We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from Hilton”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Hilton is very well situated in the centre of the city. With city centre hotels, parking is always an issue and a concern.

The Hilton has access to a discounted car park right next door to the hotel, making it easier to get luggage in and out.

The hotel itself is well laid out, with nice facilities, a good small gym and a nice restaurant.

I found the staff helpful knowledgeable. However, I would expect a room in a hotel of this class to include free wifi, and have a greater range of room service food available too - for the amount of people who stay on business, simple things like this would make it worth another visit for me.

Also, my room had an amazing view - of a moss covered roof covered in air conditioning units and power units. I know these have to go somewhere, but seriously - as the only view point of a large number of rooms. Again, not what I'd expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad that you found the hotel well situated in the city centre, that parking was convenient and the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Your compliments of our hotel and its facilities are very much appreciated, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,850)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Bath City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,627 - 1,633 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We agonised about where to stay in Bath. More importantly where to park the car as we had not been to Bath before. We opted for Hilton as there is parking on site ( discounted and safe for those staying at the Hilton and it is walking distance to everything.
Yes it is at a cost but location is great. Be traveller savvy and do not eat and drink there ( as all hotels mark up) and then it will not cost you the earth. Go to waitrose next door to get your beverages and snacks and take it to your room.
To sum up parking and excellent Location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alfie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the car parking convenient, secure and the hotel right in the middle of the city centre for exploring historic Bath. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had read reviews on here before re the parking and totally agree it's confusing .... But £15 for the whole of our stay wasn't that bad.... It was parked there on the Monday and not moved again till it was time to leave on the thurs ..hotel looks a bit drab from the outside but it's amazing once you go thru the doors ... Check in very smooth and not sure of the girls name but she showed us a map and told us places to visit .. We stay in the double delux plus over looking the river ..the one thing I thought was strange...no bin in the room only a little on in the bath room ... Thought that was strange as no where to put any rubbish or used tea bags ... Had to make do with a old carrier bag ... I would Also have thought that with this type of delux hotel biccis with my tea ... Even in premier inn you get a pack of biscuits Even when purchasing coffee from the bar no bicci....We stayed on a bb basis ... Breakfast was lovely plenty and all fresh ..we also opted to do the dinner voucher in the resturant on our first night ..this was also very nice and well worth the money .All staff were very friendly always had a smile on their faces ..I have also read on here the far is very dark... And yes I totally agree turn up the lights lol.. They also sent a birthday tray to our room on olives, cookies yummy lovely touch ..will reccomended this hotel as within walking distance to lots of shops , Roman bath , the Abbey

Room Tip: Rooms at the back over look the river and bridge ...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your view following your Birthday stay. Your 5* rating and compliments of the hotel and friendly welcoming staff are very much appreciated, I am pleased that they made you feel welcome with their kind touches. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I'd really give this a miss and find a Travellin or Premier Lodge. We found this place on Hotel.com . It seemed like good value but the room was poor, the out of hours service extortionate. They wouldn't even let me use the telephone at reception to order a pizza "because if you don't use your room phone we can't charge you". There wasn't even a kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room. Basic stuff these days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 570James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am very sorry to read that you were unable to locate the drink making facilities in your room, in some rooms this is situated in a cupboard. I will ask the Housekeeping Manager to see if the sticker is missing, which notifies the guest of these facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked the hotel in order to stay in a central city location,which the Hilton definitely has. We refused to pay the ridiculous £15 car parking charge - parking is free on a meter from 7pm Sat till 8am Mon… Upon arrival the one person on duty in reception was extremely busy with several parties of guests so it took quite some time for us to get checked in. However, he very quickly offered us a free drink in the hotel bar to make up for the inconvenience. This was a nice touch, just a shame that the bar is right next to the main doors out of the hotel so everyone seated in the bar area was wearing their coats. Our room (252) was very pleasant, even though it's a bit small. The main issue was the heating - the end of the corridor on the 2nd floor was a totally different temperature once you'd gone through the fire door - and our room, despite the temperate gauge saying it was 22oC, was freezing. I have the thermostat on 16oC at home and find it absolutely fine - but despite turning the thermostat in our room to its maximum of 28oC we were still freezing - and the very thin duvet didn't help! Breakfast the next morning was very nice, with wonderful staff who were very good at their jobs and a lovely view from the breakfast room. Overall the hotel is ok rather than good, with hard working staff undermined by small let downs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review and your compliments of our location, customer service and friendly staff are very much appreciated. I am sorry to read that you experienced a problem with the thermostat in room 252, thank you for bringing this to our attention, our Maintenance Manager will investigate this matter. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really enjoyed our evening at the Hilton in Bath great location, lovely room. Really comfortable bed, 24 hour bar, comp water and tea and coffee etc extra bonus of late midday check out. Bought on late rooms for a great deal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your review and your compliments of our hotel are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Clean comfortable, friendly staff and good value, coupled with an excellent breakfast, ticks all the boxes for me. Great central location can be a bit noisy at the front but didn't spoil a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_n_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel clean, comfortable, the staff welcoming and friendly. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in the South West of England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bath Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £100 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing