming, breakfast area well organised and managed with good food choices (except the coffee and sausages!)
I stayed because of a conference, but was impressed. It's location was superb with easy routes around the city. Cost was ok. I'll return for a weekend stay to visit the museums as soon as I can

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

pleasant staff, nice and clean, comfortable beds. location could have been a bit better. food was nice. not enough coffee and milk in room. had to ask for more which was given almost immediately. full marks for that!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank GailHjelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a three night stay in this hotel early September. We found a useful tip from someone on tripadvisor as to where to park, this helped a lot as there are no signs in the hotel in where to park.

The exterior of the hotel is slightly out of place, it doesnt match the rest of the bath stone buildings.

The hotel was very busy when we arrived and when we asked if we could have a river view we were told that they had no rooms left.

Wifi is only free in public areas, I think considering the cost of the rooms in this hotel it should be free throughout the hotel.

The room was ok, it was very small, but there wasn't enough room to open the wardrobe doors without moving a chair. As you walk into the room the wardrobe on the right by the door is filled with an air conditioning unit so there is limited storage. We found the size of the rooms was very variable, we booked three rooms and of the three we had the smallest room.

Breakfast buffet was good and had lots of choice however you have to wait to be seated and on all three days we had to wait some time before being seated. It would be far easier to find a table and then provide room number upon being seated. The sausages in the buffet were very cheap and need to be upgraded to something containing real meat!

The location of the hotel was fantastic, it couldnt be better for a city centre hotel and the sole reason we would return again.

Room Tip: pay a little more and get a larger room, standard rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap1rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel was a 4 star but unfortunately we did not agree with this rating. The twin room we were allocated was tiny. We requested to be moved which we were to a king room but had to pay extra. The ensuite was lovely but the room was only adequate, the windows looked out over the yard and the kitchens which at times were noisy and bit smelly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanWotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stopped for 2 nights in September with my in-laws. Both rooms overlooked the street which was fine apart from the pub over the road. We had air conditioning in the rooms though so could shut the windows. En-suites had a lovely large shower. Breakfast buffet was fabulous, with plenty of choice from toast, to cereal, yoghurt or a full english. Or all of the above. There is also a Waitrose supermarket a hundred metres down the road for buying essentials for your room rather than using room service. Don't buy a Costa coffee from the bar though as it's twice as expensive than in a Costa coffee shop.We parked the car in the short stay car park underneath the hotel. The hotel has a deal where it is £15 per exit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing