We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Poor staff”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This Hotel has a great location and is very comfortable. The rooms are most comfortable. The reception staff perhaps need to remind themselves that they are not more important than the guests otherwise they will soon outnumber them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am truly sorry to read that you experienced a shortfall in customer service from the reception staff and we are most grateful to you for bringing this to our attention, the comments you raise will be addressed with the Front of House Manager. I sincerely apologise that this matter impacted on the satisfaction of your stay. Your compliments of the hotels location and comfort are very much appreciated, thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,881 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is centrally located in bath only a few minutes walk to the Roman baths and therma baths. The service in the hotel was great, however the mattress was super hard and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. The super thin pillows didn't help the situation. But if you like a firm bed........then this is the hotel for you! There is no hotel parking as such. But you can park in the podium car park (which the hotel sits on top of). We stayed on the first floor and looked over the back of the hotel........great views of the flat roof!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank rsg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and I am happy to read that you received great service whilst staying with us. Similarly, that you enjoyed visiting some of the famous land marks which are only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Bath was our first stop on a recent trip to England. We were pleased to be able to walk everywhere in the city from the front door of this hotel. The rooms were nice and seemed clean- I would say nothing special though. My parents had a nice view of the river from their room but we were on the front side of the building.

The water temperature was inconsistent and would change from cold to hot and back again during my showers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigsOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

I am glad to hear that you found the hotel ideally situated for exploring historic Bath City and that everything was within an easy walks distance from the hotel. I apologise that you experienced a fluctuation in water temperature when showering, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back next time you are travelling in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have just come back from a weekend in Bath and stayed at the Hilton .
It's location is great for the centre of Bath .
On first impressions from the outside it looks very dated but once inside this is not the case .
The rooms are a good size( we had a twin room) nice bathroom and very clean . An iron and ironing board are also in the room as well as a hair dryer that's not attached to the wall and very powerful ( a bonus for us women ) .
The beds were very comfortable and plenty of lights and sockets in the room .
It took us 5/10 mins to walk into the main high street .
Overall I would recommend this hotel .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jenniwrenDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your 5* review and recommendation of our hotel. I am happy hear that you liked your room and the amenities provided in it met your needs completely. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel met all our requirements during our recent 3 night stay. On check in we had a free upgrade on our room. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we had slept in. Clean bathroom with hot shower. Could not fault our room. Breakfast was cooked to perfection every morning. Staff were all pleasant . Location could not have been better. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will stay here again when visiting Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your 5* review and recommendation of the Hilton Bath. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the facilities in your room and our famous Hilton breakfast each morning. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is situated very conveniently for exploring the city of Bath on foot. Everything is within a few minutes stroll, which makes for a lovely relaxing time. The hotel itself is clean and well presented. Although our room was great for the short time we stayed, we didn't have a view! The lack of information about the car park arrangements was the only downside. Although we knew that there was car parking available adjacent to the hotel, we didn't realise it was the short term car park and spend a frustrating half an hour driving round the one way system before deciding to park in there to go and seek advice from reception. The staff were all very helpful, polite and professional and overall, we had a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank shari64Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel ideally situated for exploring Bath City and the staff helpful, polite and professional. Similarly, that the hotel was clean and well presented during your stay. I apologise if the signage for the Podium car park below the hotel was unclear and this led you to get frustrated by Baths labyrinth of one-way road systems. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Situated in the heart of the lovely city of Bath, this hotel has everything going for it, especially for a short break away, either as a base for shopping or visiting tourist hotspots. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast superb with an excellent choice on offer, the room clean and the beds very comfortable with super-cosy bedding. We have stayed here before and can only report on our own experiences, but, based on these, would highly recommend this hotel - 5*!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank FordingbridgeFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your 5 star rating and recommendation of our hotel. Your compliments of the staff, food and room facilities are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Bath for a short break away. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £90 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing