We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for mid week break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice for mid week break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

good location ,would recommend to friends ,also go for upgrade in room,location for shopping brilliant,read tripadvisor and some complaints were not justified, you can not stay this close to bath for peanuts and get quality

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your mid-week break with us. Your recommendation and compliments of the hotel are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    966
    602
    296
    151
See reviews for
542
1,156
80
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels I've visited in the UK in the past few years this stay was one of the most pleasant, thanks mainly to the friendliness and helpfulness if staff which was amazing. As far as the property itself is concerned the hotel is lovely, clean and very centrally located. The only downside I can think of really is parking, which may have been less expensive if not at all free.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your 5* review and high praise of our hotel and friendly ‘amazing’ staff. I am delighted to hear you find it to be a clean environment in which to stay and a convenient location to be based to explore the city centre. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with my wife for one night in November. I payed for an upgrade to a Queen Deluxe room (additional £20) and can only assume that the standard room(£189) would have been very small indeed. The bed was large and comfortable but unfortunately the duvet only covered 3/4 of the area, the toilet seat was chipped and the shower (no bath) had parts missing from the fixture.
Breakfast was not included in the cost and the car park was an additional £15.
On the plus side the staff were pleasant enough, the location in the centre of town with a Waitrose store next door is excellent, and the reception areas and bar are all decorated to a high standard. Unfortunately the room at £209 plus £15 car park was extremely poor value.

Room Tip: Avoid paying for an upgrade until you are sure you are upgrading to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Firstly, I am happy to read that you enjoyed our city centre location in the heart of Bath, the decor of public areas and that the staff were pleasant during your stay. However, I am disappointed to read that you encountered maintenance and housekeeping issues in your room and thank you for bringing these to our attention. These issues will be addressed with the appropriate Heads of Department and I apologise that these occurrences impacted on the overall enjoyment of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed for one night with other business colleagues. This is a busy, centrally located hotel which seemed to be full coach parties.

The foyer is pleasant but dark in places. The counter staff tried hard but seemed a little inexperienced (see later).

My room, an upgrade to a family room, was clean and spacious. It would have been nice to have some biscuits with the tea tray. The biggest negative point was the lack of free wifi in rooms and the astronomic charge for £15 for this service - I restricted myself to the free service in the foyer but it was on the slow side.

Breakfast was the usual buffet bar. There was a wide choice but the English cooked offering was uninspiring. I was expecting a higher standard from the Hilton.

On leaving I used the express check out and corrected my address on the bill. 10 days later I had not received the final bill, although it had been taken from my credit card account. I spoke to the hotel and was advised that they would email it to me. I received nothing so I called again the next day. This time within minutes I had my bill.

Overall, for the price I paid, the hotel was ok but there are several areas where improvements could be made.

Room Tip: rooms at the back, overlooking the river are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent business stay and I am pleased to hear that your room was clean and spacious. However, I am sorry to read that you experienced problems with obtaining a copy of your invoice in a timely manner, please be assured your comments will be brought to the attention of the Front of House Manager. We welcome all guests comments and thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here for about a week in October to attend a conference. The only thing this hotel has going for it, is its location. It is close to the city centre and within walking distance of all major attractions. There is also a Waitrose next door which is very handy for supplies such as bottled water and toiletries.

Apart from this, this hotel is not what you would expect from a Hilton hotel. The room I stayed in was tiny and had a musty smell. The cleaning service was terrible - bins were unemptied and dirty mugs were left in the room for days and not replaced. The bathroom was not properly cleaned, beds were not properly made and toiletries were in short supply. The bed linens were too small for the mattress so the fitted sheet would never stay on. The cleaning staff would simply cover the mattress with the duvet and leave the bed unmade underneath. Other attendees at the conference had similar or worse reports.

All in all, not worth the hefty price tag.

Room Tip: Stay close to the ground floor as the elevators are extremely slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Desha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review having attended a conference in Bath. I am truly sorry to read that you experienced several issues with the housekeeping standards in your room and that amenities were not replenished on a daily basis. I sincerely apologise that these issues marred the overall enjoyment of your stay. Please be assured, the observations and comments you raise will be addressed directly with the Head Housekeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Level Contributor
155 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast served was excellent. The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is right in the middle of the city centre. The premises were generally very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad to read that the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. Your compliments of our famous Hilton breakfast are very much appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having stayed in many hotels, my boyfriend booked this for an overnight stay in Bath for my birthday. I think he probably looked at so many hotels that in the end he went for a well known brand that was very central.

The hotel is easy to find and thanks to other TA reviews we understood re the Podium parking and that we could park there for our 1 night stay for £15 (discounted rate with hotel).

Reception check in was good and we checked in early.

having paid for a deluxe room we were disappointed. The room was clean and functional but not huge and didn't have a fridge or minibar.

The shower was shocking - it was like a dribble and the vent in the bathroom was filthy and held to the wall by masking tape.

We didn't eat here but wouldn't stay again. Having looked at boutique B&Bs since we could have got a better deal elsewhere for the same price or slightly cheaper.

Good for location as its right in the city centre but in my opinion overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your Birthday stay and I am pleased to hear that your room was clean and functional, also that you enjoyed our very central location in the city centre. I sincerely apologise that you experienced maintenance issues in the bathroom, our Maintenance Manager will investigate these and we are most grateful to you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Bath City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing