We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“qulity”
Review of Hilton Bath City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Bath City
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bath
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“qulity”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

went away for a weekend to take in a show and ended up with man flu,, couldent think of a better way to die ,, lovely room .. boiling hot deep bath .. big comfortable bed , hot room ,great location , next to everything ,

check out the theater royal see whats on .. nice posh place ..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d2splumbingservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and your 5 star review is very much appreciated. It is most unfortunate that you were taken poorly with ‘man flu’ and I am happy to read that the facilities in your room gave you somewhere to relax, soothe and revive your energy. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    1,006
    634
    308
    163
See reviews for
579
1,212
84
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The service was brilliant, very attentive, and location - smack bang in the middle - we went for a walk at night to get food - and we ended up getting lost but still stumbled upon the hotel.
The personnell were very nice and helpful with all of our bags etc. They put a cot in the room, the room was superb.
I alway stay in Hilton's and am never dissappointed.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good, but get a family one if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell_UK_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your 5* review and taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to read that the staff made you and the family feel welcome and were attentive during your stay. Similarly, that you enjoyed exploring the historic city of Bath. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very good. Our room was very nice, the décor was good and modern. Although we didn't have a particularly great view (overlooking the air-con fans), it was actually really quiet. Also good was the fact that we didn't hear any other guests whilst in our room (i.e. from next door or people walking down the corridor). My only gripe was that the cleaning in the bathroom could have been a little bit better. There were water marks on the marble sink top & bin lid which hadn't been removed when we checked in and were not cleaned off whilst we were there (just a swipe over with a towel would have got rid of these). Also there were marks on the wall (toothpaste splashes?) that were not cleaned. Just points to a slight lack of care and attention. We were in a room which was quite a long walk from the lifts, which didn't bother us, but if you have trouble walking very far, it might be worth mentioning when booking!

We got a great deal from Hotels.com which included breakfast. Standard buffet affair, but good for filling up before heading out for the day. Although we didn't have dinner here, which did have a couple of drinks in the bar when we arrived, which were extortionately priced as is the norm in hotel bars. I would suggest trying the Pig & Fiddle over the road, where we had the same two drinks for half the price.

The location of the hotel though is the main draw. It is just a few minutes walk into the centre of town and all the tourist attractions are walkable from the hotel. Parking is available at The Podium car park directly underneath the hotel. There were plenty of spaces when we were there. The hotel validate your parking token which means you only pay £15.00 for the duration of your stay, which for us was great as once we parked we didn't need the car again until we were leaving.

All in all I would go to this hotel again as the location was good and the staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your family stay. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel a modern, quiet environment in which to stay and our staff welcoming and friendly. As well as the hotels location, which is ideal for exploring Bath City. However, I am sorry to read of the lack of attention to detail regarding the cleanliness in your bathroom, please be assured your observations will be brought to the attention of the Head Housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

When we checked in the receptionist asked for the payment card, I was confused as you normally pay when you check out. I asked about this and she said yes you pay at check out. Ok we thought. Drop bags, go shopping, card declined, call fraud line when card declined, back to hilton whereupon we find out that not only do they take the cost of room when you arrive but also an additional £50 'just in case' you want drinks or a meal in the hotel whilst you are there. In fairness the gentleman on the desk who dealt with the problem was exceptionally helpful, offering complimentary drinks at the bar whilst he sorted out refunding the money to my account. He explained the the additional £50 is optional and this should have been explained when checking in. We picked the hilton as the special offer on the room (half price) put the cost as being the same as most smaller central hotels and we thought it would make our trip a little bit more special and memorable. Unfortunately it made our stay special for the wrong reason simply as a result of poor communication on the part of their front desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eb3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am truly sorry to read that the pre-authorisation policy was not fully explained to you at check in and that this resulted in some embarrassment and inconvenience, for which we apologise. The pre-authorisation taken at the point of checking-in merely holds the money in abeyance, upon departure we dropped the request for pre-authorisation and the funds are then released again by your bank account provider. Nevertheless, I am glad to learn that the gentleman on reception was exceptionally helpful in resolving this matter for you promptly. I am sorry that this issue marred the overall enjoyment of your stay, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I can't say anything that hasn't already been said.
Room was ok, bed was comfortable, breakfast was great. Staff were welcoming and generally things were ok. But that's it, that's what was wrong, it was just OK. When you pay premium prices you expect to leave feeling that it was an experience that was worth every penny. I never thought that I'd give the Hilton an average rating but that was it. Average and an expensive average to boot.

Room Tip: Get one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannybhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to read that you found your room satisfactory, the bed comfortable, our staff welcoming and that you enjoyed our famous Hilton breakfast. However, I am sorry to read that you were somewhat disappointed with the overall experience you encountered, nevertheless we are appreciative of your honest and constructive comments. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary- upgraded room free when booked for the occasion ! Excellent location and parking good Really helpful staff nothing too much trouble Room was lovely - overlooked the river so nice and quiet Restaurant in hotel AMAZING cannot fault the meals we had the steak was to die for . Would love to return soon - worth every penny cannot fault the Hilton Bath City

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Bath City to celebrate your 25th Wedding Anniversary. I am delighted to read that the staff made you feel welcome with their kind touches and that you enjoyed the pretty view of the river from your bedroom. Thank you for your compliments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's not glamorous (very concrete outside, run down car park next door, etc) but a nice quality hotel inside, and in the center of Bath. Really good location, 5-10 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. Thought it a little pricey especially for a Saturday night in February.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineGayler, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Bath City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are certainly very fortunate with our central location in Bath City and I understand your feedback regarding the exterior brickwork of the hotel, which was built in the early 70's. Regrettably, atheistically this does not have the same architectural appeal as do most of the other buildings in Bath. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Bath City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Bath City

Property: Hilton Bath City
Address: Walcot Street, Bath BA1 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Bath City 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable 173 bedroom hotel with an excellent city centre location, located 10 minutes from the railway station and close to Bath Rugby Ground. Beautiful views from our Restaurant of Pulteney Bridge, overlooking the River Avon. Please kindly note the hotel does not own a car park. Parking is available in the local vicinity and there are 3 Park & Ride options, please speak with our Reception Team for details. Facilities available in the hotel are gym, meeting rooms, restaurant, room service, lounge and bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Bath City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Bath City Hotel Bath
Bath Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing