We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Hilton”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Reasonable value for money in this otherwise very expensive city; good location (but expensive parking - £15 per exit for stays over 4 hours); room design, though, is pretty mean on space. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked a room for 3, for 2 nights. Double bed and sofa bed. The location is perfect, leave the hotel, turn left and you walk straight into the city centre. Car Park downstairs as well, very handy in a busy city!

On arrival though the reception was a bit "flat". I suppose I expected a welcome smile, "how was your journey?" the usual chit chat but it was all a bit robotic. I requested extra towels as the rooms are normally serviced for 2 and the sofa bed needed to be made up. This was requested on arrival, we checked in, dumped our bags and headed off out to explore. Returned 4 hours later. No extra towels, no made up sofa bed so had to request again. The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, no qualms there.

The amenities were good, a gym (some equipment not working), 24hr bar, wi-fi access downstairs. An exceptional breakfast is served downstairs in the dining hall. Everything you could wish for from continental to cooked breakfast, pancakes/omelettes made to order, fresh fruit, pastries etc etc, wonderful! And here the dining staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome (unlike reception). One girl in particular looked after us very well. Wish I took her name!! Really made our visit that little bit more memorable.

Overall reasonably priced, great location, dining staff/ hotel staff were fantastic. One star missing as I think Reception is the face of the hotel......more smiles and acknowledgement please!!! First impressions count.

Room Tip: We had a Plaza room that easily sleeps 3. 2nd floor. Very quiet as was not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good location for town centre. Room clean although was small, and not sure about the slightly opaque/see through type bathroom door as it didn't give much privacy! It seems quite expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked the Hilton due to it's location and brand for a Christmas Marketing weekend with my partner. The hotel's location was ideal for for everything, very central. Service was good, the bar was pricey, but you kind of expect that with a higher end hotel chain but our room was very small and the furniture was tired. My partner and I like a firm matteress on the bed but this was so firm that we were unable to sleep properly and it made our joints sore in the morning which spoilt the stay a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Daviesio_residents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great location in the town centre. Car part very very close to the hotel (below it). Hotel is compact but well presented. Very friendly staff and excellent service on departure (Quick checkout) so I didn't have to wait around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our central city location and the convenience of car parking an additional advantage. Your compliments of the hotels presentation, friendly staff and excellent service from the receptionist on departure are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spent two nights at the Hilton Bath City using my reward points. Booked a junior suite overlooking Pultney Bridge. Front of desk team provided complimentary breakfast vouchers and a welcome drink. The air conditioning didn't seem to work in the room & as there was a portable heater provided in the room it suggested that this had been a long term problem.

The bed was extremely hard and not up to Hilton standard. On day one, we had three bath sheets but on the final day there was only two bath sheets, no uniformity and that really frustrates me.

Breakfast was good with plenty of room to manoeuvre. On the first day we were seated at a small table but the final day banqueting manager realised we were in a suite and seated us in a nice bay; it's niceties like this that the Hilton needs to focus on.

All-in-all the two day stay at the Hilton was pleasant but only give them an average rating as they should be leading the hotel standards. Come on Hilton, let's get the standard raised.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Optime_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am disappointed to read that you experienced inconsistencies with guest amenities and the customer service you received. I apologise that these matters marred the overall enjoyment of your stay and we are appreciative of your honest and constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

good location ,would recommend to friends ,also go for upgrade in room,location for shopping brilliant,read tripadvisor and some complaints were not justified, you can not stay this close to bath for peanuts and get quality

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your mid-week break with us. Your recommendation and compliments of the hotel are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.3 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £90 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing